We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful Christmas break…thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Christmas break…thanks”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Two night Christmas package at this brilliant, wonderful and unique English pub. Incredible value for money. Food was superb despite all areas being full for Xmas lunch. Staff all incredibly professional, friendly, knowledgable and proud of the pub. Room very comfy and clean. We were given so many extras (nibbles/pork pie/small decanter of sloe gin and shot glasses!) - clearly someone had thought it all through. All food sourced locally (tastes like food!) as are the beers. Great location for walkers and dog owners - if you have one. It is rare for us to award 5 stars to anyone unless Michelin or someone has rated it - but The Ship gets 5 simply for being so good as an all-round experience. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Unless you have a dog or need disabled facilities, ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    237
    105
    39
    14
See reviews for
129
416
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked a cottage for Christmas at Westleton and managed to book The Ship for Christmas dinner. It was £45 each for a 3 course dinner with tea / coffee and mince pies, this represented excellent value for money. We have had a lovely dinner, totally stuffed and stayed for a few drinks afterwards. The food was delicious, the staff friendly and we had a lovely relaxed afternoon. I would recommend The Ship it was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just back from a night at the Ship Hotel. Lovely big room with quality sheets and bedding. Excellent hospitality and cracking food. I had the mussels and my wife had the pigs cheeks - both were top drawer dishes. Cheese Board and treacle tart are not to be missed. Our dog loved the place too. Very friendly staff who seemed to genuinely care about the guests!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipsholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Went to the Ship Hotel for a couple of nights and had a terrific time. All the staff were really helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. We took our dog and he was also made to feel very welcome with the odd biscuit and even a sausage for breakfast. The room was great and the food at both breakfast and dinner was outstanding. The bar was lovely and warm and we even had live music on Thursday. We will certainly visit again. Great area for walking.

Room Tip: Lovely welcoming hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imperial3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a really cosy inn with an open fire and customer friendly staff . It's in a great location, a few minutes walk from the beach, lots of walks to do locally and only a short drive from picturesque Southwold.
We stayed on Nov 24 and 25 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a room right at the top of the house with a sloping roof and wooden beams which we loved. Nothing fancy and simply decorated but very cosy and clean.
We ate at the inn both nights and all the meals were good. I can also recommend the local kippers for breakfast!
All in all a very good experience and I would love to go back in Spring/summer.

Room Tip: Ask for Woods End
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

A few years ago I often went to eat at The Ship- it was a cosy, busy place with good food and welcomed dogs, so was perfect for me.
I had heard it had changed hands while I was out of the area, so when I booked for dinner I was relying on the recent reviews to be accurate. Well, perhaps we came on a bad night but the evening was not very enjoyable, I'm afraid. It is almost as if we went to two entirely different pubs- one with excellent, locally produced, inventive food that arrived promptly; the other with lacklustre, disinterested service in surroundings that were overlit, poorly decorated and were lacking both in warmth (the fire had gone out- and this was at only 7.30) and the slightest trace of a welcoming ambiance.
It was a Monday, so there were not many people there and perhaps that's why the chap behind the bar gave the impression he would rather be somewhere else; so when we left - which was immediately after we had eaten as there was nothing to linger for - I guess I shouldn't have been surprised that when I mentioned that I ran a local B&B and would like some of the pub's business cards for my clients he told me to look for them myself in the lobby and then could not even bring himself to say goodbye (or thank you...)
It is a great shame that a pub that has such an obviously talented chef (few and far between in this area...) should also offer such mediocre service and surroundings. Needless to say I will not be recommending it to my clients.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethK2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your specific feedback. It does appear that my Monday evening barman was a little off his game as most of the points that did not meet your expectations are under his duty of care. The Ambiance of the pub is a key part of The Ship, from lighting, candles and the log fire they should always be a focus for us and normally this would be the case. The barman in question is usually one of my team that receives great feedback about his customer care so we both apologise if you didn't receive this when you visited. We have both read through your review and he has promised to take your points on-board. I would sincerely hope that you don’t write us off entirely and that perhaps you can give us another go sometime soon. We want to be on the top of everyone’s list when it comes to recommendation in the local area so it would be great if you could get in touch with me directly so I can reassure you that you definitely caught us temporarily off guard and this is more a blip than par for the course here at The Ship.
I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the food and our new chef Sam Hanison, good to see his food shone through even though this was delivered by an uncharacteristic lack lustre performance from my front of house team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Could have gone anywhere in the world within reason to celebrate my 1/2 century, but decided to spend it with my dear old dog...... we choose The Ship because we had stayed here before on other occasions. It is friendly clean and has comfy beds.

On arrival the staff are welcoming the evening food was lovely and tasty and the log fire is also a lovely treat in November.

Breakfast was great but I would say they could do with some fresh fruit and yogurts that's the only thing negative I could say.

It is a wonderful base to go into Southwold without the expensive of staying in Southwold, On our second night we got to speak to the Head Chef Luke and it was lovely he took the time to speak about his ideas and food. Kim the manager and Craig & Steve the bar guys were very chatty and made you feel welcome.

Our room was a little on the tight side but Buster is a big lad (dog) and you don't spend all day in your room the bed was great.

Even down to housekeeping didn't get here name but she was lovely chatty and welcoming. Would recommend the Ship to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the outside building purely because of our old dog we were offered an upgrade because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEIGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew G, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed another stay with us here at The Ship. You will be pleased to hear that we are re-writing our breakfast menu and this will include a few lighter options for those that just don't fancy a full English. Our Head chef (Sam Hanison) has some great ideas for breakfast so we look forward to introducing our new menu very soon.

We hope you get chance to come and try it soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
773 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
999 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,452 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Property: The Ship at Dunwich
Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ship at Dunwich 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing