We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential ... but disappointing”
Review of Strattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strattons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Certificate of Excellence
watford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So much potential ... but disappointing”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is quirky, beautiful, comfortable and relaxing. It was lovely hearing the birds tweeting outside in the morning, and the small gardens are full of interesting things too. Our bathroom had seen better days ... toilet set didn't quite fit, flush a bit random ... and the absence of little 'usual' things like a bar of soap, moisturising cream and cotton wool pads in the bathroom, or tissues in the bedroom, were a little irritating. The baths in both of our rooms looked quite spectacular, but were pretty uncomfortable to use. Nothing hugely to worry about there, but just made things less comfortable than they might have been.

Our real disappointment though was the restaurant. We stayed and ate there for three nights - there really is nothing else of similar quality nearby - and so found the short menu quite boring, especially for our vegan. Even though we had told the hotel before that a vegan was coming, and the menu had a vegan option or two, there was no effort to replace the protein elements on the menu with vegan alternatives. I suspect that if we'd made a big deal of it in the restaurant, there might have been a response, but "our vegan" is reserved, and didn't make a fuss (which is why I had phoned up in advance in the first place). There was also very little fresh fruit (none at breakfast) and the menu was pretty meat and stodge heavy, although, for regular carnivores, there were some pretty tasty things on the menu. The breakfast 'pastry' selection was very limited - pain au chocolat one morning, and a strange bread on the other mornings. And there were none of the things for breakfast that you'd never make at home (eggs benedict for example) which are such a treat when someone else is cooking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottagotoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear gottagotoitaly

we are really sorry you were disappointed.

Our short menu with 6 choices at each stage is simply to offer a balanced choice to all tastes and as everything is made on site meaning 18 dishes in total along with daily fresh bread, dressings, breakfast prep keeps the team fully employed! With regards to boring I really don't know how to respond as this is subjective and for a very specific dietary requirement there will always be limitations in absolutely any establishment. That said I am sorry that there seemed to have been a break down in communication as the last thing we want is somebody to feel unhappy or that they cannot voice a niggle. You say you didn't want to make a fuss so didn't mention your feelings but we cannot respond without feedback and surely not saying anything and then posting on the web is a bit of a contradiction regarding not making a fuss. Your aim-I would hope- and most certainly ours is that you have a really good time.

We also provide extra fruit to the organic winter fruit salad and blueberries provided at breakfast. You say the menu was meat heavy but at dinner there are two choices of meat, two of fish and two vegetarian so I have to take issue with your comments. The starters are likewise. At breakfast there are more meat free options than options with it though of course there is an English breakfast but that is because it is the most asked for dish at breakfast.

You state; 'The breakfast 'pastry' selection was very limited - pain au chocolat one morning, and a strange bread on the other mornings.' The 'strange' bread is chocolate bread which seems a hit as we are constantly asked for the recipe and we have been making it for over twenty years along with the toasted breads you would have been offered at breakfast. These are the special things I consider important as well as good sourcing of the best tastiest ingredients.

Finally.........."and the absence of little 'usual' things like a bar of soap, moisturising cream and cotton wool pads in the bathroom, or tissues in the bedroom, were a little irritating".
We offer a bespoke organic liquid soap so there seems little point in a bar too and hand/body lotion so why moisturiser? Tissues and cotton pads, as per our website information and your confirmation, we do not provide in line with our environmental policy; we prefer to invest in really good organic toiletry products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    100
    59
    30
    24
See reviews for
47
313
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

we stayed here over the easter break. There is nothing much in Swaffam, but it was a great base for visiting the north Norfolk coast and the staff were really helpful with hints and tips about places to visit.

We were upgraded to Cocoes One with a giant copper bath in it, which was gorgeous. We also got handmade chocolates too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Natalie

thank you for taking the trouble to review Strattons and so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself. We value your comments regarding 'what to do' as there needs to be some training on the Brecks which is the area we are located in; whilst the North Norfolk coast is a definite thing to do, travelling south gives you amazing countryside accessibility and recreational possibilities at for instance High Lodge. Bury St Edmunds is a beautiful town and the nearby Wyken Vineyard are all great things to do as is a trip to Castle Acre, a two minute drive from the hotel. If you come again let me know and we'll have a chat over coffee in CoCoes;

very best regards Vanessa Scott

vanessascott1@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Based on the website and photos, this was booked at short notice for a family easter break in Norfolk. My wife, 3 year old daughter and myself stayed in the Print Room one for the easter weekend. The hotel and room surpassed the images we had seen on the website, and we could not have been happier. The service and friendliness of the staff was amazing, and our daughter was enchanted by the 3 cats that make this hotel their home. The food at breakfast and dinner was a pleasure and the menus extensive. Although Swaffham is limited in terms of visitor attractions, it proved to be a great base on which to explore north Norfolk. Before our visit had finished, we all agreed that we would like to come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Raymond,

and we loved having you stay too! Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review with all your very positive feedback. Regarding the town it really does have a fascinating history with some impressive former residents such as Howard Carter; I hope you found our wonderful little town museum near the bookshop. If you come back please let me know via email and I'll sit down with you and give you details of the hidden gems within the Brecks all worth a look.

Thank you & best regards Vanessa Scott, vanessascott1@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Stratton Hotel in the Fantouche room, including dinner and breakfast. Absolutely loved the hotel, had a lovely warm feel about it and really appreciated the decor. Our room was gorgeous with a very comfy bed. The staff were very friendly, particularly the receptionist who spent a lot of time telling us about the hotel's history and the cats!! Would love to try the Red Room next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Wendy C,

thank you so much for such a lovely review, the reception team are all very special caring people, we are pleased to hear how they make such a difference. We look forward to your next visit, lots of rooms to try and a fascinating countryside to explore in the Brecks.

Very best regards Vanessa Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Unfortunately due to a serious illness in the family, my husband had to reschedule my birthday night away in the beautiful Opium suite , to the next week- Strattons couldn't have been nicer about it.

This was our second visit to one of Norfolks hidden gems and we enjoyed it just as much as the first.

Lovely intelligent staff who just want you to enjoy it, really good food and the suite was every bit as quirky and delightful as I knew it would be,

I am sure we'll be back as soon as we need to escape fro the world again.

Thank you to everyone at Strattons..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Julie, thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and your lovely comments about Strattons and especially our super staff. It's always horrible to deal with family illnesses and carry on life as normal! I am really pleased that you went ahead with your belated birthday celebrations with us and our thoughts are with you and your family, best regards Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

When you first drive into the town it is possible to have a few reservations when trying to reconcile what you have seen on the website. However, I could not have been more pleasantly surprised and would thoroughly recommend this hotel
The staff are excellent. Helpful and extremely knowledgable about the area. I was also very impressed with the food and I cannot remember having a better breakfast amongst the 70 to 90 days a year I spend in hotels.....Long May the owners manage to maintain the level of passion and culture they have clearly invested into this business

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Nigel,' thank you for your lovely review which we and all our staff really appreciate.

The building itself is a wonderful legacy of Swaffham's wealthy past during the Georgian period. Whilst more recently Surridges, the cricket bat manufacturers, owned the house in 1920's, using the rear paddock to cut and store willow blanks ready for finishing. 'Razor Smith' the famous England and Surrey slow bowler lived in a caravan at the back of the house and worked as a salesman for the company. It was his daughter Gertude who later married Bertie Stratton and lived in the house from 1938 and from where the name Stratton entered its history. I love the fact that it was designated by the Swaffham Urban District Council 'Invasion Committee' as an emergency feeding station in the event of an invasion in 1942!

We hope to see you again, best regards Vanessa Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise for our first anniversary
The hotel is very unique and each room has a theme
He booked is into the opium suite but upon arrival due to its furnishing in the bedroom I found it slightly eary .. The hotel staff were amazing and did not hesitate in offering us alternative accommodation to print room 2 which was stunning it had a private decked area outside with table and chairs.. Inside was a vintage decor with a modern twist which comprised of a longe dining area a bathroom with separate shower cubicle and frosted glass doors that opened into the large double bedroom .. The room was spotless and extremely well presented .
We loved the quirkiness of the random decoration and things like milk being presented I'm a screw lid small bottle :)
The staff were the friendliest we have come across .. Nothing was too much effort .
The restaurant was gorgeous again beautiful decor and extremely polite friendly staff.. Food was exceptional both with breakfast and dinner.. We love how everything was locally sourced.
Every corner you turn in this hotel has a surprise and is such a pleasure to look at.. You must bare in mind this is a period hotel with lots of quirkiness and antiques but for us this added to the experience
The gardens were beautiful with 3 resident friendly cats that were extremely cute .
Overall a lovely hotel with fantastic staff

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottinthebrecks, Owner at Strattons Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Natasha, what a lovely review, thank you so much, we all enjoyed having you stay for your special anniversary and look forward to seeing you again. Very best regards Vanessa Scott, vanessascott1@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
10.9 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
21.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
20.7 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strattons Hotel

Property: Strattons Hotel
Address: 4 Ash Close, Swaffham PE37 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Strattons Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strattons Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing