We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friday night supper”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Southwold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friday night supper”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we visited this inn for a friday night meal and were immediately impressed by the lovely welcome from the new owners Lee and Marie. the view from the dining room across the estuary has to be seen to believe. this inn has been recently refurbished in a brilliant way. Our food was absolutely fabulous could not fault it at all. one of our part had the" Iffitt" meal which was a tapas style and it was huge and delicious another person had the" whale" and chips not for the faint hearted! but sooooo good and the other meal was a rib eye steak which too was fantastic. the staff members including Renee could not do enought for us. We shall definitely go again and highly recommend the entire experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anniepitstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    61
    36
    28
    14
See reviews for
79
85
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Under new ownership, this pub is flourishing. Helpful staff, busy restaurant, good atmoshphere. Our group popped in twice at various points during the day it was so good ! Selection of food from Blythburgh smokehouse. Outside tables overlooking the Blyth at the back. Ample parking. Nice atmosphere. Good beers. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euronut2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family popped in for lunch with our dog.
As we sat outside it started to rain a lot. After a few minutes a member of staff beckoned to us to come and eat in the bar area, which we gratefully did.
Everyone was just so nice & it made the day!
Thank you all.
(Food was good too, prices were alright, and service was spot on!)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dannys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The new owners & staff have made major improvements since our last visit.
We went today, Saturday, for a quick lunch.Good service with a smile, thanks Jade, very good food, wife had a Ploughman's very well presented & large quantity/quality. I had just a Ham sandwich with chips, again very good.
The place was "buzzing", always good sign, we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This was a surprise birthday dinner booked by Sticky. Luckily she relied upon TripAdvisor for recommendations. I have to say it was a wonderful experience not only for the fantastic food but the staff were excellent. The service was excellent and we never felt rushed throughout the evening. Sticky had booked a lovely table looking out over the river Blyth. Thank you White Hart staff for a truly wonderful birthday meal, oh and Sticky for paying!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I visited the White art yesterday evening . The welcome was warm and the decor very fresh and inviting . I ordered my meal and waited a reasonable time the choice of menus is good and does air towards fish but plenty of others to choose from . I chose the sausages & mash and Shallot gravy . It came with three sausages a generous portion of mash in a large dish with plenty of gravy although not very onion in flavour also they served some excellent broccoli that was cooked through and not crunchy. I followed with a dessert of home made sticky toffee pudding topped with a small ball of honeycomb caramel ice cream topped with a delicious caramel sauce. I viewed other customers meals and the portions are good in size the Cod in batter was huge. . I would certainly give it a another try when in the area
Derek Reeve

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I visited the pub sometime a year or two ago and thought the pub was quite average however it seems the new management have done a great job of turning the place around. Lovely tradional interior and a great traditional menu with a variety of options. I am a fish lover and was happy to see lobster and crab etc on the menu. It was also lovely to see the pub are taking advantage of the local produce Suffolk too. Staff have always been kind and helpful. All around great place to eat - will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine2k14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythburgh
3.1 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
794 reviews
5.3 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#5 of 19 in Southwold
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Inn Blythburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing