We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The proverbial 'hidden gem' !”
Review of Strattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strattons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My birthday treat was to spend two nights in the Venetian Room. I confess to a tinge of incredulity when my husband said we were going to Swaffham - I had always seen it as a charming little market town en route to the Norfolk coast.... But when we turned off the High Street into a tiny lane, there was a revelation: the building is charming,and, set in compact grounds, feels miles away from anywhere.
Our first evening meal lacked sparkle, but we reasoned that the restaurant was very busy, and temperatures were soaring. Next morning's breakfast, served in the adjacent cafe, was delicious.
We headed off to the North Norfolk coast and returned in time to relax peacefully in the garden with drinks. Time stood still.
The second dinner was a pleasant surprise, comparing very favourably with Michelin-aspirants in other restaurants.
The service was friendly but professional, and the pace perfect.

Unwilling to leave on our second morning, we languished over an al fresco breakfast, and decided to book one of the 'Print Room' apartments for a Christmas treat five months hence.

The decor throughout this hotel is eccentric and artistic, but not at the expense of comfort. As I dozed in our (possibly) Venetian carved bed, I did feel as though we were in Venice - but without the noise!
This is a family business, and the genuineness of the customer's experience demonstrates their commitment to the core values, and the hotel's claim of 'eco-authenticity'.

If you are looking for the best of both worlds - real peace, but on the routes to Norfolk's best-loved towns and great houses - this is your place.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookwormCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel and give it a higher score.

I would really like to stress that the location and staff are lovely. The hotel is located off the main road in quiet, secluded surroundings.

Our room was very nice but the bathroom was run down (chipped bath-tub, paint peeling from the walls) and lacked the usual amenities that you would find in a less expensive hotel such as a shower cap. These may seem like small things but when an overnight stay is £150 upwards, you do expect a little better.

The restaurant is well-priced with a good wine list. Unfortunately the food was underwhelming and we chose not to have dessert because we were bit not impressed with out starters/mains. I found the food generally under-seasoned and overly sweet, even salad dressings lacked enough acidity as it wilted straight away. I also found the practice of placing dressed salad as a garnish on a hot plate a bit strange. For breakfast, our poached eggs had not been drained prior to being placed on the plate which meant that we ended up with wet toast and bacon.

These are all small criticisms but unfortunately they do add up. To me, it was a lack of attention to detail (as all these issues are easily remedied) which made our stay less of a success.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danae1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here as part of our honeymoon and really loved the hotel. We stayed in the Red Room, which was a bit of an extravagant treat, but I was in awe of it! The quirky decoration, private garden, amazing canopied bathroom, own library, four poster bed ... we loved it! Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, breakfast in the accompanying cafe was great, and the venue of the hotel made exploring the local area easy. A brilliant find, perfect for a special occasion.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Strattons Hotel has some quirky features but must not detract from offering some of the finest cuisine, with an emphasis on Norfolk produce. Ideal for special occasions or visits. Close by centre, of traditional market town, but in exclusive grounds away from traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Charlie and the team gave us a very warm welcome. We spent 2 nights in Fantouche, very comfy bed, excellent bathroom. Fantouche has a lovely little balcony complete with chairs and table on which you can enjoy the evening sun. Our breakfast each morning was delightful with quality produce from organic pear juice to Orkney smoked salmon and free range scrambled eggs. We only ate at the hotel on one of the evenings and once again were not disappointed. The interior of the hotel is beautifully designed and its evident a lot of money has been spent here. Shabby Chic is not to everyone's taste but if you are looking for something a little bit different, with staff who can not do enough for you, then this is the place. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_e_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We recently spent a lovely weekend at Strattons hotel, where we experienced excellent hospitality, food and accommodation. When we dined at the restaurant we sat outside in their picturesque garden on a warm summers evening. The food was delicious and good value for money, making it a memorable experience. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. We would thoroughly recommend both the hotel and the restaurant and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited the Restaurant a couple of weeks ago and were very impressed with the food and setting. Our Godson had just received the result of his Degree a 2:1 which was certainly worthy of a celebration so we decided to invite him and his sister to a weekend at Strattons. They absolutely loved the place, loved the cats and their quirky bedroom. We had a very nice suite across the courtyard which was spacious and comfortable. It was so nice to have organic toiletries attached to the wall in the bathroom and be able to take as much as you wanted and not those silly sachets where there is never enough. We enjoyed the evening meal as much as we did before, excellent choice, good size portions and good value for money. The breakfast was plentiful and beautifully cooked. We all enjoyed the pear and apple juice from a local fruit farm, so much nicer than the usual boring orange juice. Our Godchildren thoroughly enjoyed the experience as much as we did.

Room Tip: Rooms across the Courtyard are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
10.9 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
857 reviews
7.1 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,370 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
290 reviews
20.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strattons Hotel

Address: 4 Ash Close, Swaffham PE37 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range: £98 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strattons Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strattons Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing