We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal with family”
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George
Ranked #1 of 4 Cavendish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had relatives staying with us following a family wedding and decided there was no better restaurant to take them to than here. The staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to ensure you have a great meal. As a party of eight we sat in the window seating area therefore our guests felt very special. The food was great and was well presented as usual. The waitresses were very attentive and the evening was very enjoyable. The restaurant was busy which was nice to see and I would highly recommend this restaurant , maybe we should stay here soon and try the breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went to the George to celebrate my mother's birthday - we were 6 adults and 3 children. It was a sunny day so we sat out in the courtyard. The table had plenty of shade from the hot mid-day sun. The waitress was prompt without being pushy and we all settled down with a pre-meal drink. The food was a real surprise - not your normal pub-grub fare. I had mackerel to start followed by spicy lamb and couscous - the starter came with a great salad and was top notch. The lamb could have been spicier but was very tasty. The kids had burgers that looked amazing and were clearly enjoyed.
We all really enjoyed our lunch - great food - beautiful setting - and friendly staff. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gros-Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I recently visited relatives and decided to stay at The George as a little treat.

We were made to feel most welcome upon arrival and shown our room, which was absolutely superb. A lovely large bed, high vaulted ceiling, spacious with a well appointed ensuite bathroom. Flat screen TV included, along with wifi.

You will not be disappointed with the views of the village green. I can certainly recommend a stroll in the peace and quiet of this gorgeously idyllic place.

Breakfast was scrumptious with home made bread and a full English par excellence.

My only criticism would be upon our departure. The other guest were given a kindly thank you and farewell, but for some reason we were not afforded the same courtesy. Far from it in fact!. This slightly spoiled the experience and perhaps some customer care could be instilled in the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Meal for 10 was accommodated easily and service was good. Food delicious, but personally I found my main meal not as filling as I would have liked. Duck with risotto and roasted beetroot was my choice and there was perhaps only one spoonful of risotto. Same again with the dessert, delicious but it was described as a banana crumble with peanut butter ice cream etc... However I doubt if the crumble sprinkled in the banana was one pinch of crumbs so not quite what I was expecting. The sorbets looked good and mini desserts also. My starter of scallops and prosciutto was absolutely great.
The steaks I am told were excellent and came with chips and mushrooms, plenty filling enough. The black bream came with a filling salad. The burgers came with chips etc. The bread basket rolls were homemade, warm and wonderful.
Yes I would go there again but would need to have a side order to go with some of the main meals.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

As usual we stayed again at The George. We return every year (from New Zealand). The bed is comfortable and the shower good. The staff are very helpful and lovely and the food is super. Breakfast consists of freshly squeezed orange juice, Greek yoghurt and stewed berries then croissants or cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs or smoked salmon. Dinner is always great and we love it here. Just wish they would invest in some better pillows (i.e. feather/down) as theirs are rubbish! A grab handle over the bath would be helpful too as the shower is over the bath. Very steep stairs but the friendly staff carry your suitcases up and down. Just hold on yourselves if you are getting older !!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 on the front are bigger for couples and although its a busy road during the day it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know, as a result of our conversation during your stay i have invested in some new pillows!! Look forward to seeing you again in the autumn....take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here during the Easter break, been a few times before. Always go home feeling refreshed and relaxed. Great food, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Couldn't ask for more. See you in June!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was our third visit and we just love it !!
Dinner was superb, breakfast was excellent all served perfectly.
For quality and value I just cant fault the George and look forward to another relaxing stay soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
2.3 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
141 reviews
7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0 mi away
The Five Bells Public House
The Five Bells Public House
#4 of 4 in Cavendish
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#3 of 4 in Cavendish
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: The Green, Cavendish CO10 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cavendish
Price Range: £78 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in this 16th-century restaurant with rooms. The George is situated on the edge of the village green in Cavendish, positioned in between the popular villages of Clare and Long Melford and just a short drive from the timeless village of Lavenham. Since October 2010, co-owners Lewis Bennet & Bonnie Steel have achieved their 2nd Rosette and four gold stars from the AA & Visit Britain tourist guides. The emphasis at The George is on the quality of food and customer service. The menus offer a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes and budgets. The menus change frequently and are guided by the seasons. We aim to use the highest quality, sustainably sourced ingredients and utilise our garden to grow seasonal items such as baby leaf, beetroot, edible flowers, tomatoes and herbs to use on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cavendish
The George Cavendish, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing