We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
360
295
133
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
360
295
133
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish and chipsscotch eggdog ownersbeer gardenmarsh viewsuffolk coastpork bellygreat lunchdunwich heathsister pubstable blockfamily roomdog friendly pubopen firepuddingshingle beach
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

this fantastic find we have been coming here for years ,
you always geta great welcolme here food is fantastic I want to stay the weekend soon,
the dogs love coming in with us too!
itsa gem of aplace love it

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PotashTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks so much and we hope you get the chance to come and stay with us soon... and bring the dog!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing break at The Ship.
From the lovely staff, the excellent food, comfortable room and beautiful walks what more could you need.
Very dog friendly and unbelievably clean considering the amount of dogs and people walking from the beach and nearby footpaths.
Cannot get over how peaceful the place is at night. Had the best nights sleep in ages.
The Ship and Dunwich in general are always packed but you do not feel crowded.
Have already booked return visit for early next year, cannot wait.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have an excellent view and are surprisingly quiet at night. Take a torch as there as there are no street lights and it seems to get a lot darker here than anywhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfresco1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

The best compliment we get is return bookings, thanks for sharing your time with us on Tripadvisor and leaving your lovely review.

Matt & The team at The Ship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

What a great place to relax and feel special. If I had to find fault it would be that the windows in some of the bedrooms need some tic but everything else was superb, particularly the food and the beer and the service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just returned from a perfect, restful Christmas break at the Ship Inn.
The food was superb and the staff were helpful and welcoming. We took our Jack Russell with us and were offered a table in the bar each evening to eat so she could join us! The bar is cosy with a roaring fire which is very welcoming after a day out walking through Dunwich Forest or over the Heath.
We only wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return and can highly recommend!
Thank you to all the team for making our Christmas a brilliant one.
Johanna, Christopher and Molly

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Two night Christmas package at this brilliant, wonderful and unique English pub. Incredible value for money. Food was superb despite all areas being full for Xmas lunch. Staff all incredibly professional, friendly, knowledgable and proud of the pub. Room very comfy and clean. We were given so many extras (nibbles/pork pie/small decanter of sloe gin and shot glasses!) - clearly someone had thought it all through. All food sourced locally (tastes like food!) as are the beers. Great location for walkers and dog owners - if you have one. It is rare for us to award 5 stars to anyone unless Michelin or someone has rated it - but The Ship gets 5 simply for being so good as an all-round experience. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Unless you have a dog or need disabled facilities, ask to be in the main building.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews