We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at The George for one night over bank holiday weekend and found it to be a very pleasant hotel, exceeding our expectations for a 3 star hotel at the very reasonable price charged. Also impressed that it offered its most competitive rates on a flexible basis. The room in the old part of the hotel was clean, large and comfortable although a little quaint with the bathroom up a couple of steep steps. The food in the bar was very good, with a number of home made dishes - the homemade onion rings were a particularly impressive example. There was also a good range of drinks, including well kept hand pulled real ale. Breakfast was also very good, the sign of a good hotel - good quality and tasty sausages and bacon in the full english.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ian1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Best Western George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Not the best place to stay. Inconsistant service, Flies in the resaurant. disturbed nights with the bells from the church ! We wouldn't recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. We left three days early. Very disappointed !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

To start with the positives, the hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. The free wifi was reliable and easy to link up with. But sadly there are far more negatives. A nearby church clock kept us awake through the night. Access by car is off a busy and complicated junction which meant that every time you enter or leave the car park you took your life into your hands. The bathroom was badly designed with old and tired facilities. Not quaint, just annoyingly old fashioned. The hotel suffers from the lack of a comfortable lounge. But by far the most disappointing thing about our stay was the service. In the restaurant, the service was the worst I have ever experienced. At best the food was of average quality, but one memorable breakfast, having waited half an hour for it to come, I was served a fried egg that was so overlooked it was inedible. On another occasion the staff appeared to forget about us completely after the main course and we waited in vain to be offered a dessert. The windows of the dining room opened onto the Main Street of the town and it seemed that we were on show to all who walked past as we dined. We were constantly pestered by a fly. On the third day I complained about it only to be brushed off with "o everyone complains about that, there is nothing we can do about it." On the fourth day the fly had decided to end its life by diving into the grapefruit juice at breakfast. In fairness the bowl was removed as soon as the staffs attention was brought to it, but it did not give a good impression.

We had planned this holiday for some time, and had saved up in order to enjoy our week of being waited on and looked after. We were so disappointed that we cut short our planned stay and came home early. We were not made to feel special, which is part of what you want from a hotel experience.

I will not be using this hotel again, and I could not recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had lunch recently in this old hostelry. Excellent food, excellent staff ........ and a great location with free parking in the delightful town of Swaffham.

I didn't stay overnight as I was heading for the coast. However, based on my lunch experience, I would expect accommodation to be of an equal standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Itinerant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. I intermittently use Best Western as the brand tends to give at least a basic level of consistency.

I am prone to find positives when staying away, so the free wifi was good, and the beds comfortable. It is a perfect base if you need to stay in Swaffham.

As previously reported, the shower in my room (111) was a dribble, and stayed at a scalding temperature as the cold water would not run through to moderate the temperature. Not much point in getting out of the shower to complain! The TV in the room was very small, although did provide the full Freeview service. The corridors to the rooms are desperately depressing with no effort at decor.

I went to breakfast and the two waiters were missing. One eventually turned up and took my order for tea, then promptly forgot to bring it! I am tolerant if a place is busy but the ratios of two waiters to three guest seemed to be on their side! The cooked breakfast looked ok, but was warm not hot and the hash brown was soft as if it had been held in a steamer whilst waiting to be served.

Overall, not an uplifting experience for this overnight stop.

Room Tip: If you're offered 111 do enquire if they've fixed the shower.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominicPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel in a busy market town to use as a base for 'days out'...staff very attentive and food very good and well presented. Also pet friendly so you can take your dog but the indoor areas pets are allowed are limited. We travelled all over North Norfolk from here...about one hour to Great Yarmouth...the same to Thetford Forest/Sheringham/Sandringham so lots to see and do within easy reach

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham
0.1 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
479 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
63 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
126 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
166 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Address: Station Street, Swaffham PE37 7LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swaffham
Swaffham Best Western
Best Western George Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing