We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay & fantastic scotch eggs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ship. We went on a special offer which represented excellent value for money , probably very hard to beat!
The food & staff were both great, my husband said they were the best scotch eggs he had ever tasted so they are highly recommended.
Unfortunately our first nights sleep was not perfect. We were in one of the annex rooms and there was a mechanical fan like noise going all night. Next morning we asked if this could be turned off, but there was a fault so they moved us to a room at the front with views of the marsh. The second nights sleep was peaceful. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The inn is very dog friendly which is great if you like dogs but be warned if you don't. We love dogs so it was fine for us.
The only complaint I have , is that I think it is time for some new pillows, in both rooms they were a bit flat.... This is easily sorted and no reason not to recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the inn not in the annex as these rooms are slightly overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac6dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just back from a great break at the Ship which was a special offer. The room was clean but would benefit from two bedside lamps.A light would also be beneficial above the hospitality tray. The wet room was lovely except for the shower head spraying everywhere!! Having said all this I have still said it is excellent.The food was of a very high quality with a lovely menu. My friend and I would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard460green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We went to The Ship on a special offer which stated a 'good' room which we took to be a better room than an ordinary room however this was a bit misleading as a 'good' room is a standard room. The room was fine although a bit small and the bathroom wasn't brilliantly appointed but it was all fgine for just 2 nights. Also on the first night we were there the dining room was not open and we had to eat in the bar which was very nice with a roaring log fire but now as specail as we had hoped as it was our wedding anniversary. However the following night we eat in the dining room which was actually a lovely conservatory which was really nice. Having said that the food made up for any shortcomings as it was really brilliant. the area is lovely - we did some splendid walks and really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Perhaps upgrade to a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in February 2014. The Ship has comfortable and cosy rooms, good food, and nice atmosphere. There is a picturesque log fire in the bar. There is also a pretty conservatory where breakfast can be served in fine weather.The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The Ship is situated close to the beach and Dunwich Heath, and a couple of miles from the pretty village of Westleton. Ideal for long walks, birdwatching, and as a centre for making day trips. You do need a car to visit, though. Colchester, Ipswich, Orford, Sutton Hoo and Flatford Mill are all within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a couple of days using the half price room offer. The Ship is a lovely, cosy place to stay. Our room was very clean and with sufficient facilities. Breakfast was lovely and dinner at the bar was great too. Loved the log fire and the staff were all very friendly and efficient.

It is ideally situated for lovely walks and a good, scenic walk to RSPB Minsmere (it took about 1.5 hours to the centre but only 45 minutes direct from the beach).

We had a very relaxing time here and would recommend it for walkers and bird watchers. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horseshooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Friendly, welcoming and a warm welcome as always at this utterly brilliant pub! This is the first time I've stayed though and I can genuinely say what an absolute bargain and joy! We had a fantastic time and made our way steadily through your ales in front of the fire. Just wished the stay was for longer!
I can't wait to be back in June. Matt you and the staff do a brilliant job! Thank you!!!

Cathryn

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn22078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booked a table at The Ship for lunch today. Although we live within 10 miles of this Pub and eat out on a very regular basis, we had not eaten here before and quite frankly will not be back. The standard of food was very poor. We have so many lovely eating places in this part of the world so no need for us to go back.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
819 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
679 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,507 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range: £97 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship at Dunwich 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing