We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Suphannahog

Suphannahog
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Wymondham
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food in a wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family and I ate here last Saturday night and we were not disappointed! Some of the reviews on here don't give the place enough credit. We found the food here was very tasty and the staff were very attentive. The drinks weren't as overpriced as some of the restaurants we eat in (it is 2014!). We ordered a mixture of dishes I had chilli beef with egg fried rice which was delicious! We will be eating here again soon and I would recommend to anyone!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janehrevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I Hate to say it”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have been going for years sometimes once a week . Staff are great . But portion size gets smaller , when you go in the winter you freeze in there the heating is cra? . Very expensive 2 meals 2 x drinks say goodbye to £60.00

Sorry suphannahog I have been putting this off

So long

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suprised and delighted”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked at table for Saturday night but before going we looked at the reviews on this site and wanted to cancel. However we thought we would give it a go and be prepared to be disappointed. We are delighted to say that the service was fantastic, the ambience superb and the food far exceeded our expectations. We had a mixed chef starters which was beautifully presented and very tasty with lots of various dips to try. We moved onto beef which was tender and full of flavour, a chicken noodle dish which was delightful and BBQ king prawns which were amazing. There was no oil/grease, meats cooked well and taste was superb. Yes the portion sizes were a little on the small side and were a little pricey but we left the restaurant feeling full and will certainly be going back again. Well done Suphannahog, you deserve praise not criticism and it was good to see you had quiet a few people in on the night we visited. We will certainly be back again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sliding downhill...”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have very fond memories of this restaurant as it is where we went on our first date over 5 years ago - when we had a memorable evening with divine food. We have been a few times since and, sad to say, the restaurant goes downhill with every visit. We will not be going again.

The service is good, never had a problem with that at all, the waitresses are lovely. The food, we find, is still tasty BUT portions have grown much smaller and the price has gone up exponentially and it is not exceptional compared to other venues such as the Sugar Hut in Norwich. Wine is way overpriced. The restaurant used to be packed but is now usually nearly empty and there is never any need to pre-book, which says it all. We feel very sad about the demise of this restaurant but could not recommend it to anyone now.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Localyokel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food and very overpriced”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We visited on Saturday night after being unable to book a table for two at other restaurants in Wymondham - and decided to give this one another try after a gap of a few years.

The restaurant was very empty with only perhaps six tables occupied all evening which perhaps reflects the problems with this place.

Service was good and the environment is warm and welcoming, however the food is not exceptional and the price is way too high for what is essentially very standard Thai fare.
For £65 for two courses with one bottle of the cheapest red wine I would expect exceptional food. The mixed started for two was OK and presented very well but essentially its the usual mix of deep fried Thai "Dim-Sum" which you get anywhere. My wife had the duck in red curry which was OK - although the size of the meal was small and it was essentialyl a few pieces of sliced duck swimming in the usual red curry sauce. My beef Penang curry was grim - a small portion of fairly tough beef in a cloying sauce that tasted as though it was from a jar. there were no herbs of spices visible at all or any other vegetablesin it making it probably the worst Penang curry I have had in a very long time. The side dish of mixed veg in oyster sauce was similarly uninspiring - a very small mix of overcooked stir fried veg in a bland sauce for £6.50!

To summarise - the food was what I would expect from a standard Saturday night takeway.

Wines are very expensive as well.

It's a real shame that this restaurant doesn't take a long, critical look at itself and ask why it is empty on a saturday evening when the other good restaurants in Wymondham are packed. The environment is good and the staff very pleasant but it needs to significantly up the food quality and address the pricing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suphannahog also viewed

 
Wymondham, Norfolk
 

Been to Suphannahog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing