We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We only leave reviews if we have a very good experience or a bad one, unfortunately this is the later.

The White Hart has lustre décor with dingy net curtains, and is in need of redecoration.

1 main course was cold

1 main course was very greasy

1 main course, the main ingredient of which was appropriate in size as a starter (4 mouthfuls) + trimmings arrived too late to be eaten with main ingredient (said 4 mouthfuls!) This person was starving after the meal and went home for something to eat!!

We were not asked once if everything was satisfactory which it was not.

Sullen waitresses who obviously did not care less if the customers were satisfied or not and even had a bad attitude.

Manager totally oblivious to the shortcomings of the establishment.

There are many great places in the surrounding areas who deserve your custom sadly this is not one of them. Our meal which was about as enjoyable as the standard you are forced to accept at service areas on the motorway, so bottom line is as with those, this is only a place to go if nothing else is available. A total waste of money and for the standard very expensive!!. A meal we did not enjoy at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacktiles, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Good evening,

I am unsure if this review is intended for us as the exact same review has been posted at The White Hart Halesworth.

I would like to respond to your comments if they are indeed intended for us.

If you could either email me at greig@blacktiles.co.uk or call on 01473 624038 to confirm this review was for The White Hart Blythburgh I would really appreciate it.

I look forward to hearing from you

Regards
Greig Barnes
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    61
    36
    28
    14
See reviews for
79
85
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had lunch with elderly relatives and really enjoyed the food - main courses well-cooked though veg not so good (micro-waved to reheat?) and desserts delicious. We then returned to spend the night and have breakfast. The room (4) was large and had great views but really needed sorting out! Bed and TV ancient, hairdrier fixed below TV with wardrobe door also obstructed by TV so using drier was a challenge! There were items left in drawers - eg socks. The bathroom was laid out in a way which means you can't reach the toilet roll, and the shower had paint peeling above it. The new owners really need to sleep in each room to test out how it works. Huge potential, but needs tweaking. Breakfast - no cereal, juice, just a plate with a full English delivered to the table by kitchen staff - what would have happened had we been vegetarian I don't know. The location is great, and with a little attention to detail could be really good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I’m glad you enjoyed the majority of your food, I’m sorry to hear your vegetables weren't cooked to your liking and your comments will be passed on to our head chef. With regards to your stay in our room (4) thank you very much for your comments they are very useful in respect to us starting the refurbishment of that room this week. Our breakfast is always served as full English; however other options are available and can be catered for if mentioned when checking in any special dietary requirements you or any guest may have.
Again thank you for your time, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We live in a village very close to The White Hart Inn, so were delighted to call in (after hearing there were new owners! ) and enjoy, not only a delicious lunch, but delightful staff. We have always enjoyed the food at The Black Tiles, (the new owners other restaurant), so what a treat to know that we no longer have to travel a long way to enjoy good food and wine. My mussels were very good, and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed her scampi. The young man behind the bar was friendly and attentive, without being familiar, and I look forward to my return visit!

Room Tip: sorry, only sampled the food and drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoddyThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your visit to The White Hart, all feedback will be passed on to our staff. It is lovely to see that word is spreading and that we can now accommodate our guests from black tiles to a nice rural area of Suffolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have been to this pub a few times then the food started to go down hill and very expensive so you stop but being local you like to give them another try under new managers.Went here bank Holiday Monday on the way back from the beach with the dog which you can take inside, there were six of us and we had the fish and chips which was really good and two people had the sausage and mash which they said was very tasty.lots of the meals looked good.The staff were very polite and friendly and made you feel welcome.this is a good pub for stopping for a drink or food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Good afternoon

I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The White Hart. We enjoyed a very successful bank holiday and your feedback is paramount to that. All feedback has been relayed back to our staff members in the kitchen and front of house

Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Terrible I don't think they know what a cleaner or duster looks like .went for breakfast at 8oclock and no one about and door locked had to go back half hour later no breakfast cereals laid out cook wasn't even there .not sure who was in charge run by a bunch of very young inexperienced kids who haven't a clue how to run a pub /rooms if you are just stoping for a bit of lunch or dinner then the food is good

Room Tip: None our family hired all rooms and all lack cleanliness truly terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Like other reviewers I have recently rediscovered the White Hart at Blythburgh.
It always has been a pub / restaurant with a cosy aspect and one of the best views out across the countryside but a couple of years ago the food went down hill and the prices went up.
However I heard it was under new management and a couple of weeks ago I had one of the best evening meals for the price in the bar. Yesterday I tried it for Sunday lunch. This resulted in one of the best Sunday lunches I have had for a long time all at a very reasonable price and served by a very friendly and helpful staff.
Oh yes and add a pint or two of Adnams Ale and what more can you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolkdelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good afternoon

We are glad you enjoyed your recent visits to The White Hart.
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a lovely review. All your comments have been passed on to our team members both in the kitchen and Front of house.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

The Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Called in for lunch today, Ham Sandwich & Sausage Sandwich, with a small salad, £5.95 each very expensive & not presented very well.
Place looked a bit run down.
Will not return in a hurry, some far better places in the area.

Room Tip: Did not stay, just went for quick lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacktiles, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feed back is really helpful to us particularly as this is a new business venture.

We are sorry to hear that the sandwiches were not as you expected. We have looked into the issues raised with our head chef and as a result our bread supplier has been changed and the way we present our sandwiches has also had a makeover.

With regards to your comments regarding the current state of repair at The Hart, we are discussing and planning some improvements in the near future. As with any new business venture we have to be mindful of costs in the first year.

With all this in mind we hope you will consider coming back to see us in the near future

The Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
794 reviews
5.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#5 of 19 in Southwold
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Inn Blythburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing