We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Warmer afternoon Tea-cold comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Warmer afternoon Tea-cold comfort”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

16.12.2013 My friend and I went for afternoon tea. I was wearing an orthopaedic shoe as a result of foot surgery and the receptionist greeted me " what on earth have you done to your Foot?" Very tired dining area. One glass of champagne flat and too sweet to be real champagne. Both glasses replaced on request. Sandwiches very basic. Cakes all mass produced. Tea topped up with hot water no fresh tea bags so too weak to drink. Waiter Neville saved the day as very caring and friendly. Enormous spider in ladies loo in cob web at eye level. First and last time for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryehawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that your expectations were not met during your recent visit to the Hotel. We do value your comments as without customer feedback we cannot continue to improve and measure our standards. We do have an expansion plan in progress which will hopefully see a new Restaurant and refurbished Lounge area. We hope that may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Brian and Kelly Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    189
    108
    33
    14
See reviews for
85
280
9
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend booked a month ago to take my mother and father for lunch as we'll not see them over Xmas.

On arrival we were told they had no record of our booking, even though my girlfriend had been in an email conversation with the grange regarding the suitability for my elderly father. However, they managed to seat us anyway.

The waiter that took our drinks order was confused about what is red wine and what is white. But he corrected his mistake quickly.

Mainly, the food was good. The veg was overdone and a bit soggy and my fathers beef was tough and griselly. However, the rest of the food was good. I had the turkey and I enjoyed it.

The service was pretty slow(45 mins for our starter), but other than the drinks confusion was ok.

Overall, I would give the grange another chance as the good showed potential, although it would have to improve for me to make further visits after that.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you would consider returning to the Hotel. We are continuing to improve our standards every day and we hope that this will have a positive impact on your next visit.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We made the decision to have our christmas party at the Brome Grange, as we had heard very good reviews for the Carvery. Having attended the christmas party last night, for £25 we thought it would be good, but we were left very disappointed. If you were unlucky enough to be in the marquee near the centre of the room you had to squeeze in and have the table against your ribs, to many people in one area, the mains came out along with one small watery gravy boat, this size would be enough for only 2 people we were on a table of 10, eventually asking another member of staff for more only one gravy boat came out, a splash of gravy was all we got. 2 people running the bar was not enough. Overall I feel the number of heads was more important than the quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL17203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met at your recent Christmas party. We do hope that you made your reservations known on the night to our manager and that it was dealt with immediately. We do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Welcoming log fire - lovely and cosy bar/reception area. Room comfortable and warm, which was very welcome after coming in from the cold weather outside. Handy for Diss and Bury St Edmunds - enjoyed the Christmas Fair.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at this hotel and loved every minute. We found all the staff very friendly and extremely eager to help and please. Before arriving I had to ring with a problem and the lovely young woman on reception was helpful and friendly. On arrival the gentleman on reception was on the phone trying to assist another guest, so another member of staff, Mr Day, couldn't have been friendlier, doing what he could while we waited. Our room was lovely, and we could park right outside which helped (as you can with most the rooms). We ate both nights in the restaurant. The first night we had a meal which was fabulous. I couldn't fault it. The second night we had a few issues, but the wonderful young man in charge (Jonathan) was not only apologetic, he did everything he could to put things right. He couldn't have done more, and didn't try to make excuses, just accepted they had made a mistake (they are only human after all!) and sorted everything out. Breakfast was lovely and filled us up for the day. All the waitresses were friendly and helpful.
We will certainly be going back. Thank you forms wonderful weekend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank queenofcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed to the team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoxne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

brome grange has had a "checkered past" and it is the first time i have eaten there since the re open with new ownership, i was part of a 25 strong birthday group including "children" and i have to say the experience was a delight. without being asked the staff put on a father christmas with small gifts for the children and 2 birthday guests ( one 70 and the other 69 so additional children in fact) the menu was good and in my view exceptional value given the quality of the meal and staff, wine was also good value i would recommend strongly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you gave us (as new owners) a chance and decided to visit. Your comments have been passed to our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Medway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed in the Brome suite and it is just amazing A HUGE double jacuzzi bath as well as a double walk in shower and 4 poster bed. Room is huge and spotlessly clean. We loved it. The hotel itself has bags of character, wooden beams, open fires and very friendly staff. Surrounded by gardens and all we could hear were birds singing. the only thing that was a let down was the cellar man emptying a load of empty bottles around 4.30 AM right outside the room. the noise woke us up with a start and we think he should have done this after breakfast and not what was almost the middle of the night! Hotel is right by a major road but it wasnt a bother with traffic noise
bed was comfy and the food well cooked. just a lovely place. Have said poor for sleep quality ONLY because we were badly woken up by a very inconsiderate guy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spicers2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We do apologise sincerely for the noise you encountered during your stay. We can confirm that the refuse points have been moved so that this issue will not happen again. We do hope that it didnt spoil your stay too much.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
18.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Property: Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing