We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
131
51
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
51
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village green bed and breakfast deal ribeye steak presented meal church bells wild garlic soup friendly waitress single traveller stour valley bar and waiting staff pretty village long melford overnight stay with dinner fantastic accommodation lovely comfy bed pre dinner drinks full english
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Stayed one night at The George , room was clean and cosy, with everything you would need for an overnight stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant , service was friendly and efficient , food good. Breakfast was delicious !.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The George is delightful, in the pretty village of Cavendish, which is close to many other lovely villages, which are a must to visit!
The staff at The George and very professional and friendly, and the rooms, especially number 2 is spacious, tastefully decorated and spotless!
This is our fifth visit and the food just gets better!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O2903PDsandrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We visited on a very busy Friday night....and were delighted when we were told we could sit and have some pre-dinner drinks outside. It was delightful although the restaurant/pub was very busy. We were presented with menus - both an a la carte and a set menu. Both looked excellent and we spent some time choosing our selections.

Our friendly waitress arrived to take what we thought were our orders, after about thirty minutes and said, 'oh by the way we don't have any meat left'....so having checked her understanding was the same as ours...ie no meant meant pretty much no meat (although they could serve some pork on a starter as a main course)....our party went for the fish options and I went for the pork tenderloin served as a main course.....

The food was good....the mullet was lovely and the pork tenderloin was excellent, although the portion size was small and it didn't come with the dauphanois side potato dish as promised. But the service was rushed and we ordered all our drinks from the bar as we didn't want to create more work for our already rushed waitress.

So I think we would give it another go. But I do think they could have been slightly more generous given that more than half their menu was off they night we visited...and it was only about 7:30pm when they told us having been sat their for more than thirty minutes so we didn't really have much choice to go elsewhere at that point.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Knightsbridgetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Whilst staying in the area, we booked a table for a family get-together. We had visited The George before, but this was the first time for an evening meal.
After drinks at the bar, we were soon seated at our table. There was a good choice of food on offer from the menu and the specials board. We all opted for starters. My choice was a spinach, asparagus and parmesan soup - so unusual and very delicious!
None of us could fault any of our chosen food, all served graciously, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We look forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank shebilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Stayed for 2 nights room very quirky in rm 1, two very steep steps to get into bathroom. It was a very hot week and the bed had a winter thick quilt on, I asked a lady who was working in a office upstairs for a sheet but she wasn't helpful but a waitress was more than happy to help get one for us.The food was great and something for anyone. The biggest bug bear was the cleaner vacuuming nearby, surely she could have started later. It's one a main road and the church bells kept us awake, but not the hotel fault.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews