We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homemade Food”
Review of George Hotel

George Hotel
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Swaffham
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Food”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We ate in the bar at The George Hotel and enjoyed some great food at a reasonable price. The normal menu includes a number of hotel favourites, but I'd draw attention to some of the homemade items and specials - the onion rings were particularly impressive, the famous chicken george very tasty, and likewise the specials board was extensive and the items we had were very good. Other than the veg being slightly overlooked, we'd struggle to find fault. The bar itself is also well stocked, including having well kept hand pulled real ale.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    50
    19
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel bar”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for somewhere for a late light lunch with free wifi. The bar at the hotel fit the bill perfectly.

The food wasn't exceptional but more than acceptable. The service was good and friendly and we were made welcome though we didn't spend highly and were able to catch up on internet stuff through the wifi.

There were several locals as well as a couple of walkers - looks like all are welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Serves a Purpose”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Travelled down 400 miles for a family funeral. Hotel served the purpose for our needs.

Food was nice and staff were pleasant.

Rooms were practical and beds were comfortable. TV and tea/coffee facilities were available. (After a recent 2 weeks in Greece, believe me these are great to have)

Bathroom is small but serves it's purpose.

Our room was quiet, overlooking the car Park but other family members endured the busy road at the front. So ask for a quiet room.

Not the hotel issue but be aware - the family met in a pub 2 minutes walk away in the main town. Constant boy racers, motorbikes and tractors speeding everywhere. Noisy too. Even at night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rather old fashioned”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Despite looking like an old folks home, this hotel had no disabled access for my mother in law...it does remind me of the hotel in that film called The Shining - scary!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank susantc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

popped in for lunch as we were visiting the quaint town of swaffham had a lovely greeting sat at one of the bar tables and was quite busy and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves so good start, looked through the menu and specials had a very good array of dishes and there was wonderfully constructed dishes coming from a chef I was very pleased with the components that was put together really complementing flavours

the young man who made a check back was extremely polite and was very happy to see the waiters and waitresses in white shirts with the men in waistcoats
so very happy with everything including the value for money lovely food piping hot

would recommend for a nice lunch

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank critic94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Hotel also viewed

 

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing