We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, great price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wymondham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wymondham
Wakefield
2 reviews
“Good room, great price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Lovely looking hotel with a super view of the Abbey. We managed to get great rates on a double room - £25 for a night. The only criticism of the hotel: the carpets could really do with replacing, but then again - at the price we got the room for, that's not a complaint! The town is absolutely beautiful too...

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakefield_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    14
    11
    77
See reviews for
13
40
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

We wanted to stay here because we had visited the hotel previously for tea when it was The Abbey Hotel. It had been a lovely old fashioned English hotel overlooking the beautiful old Abbey in Wymondham. It is now called Hill House with accommodation and restaurant. What a shame!!

They have turned this old english hotel into a modern mess. There is no proper reception just a bar within a restaurant. The restaurant has too many spotlights and has no character at all.

There is nowhere for a guest to sit and enjoy a nice cup ot tea in a relaxing setting you either have to sit at a restaurant table or outside on decking. There are no plants, all the lovely old atmosphere of the Abbey Hotel is ruined.

We were shown 3 rooms, the first in a "cottage" next door was damp and had a window that would not shut. The 2nd was also in a "cottage" but the room smelled strongly of smoke and there were cobwebs in the bathroom and a broken window. We eventually settled for a room on the 2nd floor of the hotel itself and although the bed itself was comfortable the toilet needed cleaning and the extractor in the bathroom did not work.

I understand this hotel is now owned by a man who thinks he knows how to treat guests- he does not. We were going to be charged £75 for the room plus £7.50 each for breakfast - normally most hotels give a bed and breakfast rate but he does not. We eventually agreed to pay £50 b and b which was all we thought it was worth.

Do yourself a favour and do not stay there if you have any choice at all. There are many good b and b's in the area much cheaper and much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Various UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2007

I have stayed at this hotel twice now (the 2nd time because everywhere else in the area was full) and both times have promised myself never to return.

The reception area and downstairs has been nicely renovated and is very promising when you walk in, staff are friendly and helpful so great first impression (if you find a parking space).

The nightmare comes when you walk upstairs, its like stepping back in time. Both rooms I had the floor boards didn’t just creak, more like bang every time you move. Everything about the room is out of date and old.

The en-suite was the worst bit, with an ancient toilet, soap dispenser with no soap and no other toiletries. More importantly there was no shower but just a very old metal bath. Both rooms I have tried there is no enamel on the bath so they have a rough feel and look very grimy (although they are probably fairly clean but they just look awful).

I had to collect a remote control from reception and it was so huge I almost needed a helping hand. I needn't have bothered as the TV didn’t work anyway.

The staff were all very nice and breakfast was good.

Hopefully they will renovate the rest of the hotel to the same standard as downstairs and this would then be a great place. However, in its current state I would not recommend.

ALSO: It appears the name is changing / has changed and this is now the 'Hill House Hotel' what a totaly stupid thing to do. This hotel has a great location and overlooks a very very nice Abbey. What are management thinking???????

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Blue123Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night at this hotel which is currently undergoing some refurbishment works (kitchens,reception etc) and so the restaurant was closed and there was no provision for cooked breakfasts.(Work continues until Jan 2007 I believe).
The room made you feel that you were staying at an old aunt's house but compared to some of the places we have stayed that was actually a plus.
The beds were very comfortable and the hotel is in a lovely quiet location opposite Wymondham Abbey.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely be paying another visit.
Thai restaurant at end of Church Street highly recommended!

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a superior room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2006

The good bits
The 'superior double' room was very spacious, clean, nicely decorated and had an extremely comfy king-sized bed. Cooked breakfast was excellent - our compliments to the (teenage) chef. It was very reasonably priced due to a discount we got when booking it online. The hotel has a great website....

The not-so-good bits
....the website makes the hotel look better than it really is!! There's hardly any parking (3 spaces) and it's not really off the street. Room overlooked creepy graveyard/abbey - this was billed as a 'plus' but we actually found it very forboding and uncomfortable for some reason! Cheap tasting instant coffee with breakfast and cutlery wasn't very clean. Bar appeared to be un-manned in the evening (ok though as there's a pub 2 doors along..!). Generally funny atmosphere in communal areas of hotel - very quiet (couldn't have a conversation without feeling people were listening - we felt like outsiders in a frontier town - ha ha!). Restaurant was empty and we'd been warned about it anyway, so ate at the Indian nearby - very nice and highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmk226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2006

A well situated hotel overlooking the Abbey, but we did encounter some problems. First impressions were poor, with the staff arguing the toss with another guest and completely ignoring us! Room excellent, clean and commodious, but the claim of the most comfortable beds in the region we did not find substantiated.
Parking is difficult as the hotel has virtually no parking, and you are subject on-street to a restriction except 18.30-8.30.
Dinner at the hotel was pretty standard and expensive, with friendly if not particularly competent service

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2005

Stayed at this hotel during mid-December. It has a three-star rating but not the service to go with it. We had no heating in our bedroom for the first few hours after we arrived and only one bath towel (there were three of us in a family room). After a few calls we got our towels and one small radiator. Then, as if by magic, our heating came on. When we informed reception they told us that chef had just turned on the hot water!

After previous reports about the hotel food we decided to eat in a nearby pub, The Green Dragon. This was a very nice experience. The staff are great, the pub cosy and the food plentiful and good.

Breakfast on day two took over half an hour to arrive and there were no glasses for the orange juice.

We felt very sorry for the few staff there were at this hotel as they were run off their feet all the time. You cannot blame these frazzled workers as they did do their very best, but overall the experience was not good for some guests.

I probably wouldn't rush back.

Helpful?
2 Thank KentWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wymondham
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wymondham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: 10 Church Street, Wymondham NR18 0PH, England (Formerly Hill House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wymondham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wymondham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hill Hotel Wymondham Cafe 91
Abbey Hotel Wymondham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing