We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little extras make a big difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The little extras make a big difference.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Sometimes it is difficult to find somewhere 'nice' to go if you want/need to take your dog with you on your travels. This place does not skimp on quality accommodation because your dog shares your room; the spacious room, in the herb garden complex, was immaculate and obviously finished to a high standard. Dog treats, as a welcome, were a pleasing touch for our pooch and dog bed was in place ready for her. For the humans, the little biscuits were absolutely yummy. NOTE TO THE OWNERS *** You could sell these - I would have bought a stash! *** Do not let the fact that this is a dog friendly establishment put you off if you're not a dog owner/lover - the dogs were not really noticeable and if they were, they were not intrusive and, indeed, were exceptionally well behaved during our 4 night stay. It's my belief that responsible dog owners stay here and are prepared to pay that bit more for the pleasure.
The staff were on hand and always seemed industrious, but not to busy to say hello, they were there if you needed them but not, "In your face!"
The breakfasts were fantastic! Such choice! Kippers, haddock, chocolate crepes, scrambled eggs & salmon, porridge made with whisky....and of course your traditional full English. The rhubarb compote on the continental table was a revelation and I am currently trying to source the chocolate granola! The chefs are top notch, dinner was fantastic too and I have submitted a separate review for the restaurant. I can't praise them enough, their commitment and devotion to their passion shines through!
The garden was big enough to not feel on top of each other and was pretty quiet each time we enjoyed a drink there.
Overall a peaceful and pleasant experience. The owners take an obvious pride in what they are delivering to their clientelle.... and it was not lost on me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Nannyannielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
It is so nice to read such a positive review!

Thank you so much for your lovely kind words and it sounds like we succeeded in making you all feel very welcome! We do our best to accommodate everyone at the hotel, especially dog lovers. As a family run business, we aim to make sure that our staff are like a big family who are friendly yet professional and attend to all your needs. We do hope to see you again & that includes the doggies too!

Many thanks
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    164
    93
    36
    5
See reviews for
116
499
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed Fri 20 July for one night. All staff were extremely pleasant and professional. Although the room was on the ground floor in the main building, we found it to be very private and quiet (Rm 10). We had dinner in the conservatory which we both really enjoyed. The comprehensive breakfast menu is particularly impressive which saw me going for the haddock and my wife the salmon.

A very enjoyable stay. Lovely Experience

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
What a very pleasant review. It sounds like you both had a wonderful time at the hotel. The breakfast menu we offer is varied and often a highlight for our guests. It’s very pleasing that you enjoyed it as well as your evening meal. We hope to see you again in soon.
Best wishes
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Please note - I travel a LOT with work and stay in a LOT of hotels but have only just started to review them in the hope of assisting others. My reviews seek to give potential customers good awareness of the hotel, not to be unnecessarily negative.

My wife and I recently stayed in one of the Superior rooms at Titchwell Manor to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose to have the 8 course 'Conversation Menu' for dinner.
On arrival there was insufficient parking available for customers but a quick word with Reception resulted in a member of staff moving their car to allow us to park.

Reception staff were polite and curteous and even showed us to our room which was a short walk around the outside of the building (which was to later prove a big downside when heading for dinner/breakfast while pouring with rain!). The superior annexe room (No. 12) was beautifully appointed and finished to a very high level with a magnificent bathroom. The finishing touches, such as toiletries and tea/coffee facilities were of a very good quality, including a cafetiere and lovely ground coffee (nice touch!).
However, the view from the window is uninspiring as it looks at the back of an overgrown tree and some fence panels....though you can see a small amount of the gardens. Not quite the "....some with sea views. Others are situated in the herb garden with French doors and outside seating looking out over farmland" superior rooms as advertised on the website.

We chose to relax in the room for a couple of hours before dinner and it was then that we discovered the major downside of the room. All traffic entering and leaving the hotel car park has to pass your door and bedroom window and the surface consists entirely of gravel. This meant that every 5-10 minutes you had to listen to the annoyingly loud crunching of gravel as guests arrived/departed the hotel and restaurant on foot or in their cars. Also, the room is located close to an external kitchen entrance so you have the sound of the kitchen (clinking of cutlery at breakfast/dinner time) and staff occasionally standing outside the kitchen door talking.
Again after dinner, the repeated crunching of gravel as customer, and later still staff, cars left the hotel/restaurant....it became a bit annoying after a while. It also meant you can't leave the curtains/blinds open without people looking in your room as they pass.

As for dinner at the restaurant?.....Superb! We were served well by the friendly staff and enjoyed an excellent selection of food from a great chef. A well balanced gourmand menu with some interesting twists (without being too Heston about it). The 8 courses turned into 10 with a few bonus dishes including a surprise from Chef who prepared some FANTASTIC macaroons on a decorated plate wishing us happy anniversary! (Again, nice touch!)

Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of fresh food and local produce (something I am a big supporter of)

When it came to checking out we paid the bill and drove off...only to notice we had been overcharged by £70!!. It was a very good bottle of wine with dinner but not THAT good! However, this was quickly and efficiently resolved on our return.

To summarise, it is a very nice hotel with a great restaurant. I am sure there are better located rooms with magnificent views but ours was very much let down by the noise from the passing cars/staff/customers and the limited views. At this price point (not cheap!) the room quality is good but the view and location are poor. I would only consider staying again if I could secure a better room.

Notes to management, if reading -
1) PLEASE tarmac the bit outside the annexe rooms and greatly increase customer enjoyment!
2) Cut back the trees outside the window of room 12 to improve the view from the room!

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor superior room in the annexe as you will have to listen to crunching gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you kindly for your review and I am sorry for the delay in responding to you. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed some parts of you stay and I hope the negatives did not leave you too disheartened about the hotel. We have several different styles and types of rooms in the hotel. The one you were in had recently been refurbished by our interior designer Shaun Clarkson. You will find although the other rooms in the Herb Garden may have had the views of the fields or the rooms upstairs had the seaview, the designs in these rooms are a little more basic with more wood rather than the soft furnishings you had. The other rooms are slightly smaller too! With regards to the trees outside it is certainly something we can look into for the future but unfortunately this will then result in even less privacy.
Overall, we are glad to hear that the rest of your stay was to the level we hope to offer all our customers. If you do decide to come and join us again in the future, please let us know and we can perhaps find a room which would be better suited for you.
Kindest regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for one night. Enjoyed it so much we went back a few days later.. Excellent rooms, fantastic breakfast in the conservatory and beautiful views from the lounge and restaurant areas. All the staff we met were friendly, discreet and helpful. The hotel has a lovely, warm atmosphere. it's stylish and charming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It’s so nice to hear you had an enjoyable time with us that you came back again! Our door is always open for whenever you would like to join us again.
many thanks
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked the conservatory for a Saturday lunch. Was mum's 60th birthday & a special treat. Rang up beforehand and spoke to a lovely lady that helped me arrange a vegan menu (for myself). They also mentioned they could do a decorated dessert plate for mum. We arrived and were initially seated in the restaurant before moved to the conservatory. No one else was seated there, which should have tipped us off! They had prepared a special vegan menu for myself, so my expectations were high. Unfortunately, the service was somewhat lacking from the start. The waiter didn't know much about what was on the menu, especially my vegan one. We were basically ignored for the entire time we were there. To the point where we had to get up & find the waiter to get more drinks served. It took 2 hours to serve 2 courses, and the main restaurant was not that busy either. When our mains were eventually served (45mins after the starters), it was clear they had been sitting under the lights for some time (some of the salad had wilted etc.). So although the food was 'fine dining' quality, I was surprised the chef would have let leave the kitchen. In the end, we didn't even stay for dessert as we had other plans for the day & couldn't spare another hour for a course to be delivered. Would not recommend a special lunch here, maybe just something from their more basic menu. Dinner service may well be better for fine dining.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani_Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise that the level of service you received is not would what we would wish to offer anybody. It is important to make sure the staff at the hotel are very knowledgable of the menus and since your review, more training has been given. On a lunchtime service we would normally advise our guests to dine with us in the Eating Rooms as we would not normally have a member of staff in the Conservatory at all times. This is something that we would look in to for the future though.
I really do hope that although you did not have the best experience at the hotel, you may rethink and come back to us sometime in the future so we can show you how it should be done correctly.
Kind regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in even when compared with 5 star. It is family run with the owner as manager and then her son as head chef. Every aspect of the stay was perfect and every little detail considered involved with making a difference to our stay. Nothing was a problem and every part of the service delivered with a smile and courtesy. Then there's the food which was quite simply delicious. If you want go to North Norfolk this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruttle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
What a delightful review to receive. The comments you have said are very special to us and we will be sure to pass them on to the whole team. We like to make sure the team at Titchwell offer outstanding service and nothing is too much for any of us. Please come and see us again.
Many thanks
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was a truly great experience visiting Titchwell Manor for my first time in June , and can thoroughly recommend it ! It was truly a perfect stay with friends .Situated on the North Norfolk coastline between Hunstanton and Blakeney , and not far from Sheringham and Cromer to visit . The hotel is in a great location for exploring many quaint places . The gardens were prestine and comfortable to spend time in . We had a warm welcome on arrival from both the owners and staff . Both bar and restaurant were easily accessible , and the food was amazing with a great menu to suit all tastes and staff service excellent. The spotless accomodation was roomy and excellent with bed and pillows to my satisfaction for a good nights sleep . Will call again that's for certain !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TitchwellManor, Owner at Titchwell Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
We are glad to hear your first time at Titchwell Manor was so enjoyable and lived up to any expectations you may have had. We take much pride in offering such good food and service so we certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchwell
4.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
391 reviews
5.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
589 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
869 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titchwell Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titchwell Manor Hotel

Property: Titchwell Manor Hotel
Address: Main Road, Titchwell PE31 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Titchwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Titchwell Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Titchwell ManorA stone’s throw from the stunning North Norfolk coast, Titchwell Manor is a beautiful, boutique 27-bedroom country retreat offering destination fine dining. Owned by Margaret and Ian Snaith since 1988, the elegant former Victorian farmhouse combines traditional values with chic contemporary accommodation and spectacular, uninterrupted views across open marshes to the North Sea.Guests can enjoy celebrated gastronomy courtesy of Head Chef and rising culinary star Eric Snaith and his team. Eric’s flair and flavours have earned him a reputation for exquisitely presented, innovative, modern European food. The finest local ingredients and cutting edge-techniques have won the hotel three AA Rosettes and Eric himself the title of Eastern Daily Press Norfolk Food and Drink Chef of the Year 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Titchwell Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titchwell Manor Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing