We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boars

The Boars
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Wymondham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$50
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Freehouse and Restaurant, Great food, Fine Wines, Craft Beers and Artisan Spirit Range. Dog friendly in the snug and available to hire for any type of celebration. On Sundays we Roast!
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant having found it well reviewed on trip advisor. It was indeed very worthy of its good reviews. We had a very enjoyable homemade evening meal. Plentiful plates and good quick service. Would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hertfordshirejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    64
    33
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Like visiting your culinary best friends house but with room for all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Beautiful Sunday lunch with a group of 12 for my 40th. Food was so tasty, meat divine and atmosphere relaxed but had a buzz about it, not stuffy or too quiet. Thank you, the large bottles of wine looked inviting, haha x

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neilnelly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, lovely atmosphere and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went to the Boars on a last minute decision as it is relatively local to us and we hadn't been before.

The selection is good, the staff attentive and welcoming and the whole atmosphere was great. We started with a Platter to share and both went for the Fillet Steak for mains. Again, it was tasty and excellently cooked (I like my steak blue and not many get it right).

Any downsides? Well, the price is a little steep. In Norwich I pay £20 for a fillet and it's £25 here. My wifes steak had some fat on it which is unusual for a Fillet>

These are minor gripes though, for what is an excellent country restaurant/pub.

Word of warning. Book early. We have tried several times to get bookings here and they are very busy!

Will return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimbers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere & Delicious Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We came here as a group, once at Christmas for a staff meal and the other for a quick lunch.
The food is slightly pricey, but still delicious and extremely filling. I'm vegetarian and I still felt spoilt for choice. I chose a small lunch, the risotto and I still couldn't finish it all, but it's very well cooked & presented.
The staff are friendly - I'm not sure if it was the owner, but the older gentleman seemed a little bit 'unsure' of things the last time we were here, and we were one of the only tables in the restaurant, but he was friendly enough. The chef always comes and has a chat with us and to ask how the meal was, which is a really nice touch you wouldn't get in many other places.
I'm sure we'll return for our next outing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pub Grub with a Difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The welcome, menu choice and quality of the food. Excellent choice of wines to compliment the meal. Had several meals at the Boars and enjoyed every one. To date we have always eaten in the lounge, like the atmosphere in there but would not hesitate to use the restaurant if lounge full.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boars also viewed

 

Been to The Boars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing