We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
365
304
135
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
304
135
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips scotch egg dog owners marsh view beer garden suffolk coast pork belly great lunch dunwich heath stable block family room dog friendly pub open fire pudding main building shingle beach
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just back from a great break at the Ship which was a special offer. The room was clean but would benefit from two bedside lamps.A light would also be beneficial above the hospitality tray. The wet room was lovely except for the shower head spraying everywhere!! Having said all this I have still said it is excellent.The food was of a very high quality with a lovely menu. My friend and I would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard460green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We went to The Ship on a special offer which stated a 'good' room which we took to be a better room than an ordinary room however this was a bit misleading as a 'good' room is a standard room. The room was fine although a bit small and the bathroom wasn't brilliantly appointed but it was all fgine for just 2 nights. Also on the first night we were there the dining room was not open and we had to eat in the bar which was very nice with a roaring log fire but now as specail as we had hoped as it was our wedding anniversary. However the following night we eat in the dining room which was actually a lovely conservatory which was really nice. Having said that the food made up for any shortcomings as it was really brilliant. the area is lovely - we did some splendid walks and really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Perhaps upgrade to a better room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in February 2014. The Ship has comfortable and cosy rooms, good food, and nice atmosphere. There is a picturesque log fire in the bar. There is also a pretty conservatory where breakfast can be served in fine weather.The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The Ship is situated close to the beach and Dunwich Heath, and a couple of miles from the pretty village of Westleton. Ideal for long walks, birdwatching, and as a centre for making day trips. You do need a car to visit, though. Colchester, Ipswich, Orford, Sutton Hoo and Flatford Mill are all within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a couple of days using the half price room offer. The Ship is a lovely, cosy place to stay. Our room was very clean and with sufficient facilities. Breakfast was lovely and dinner at the bar was great too. Loved the log fire and the staff were all very friendly and efficient.

It is ideally situated for lovely walks and a good, scenic walk to RSPB Minsmere (it took about 1.5 hours to the centre but only 45 minutes direct from the beach).

We had a very relaxing time here and would recommend it for walkers and bird watchers. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horseshooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Friendly, welcoming and a warm welcome as always at this utterly brilliant pub! This is the first time I've stayed though and I can genuinely say what an absolute bargain and joy! We had a fantastic time and made our way steadily through your ales in front of the fire. Just wished the stay was for longer!
I can't wait to be back in June. Matt you and the staff do a brilliant job! Thank you!!!

Cathryn

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn22078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews