We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not many pubs like this left - enjoy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twenty Churchwardens

Twenty Churchwardens
Ranked #20 of 33 Restaurants in Swaffham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not many pubs like this left - enjoy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This quaint old fashioned pub is a real treasure. Not many of these left! It's one of our regular haunts, banter with the landlady is extraordinary, Babs is a 'one off' and an amazing lady. The food is home cooked and far away from the usual out of the freezer meals. If you like the old fashioned style with good food and humour, real ale too - this is the place for you. We love it, as do many of the friends we have taken there. Well done to the Twenty Church Wardens, it's food, liqueur and it's staff. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A pub doing proper old fashioned school dinners type food in a converted school. Choice of 5 pies with veg and spuds and gravy. No fancy drizzles, herbs or sauces. Like walking into Lord Peter Wimsey's gate house, with loads of books and newspapers to read.

Very nice and relaxing place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unique (probably) as far away from a gastro-pub as you get.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I called in with our children on our way to the norfolk broads for a weeks holiday. Its a old school village local, with old school village locals. In fact the bar and decor probably hasn't changed since the war. The landlady and cook are both very welcoming and friendly and they serve a fairly limited homecooked menu with nice pies. Children and dogs are welcome though they don't appear to have any high chairs which is a bit of a pain.

As I was driving I didn't sample the beer but they had a decent enough range and the locals were quaffing it happily enough.

If this was my local I would visit on a fairly regular basis but i'm not sure I would drive any distance to get here. It's good though that places like this can still be found.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyposhfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Proper Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is our favourite pub eaterie. Its such a quirky pub and full of local characters. We love coming here, always have the home baked pies with fresh seasonal vegetables, and the ladies NEVER disappoint! Menu is traditional and unfussy and sublime if you like home cooked. Nothing fancy, no nouvelle cuisine dribbly drizzles and snotty sauces! Its just lovely honest food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keziah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Real food cooked the traditional way. Simply delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

One of a very few pubs where things are done the traditional way. Forget your plastic its traditional cash only here but its worth the inconvenience definitely! Superbly kept beer and really delicious food including REAL homemade pies. The churchwardens pie is my favorite

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rescuerkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twenty Churchwardens also viewed

 

Been to Twenty Churchwardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing