We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday night and busy, says it all!”
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George
Ranked #1 of 4 Cavendish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Monday night and busy, says it all!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Great little find, very nice setting, loved the decor and courtyard garden. Lovely gastro pub style food. Service perhaps a little slow but this was Monday night and 50%+ of the tables were full. Very enjoyable evening with colleuges.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We are glad you had an enjoyable meal with us at The George and that the decor and garden were well received....Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    40
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
79
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for a night recently which included dinner, bed and breakfast and for what we got it was exceedingly good value. I would have happily paid more!

The meal itself was exceptional gastro pub food which left me scraping every last piece off my plate. Portions sizes were good and the presentation was excellent. Breakfast was also very good and served at a reasonable time (when I’m on holiday I don’t want to be forced to have it at 8am!).

The building itself dates from the 16th century so there's lots of period features, uneven floors and low doors. To me this gives a place character and is a bonus although it does lead to my only gripe. Our room was directly above the restaurant and we found that the noise from a particularly boisterous party travelled into our room. Not a huge problem unless you're after a quiet, early night.

I also have to mention that we were on a cycling holiday so needed somewhere to store our bikes overnight. Whilst we left them around the back when we arrived, unprompted the staff bought them inside overnight which kept them safe and dry.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_W_12569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review....we glad you found us good value money!! Hopefully we will see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I can highly recommend the George for either an overnight stay or a meal. It is an old tudor building so the bedrooms have sloping floors and ceilings and exposed beams making it a really special place to spend the night. The rooms have been renovated in an attractive, modern style and it makes a nice change to see proper coffee and fresh milk in the room rather than the usual nescafe sachets and UHT milk.

The evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic, all the food was superbly cooked and presented and the service from the friendly, young waitresses was attentive and efficient without being over the top. Breakfast was superb as well.

We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast option which is good value if you want to go for the full three-course meal experience as you are able to choose anything from the a la carte menu. They also offer a set meal at lunch and dinner but this has fewer choices.

Don't bother with the other pubs in the village, one was closed both times we tried to visit and the other was a disaster area. Although the George is definitely more restaurant than pub it does have a small bar area and a lovely garden for a pre-dinner drink.

Room Tip: Look on the website as it has descriptions and photos of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind and well informed review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the little touches we offer in the rooms......We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had relatives staying with us following a family wedding and decided there was no better restaurant to take them to than here. The staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to ensure you have a great meal. As a party of eight we sat in the window seating area therefore our guests felt very special. The food was great and was well presented as usual. The waitresses were very attentive and the evening was very enjoyable. The restaurant was busy which was nice to see and I would highly recommend this restaurant , maybe we should stay here soon and try the breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went to the George to celebrate my mother's birthday - we were 6 adults and 3 children. It was a sunny day so we sat out in the courtyard. The table had plenty of shade from the hot mid-day sun. The waitress was prompt without being pushy and we all settled down with a pre-meal drink. The food was a real surprise - not your normal pub-grub fare. I had mackerel to start followed by spicy lamb and couscous - the starter came with a great salad and was top notch. The lamb could have been spicier but was very tasty. The kids had burgers that looked amazing and were clearly enjoyed.
We all really enjoyed our lunch - great food - beautiful setting - and friendly staff. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gros-Cochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I recently visited relatives and decided to stay at The George as a little treat.

We were made to feel most welcome upon arrival and shown our room, which was absolutely superb. A lovely large bed, high vaulted ceiling, spacious with a well appointed ensuite bathroom. Flat screen TV included, along with wifi.

You will not be disappointed with the views of the village green. I can certainly recommend a stroll in the peace and quiet of this gorgeously idyllic place.

Breakfast was scrumptious with home made bread and a full English par excellence.

My only criticism would be upon our departure. The other guest were given a kindly thank you and farewell, but for some reason we were not afforded the same courtesy. Far from it in fact!. This slightly spoiled the experience and perhaps some customer care could be instilled in the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Meal for 10 was accommodated easily and service was good. Food delicious, but personally I found my main meal not as filling as I would have liked. Duck with risotto and roasted beetroot was my choice and there was perhaps only one spoonful of risotto. Same again with the dessert, delicious but it was described as a banana crumble with peanut butter ice cream etc... However I doubt if the crumble sprinkled in the banana was one pinch of crumbs so not quite what I was expecting. The sorbets looked good and mini desserts also. My starter of scallops and prosciutto was absolutely great.
The steaks I am told were excellent and came with chips and mushrooms, plenty filling enough. The black bream came with a filling salad. The burgers came with chips etc. The bread basket rolls were homemade, warm and wonderful.
Yes I would go there again but would need to have a side order to go with some of the main meals.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
7.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.3 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,102 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
508 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Property: The George
Address: The Green, Cavendish CO10 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in this 16th-century restaurant with rooms. The George is situated on the edge of the village green in Cavendish, positioned in between the popular villages of Clare and Long Melford and just a short drive from the timeless village of Lavenham. Since October 2010, co-owners Lewis Bennet & Bonnie Steel have achieved their 2nd Rosette and four gold stars from the AA & Visit Britain tourist guides. The emphasis at The George is on the quality of food and customer service. The menus offer a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes and budgets. The menus change frequently and are guided by the seasons. We aim to use the highest quality, sustainably sourced ingredients and utilise our garden to grow seasonal items such as baby leaf, beetroot, edible flowers, tomatoes and herbs to use on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cavendish
The George Cavendish, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing