We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently outstanding food and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently outstanding food and excellent service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This welcoming hotel is five minutes drive from my mother's house just outside Burnham Market and I have been fortunate enough to eat here many times over the last few months. This part of the coast has some really excellent restaurants however The Manor is on top form at the moment for its imaginative and reliably good food and the best in the area at this time. The menu is outstanding, using lots of locally sourced produce and then using these in an imaginative way. It is hard to choose which dishes to highlight as between several family members we have tried lots - local Brancaster crab Thermidor was excellent, agree with previous reviewer that the fish and chips were the best we have had in years, fabulous Sunday lunch with lots of interesting vegetables. I love the use of unusual herbs, vegetables and flowers in perfect moderation.
However it is not just the food that makes the restaurant so outstanding, it is the service too. All the staff are delightful, interested in food and they really seem to care that their customers leave having had a perfect visit.
And lastly it is very good value - we travel a lot and visit a lot of top rated restaurants around the world and I always leave thinking wow what amazing food compared to the size of the bill. Hoping that their prices don't rise after this review!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
I can’t speak for Eric but I am sure he is ecstatic with this fantastic review about his food and your feedback will certainly be passed on! Eric and his brigade of chefs work extremely hard to make sure the food they produce is always creative and imaginative and always full of different flavours and combinations. To receive feedback like this is always very rewarding for all of them and they will be delighted to hear you and many others enjoy the food they are creating. I can honestly say the team we have at the hotel have a genuine passion and love for food and the hospitality service. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    156
    91
    35
    4
See reviews for
113
482
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three nights at the Titchwell Manor to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my birthday. As we had never been to North Norfolk before we chose Titchwell Manor from a combination of an internet search and Trip Advisor ratings. We were not disappointed and the food, rooms and service were as good as we had hoped. Dining in the conservatory extension is a very pleasant experience with views into the garden.. Rooms are in both the main house and also the converted outbuildings. Titchwell is well positioned to explore the North Norfolk Coast and is right next to the RSPB wetlands reserve which is well wort a visit if you are into birds!
Other places worth visiting are Wells-next-the-Sea and the Holkham House estate and museum.

Room Tip: You can get wet in bad weather walking from the outbuilding rooms to the restaurant! Eat in the cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skynet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review and once again we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like a very special treat to celebrate a birthday and anniversary whilst being away and what better way to spend it than enjoying the facilities of the hotel and the local attractions. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Dined here with brother and his wife in Conservatory. Excellent meal, fish and chips to die for. Fresh cod which melted in mouth plus extras. Service unobtrusive. Varied menu for choice but when by sea always eat fresh fish. Have stayed at Hotel twice over years and seen the extensions put on, gets better and better.

Returned next day for snack of Tapas on new veranda overlooking marshes. Excellent.

One of our favourite hotels. The only accommodation in area to equal this is the Bridge House in Gayton, a B & B.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal so much in the evening and to come back the next day for Tapas is even better still! Having a spot of Tapas whilst overlooking the marshes is often liked by many here and a pleasant way to spend the afternoon. Please feel free to pop back for some more when you are in the areas as the Tapas board is often changing with what’s in season and local produce too.
Best wishes Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have known the hotel for many years from when Margaret had taken over but hadn't stayed there recently as we have been living in the area for the past 10 years. It has been updated over the years and more so recently. We moved from Norfolk some 18 months ago and decided at the last minute to have a short break in Norfolk. We booked late and settled for a classic traditional room. Fortunately we were upgraded for some reason (not complaining!!!!) into a very spacious and well decorated room with rolltop bath & shower. We stayed for 3 nights and ate in the restaurant on the first 2 nights and with my wife dining alone on the 3rd night in the terrace room as I had to attend a dinner elsewhere. The evening meals taken were very good and breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice. The staff were all very pleasant and keen to please.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norfolkcouple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you kindly your review and such positive feedback too. It’s always fantastic to receive great feedback with regards to our food and service and your comments have been passed on to the whole team, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many thanks
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived here for a one night stay to celebrate our second Wedding Anniversary (second time round for both of us!) I only made the booking a couple of days previously and everyone was extremely helpful especially as we took our dog along.
When we arrived we looked out to see the dunes and sand opposite in the distance and it was immediately relaxing. We had a lovely room in the Herb Garden with an outside space with table and chairs. The dog loved it!!
Had a febulous dinner in the restaurant in the evening and can only say in summing up that we can't wait to go back! Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: If you can have a Herb Garden room if you like some outside space. Great if you have the dog in tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Firstly, congratulations on your wedding anniversary and it sounded like you really were able to relax and unwind whilst you were staying with us. Whether you book in advance or just a few days before, we like to make sure the service we offer you is always friendly and second to none. We look forward to seeing you again.
Many thanks
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our dog at Titchwell for a break to celebrate my birthday. Our room was upgraded to one of the Herb Garden rooms which was a treat and had lots of space for the dog. We were provided with a dog bed, treats, a towel and a food bowl for Leo, so he was made very welcome.
The food was wonderful. Best breakfast anywhere we've stayed and the evening meals were delicious.
The local beaches were oases of peace at this time of the year. Brancaster beach is a walk away across the dykes and Holkham beach is stunning and huge, great for people, children and dogs. We also went on the North Norfolk steam railway from Holt to Sheringham.
I would recommend Titchwell Manor. We love it, this was our second visit and we hope to return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ridlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you kindly for your review and we are glad to hear you had a nice stay in your upgraded room. I hope Leo enjoyed his treats and we always like to make sure that dogs are welcomed just as much as guests. We are very lucky to have such beautiful, natural surroundings so close to the hotel which you were able to see and use whilst you were staying with us. Please do come and see us again and be sure to bring Leo too.
Best wishes
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lured out of the house by my lovely lady offering me "a couple of pre-birthday beers" I was whisked away to a wonderful surprise: dinner and a night away at this hotel near Brancaster. Friends of ours had stayed here and spoken highly of it, but we had never yet been able to visit.

Our room (number 23) was in the herb garden, at the rear of the main hotel building. It was contemporary, light and spacious, with an enormous bed and a walk-in shower in the bathroom. Outside was a small, private patio with a table and two chairs and views across open fields.

We ate in the Conservatory Restaurant, a delightfully decorated room overlooking a lit garden. We at first found the menu selection a little confusing, with a varied choice of food, and a set price for a 5 or 8 course meal, but opted in the end for just 3 courses. My partner eats only gluten free food, and although there was not a separate gluten-free menu the waiter who took our order was knowledgeable and guided her through the appropriate dishes. I opted for goats cheese, chicken, and a Norfolk cheese selection; she for asparagus with quails eggs, steak, and a chocolate sundae. All washed down with a bottle (well, two in the end!) of award-winning rioja. We enjoyed the meal tremendously. The service was helpful and attentive but not intrusive.

In the morning we were still full from the night before so gave breakfast a miss, opting instead for freshly ground coffee and the papers in the absolute silence of our room - a real luxury for us, living as we normally do with two kids and a dog!

All too short, but a great surprise break at a charming hotel in a lovely location. We'll be back, I'm sure - and next time will try and make a weekend of it.

Room Tip: If in the herb garden chose a room right at the back of the hotel grounds. Some of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your surprise night away at the hotel, it sounds like you both had a wonderful time! We like to make sure our staff are always trained to a high level of service and knowledge when it comes to our menus. Eric our Head Chef takes time and care in choosing what goes on to the menu and it is important for us to make sure we can offer guests who have dietary requirements a wide selection of dishes still. It seems in this case we were able to do so for you and it sounds like you had a perfect evening. We hope to see you again in the future and perhaps you could try our tasting menu! (We can do this gluten free too!)
Best wishes
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchwell
4.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
13.3 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titchwell Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titchwell Manor Hotel

Property: Titchwell Manor Hotel
Address: Main Road, Titchwell PE31 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Titchwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Titchwell Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Titchwell ManorA stone’s throw from the stunning North Norfolk coast, Titchwell Manor is a beautiful, boutique 27-bedroom country retreat offering destination fine dining. Owned by Margaret and Ian Snaith since 1988, the elegant former Victorian farmhouse combines traditional values with chic contemporary accommodation and spectacular, uninterrupted views across open marshes to the North Sea.Guests can enjoy celebrated gastronomy courtesy of Head Chef and rising culinary star Eric Snaith and his team. Eric’s flair and flavours have earned him a reputation for exquisitely presented, innovative, modern European food. The finest local ingredients and cutting edge-techniques have won the hotel three AA Rosettes and Eric himself the title of Eastern Daily Press Norfolk Food and Drink Chef of the Year 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Titchwell Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titchwell Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing