We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Break - for 44th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The staff that we encountered were all friendly and helpful - especially Jon, the young man in charge of the restaurant.
Our room (No 20)needed updating. The mattress was very soft and the bath had apparently been painted with enamel and so you sat on a wrinkled bottom of the bath - not very nice.
The noise from the entertainment suite was extremely loud on both nights - we had to turn the TV up to be able to hear it above the noise which went on very late.
The evening meals were both very good and cooked to order.
Breakfasts were a bit of a mess - presumably not the same chef. The tea came from an insulated jug and was horrid. The toast was undercooked and soggy. Cooked breakfast was ordered from a menu. I had a poached egg that was solid and my husband had scrambled egg which was one very set mass. The orange juice was off and fizzy on the second day.
Its sad that you don't seem to be able to have a weekend away these days without attendant loud noise. Perhaps hotels should warn you in advance?

Room Tip: Ask for something as far away from the function suite as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bakerhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We do apologise that you were not informed prior to your stay of the functions that were booked on the evenings you were due to stay. This is not normal practice and try to ensure that all parties are aware. The baths I am afraid are a health and safety feature and a more hygienic way of making the bath safe. Your comments have been passed to our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day.
Kelly and Brain Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Staff great and food good.

But the Grange Suite was on the front, on the main road and just too noisy despite the secondary glazing. Ear plugs essential though once there were in I had a good night's sleep.

Lots of building work going as spa/leisure facilities are installed.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms on the front of the hotel. The main road is noisy, despite the secondary glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29_Sussex_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My daughter had her wedding here on 9th August 2014. The Tithe Barn is an awesome venue and looked amazing when we arrived. The food was brilliant, thanks to Neil and all the staff in the kitchen. The service was spot on and Rachel and Lucy worked incredibly hard. Thank you Sarah and Julie for all your help in preparing for the big day and ensuring everything was perfect and ran smoothly. One last thank you goes to Jonathan C the ''star of the late night bar''.

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar can be noisy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that your daughter had a fabulous wedding day. Your comments have been passed on to all the team. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming all the Bridal Party back again one day - perhaps for 1st Year Anniversary celebrations!
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great quality of accommodation great quality food, however the trip was spoiled due to collapsing beds for the kids and the constant blue bottle flies in the restaurant area. The staff were very helpful and always polite and very willing to help. The food was very well presented and very tasty.Even the take away from the local area seemed very willing and professional when delivering food ordered and staff escorted them to our room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Claudette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Being located in the countryside the flies can be an issue during harvesting. We do however have measures in place to have the hotel sprayed on a regular basis and fly catching systems in place. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel once our refurbishment is complete.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I got married in the Tithe Barn at the hotel and then had the evening reception there as well. Sarah is just the best, she was so helpful during the planning and Sarah and Julie were fantastic on the day making sure everything went smoothly. I stayed in the Brome Suite with the bridesmaids the night before which was a nice room and we enjoyed a meal with my husband to be in the hotel which was outstanding. My husband and I stayed in the Brome Suite the night of our wedding also. If there is one criticism the breakfast service is poor, the waitress on the first morning was sloppy when pouring tea with tea going over carpet and we had to wait quite a while. On the day after our wedding breakfast service was again poor and one of our guest asked for ketchup and had nearly eaten the meal before it was brought to the table. Another of our guests were waiting over half an hour for their breakfast. The food is good quality and on the day of the wedding the food was served quickly and was good. Such a shame about the breakfast service as apart from this everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604sharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you were looked after by our events team for your special day. Your comments have been passed to the team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Working in Central London in a busy job BGH is perfect for us to unwind in. My husband booked up two nights in the Brome Suite, which has a 4 poster bed a jacuzzi big enough to swim in and a double shower in the bathroom with those huge shower heads everyone loves so much. The room is spacious and very reasonably priced. Our package included dinner and breakfast and I have to say the food CANT be faulted. It is presented beautifully and the staff are very attentive. They use your name when talking to you and take time to talk with you, rather than just rush off. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at this hotel. They are of a standard that you'd expect when paying much much more. No grumpy faces here. As I said before my husband had arranged this trip and it was for our 5th anniversary. .when we arrived the champagne he had requested was in our room already, and the next morning the flowers he had asked the hotel to arranged for him arrived with our breakfast at 8am, which meant surprise for me and no stress for my husband, these simple touches that the hotel help you with go beyond what I'd expect from a small hotel.

We are ordered breakfast in our room on both days and just as before were very pleased with the food. Hot and delicious. I can't wait for their refit to be completed so that we can visit again. For those of you who want a great place to stay to use as a base to explore from this place is perfect. Thanks again BGH for making our stay relaxing and happy.

Room Tip: The Brome suite is just lovely for a romantic Break. Rooms at the front of the hotel will hear road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. Our team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again so that you can see our completed extension!
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a very comfortable couple of nights here, excellent value for money as an inclusive package. The building works didn't disturb us at all. Our room was pleasant if not plush. My husband declared his full English breakfast to be the best he has had at any hotel. There were lots of flies around the restaurant but this was a rural location in the height of a summer and we had a great three course dinner in the restaurant both evenings. Staff were friendly and fabulously helpful and more than made up for any shortcomings that we might have identified if comparing this hotel to bigger, more standardised hotels or stopovers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scotrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future,
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
509 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Best Western Ipswich Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
244 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stowmarket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range: £39 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing