We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I live locally and want a good local with good food. Overall that's what the 'Hart provides. The new management have come with a good reputation. The food is good but the prices are now on the high side. Presentation can be more style over function (wooden slabs and small baskets).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Blythspartan-vfr800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just ate here today and I was very pleased with the service and the food. Very generous portions and minimal waiti. The staff are very friendly and it was a relief to be able to eat without someone coming up to you mid way through your meal asking if everything is ok. Will defo be back there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Xcjacsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What has happened in such a short time. Last year I gave this pub a very good review because of the good food and good service. I have not been for a few months and I have been two time in the last few weeks. I gave it a second go in case it was a bad night but no it appears that it has gone down hill rapidly.
No more friendly staff just two people who did not seem to care. We were told that they had run out of heating oil and that the place was cold so we would be better in the bar and not the dining room. We were handed some food stained menus which with low lighting was next to impossible to read. There were very few ‘specials’ and the main coursed were just café type, fish and chips, sausage and mash, burger etc. we had goats cheese salad starters and played hunt the cheese. We were ignored throughout the evening and had to go up to the bar to ask for anything we wanted and when I got home I saw that I had been charged for a drink we did not have.
Both visits were Friday night and the place was virtually empty, it seems that others have got the message before me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkdelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is an excellent inn on the A12, with a car park overlooking the Blyth estuary. From there you can walk down to an excellent hide with good views of waders and others. The food is good pub grub with a few more adventurous items on the menu. I have not seen the accomodation, but it is relatively recent. A good selection of Adnams ales and wines are always available. While there, why not buy a pin badge of one of the birds that you have seen in support of the RSPB. The Minsmere reserve is a short car ride away.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Goldings23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We ate dinner here on the Saturday before Christmas. The menu was good and the food well prepared and tasty and the beer fab of course. The sticky toffee pudding was the best I've had all winter - and I've sampled a few! The log fire was blazing and there was even a chap singing Christmas tunes. I think it must have been the wild weather keeping people away as it was quiet. Look forward to going back in the summer and enjoying the food and the unparalleled views of the estuary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

On a holiday over the Christmas break,we booked into the White hart at Blythburgh for our Christmas lunch,and were not disappointed,we were made to feel very welcome by the staff,and the lunch itself was very good with very ample portions,we would like to hopefully return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very disappointing for a Sunday family Christmas lunch, food very poor, we had hoped for an improvement since our last visit but sadly not. A few years ago the food was excellent, bring a chef it was all very sad virtually no Christmas decorations either so no atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BabsBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
773 reviews
4 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
803 reviews
5.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
745 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#3 of 4 in Southwold
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range: £56 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Inn Blythburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing