We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Go Back Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had some friends staying, over from France and Cornwall and decided to go out for the day. It was quite a long journey and the day was really grey, misty and cold. After having taken our Husky for a walk on the beach we paid a visit to the Ship Inn. a most friendly welcome was received and seated in front of a log fire we all enjoyed a fantastic meal. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and obliging. Our visitors would like to come back again even if only to visit the Ship Inn. Well worth the trip just for the food and will definitely choose a better day next time when we pay a visit. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Marganntin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed here for 2 nights the rooms are good and so was the breakfast ! how ever ate in the restaurant on the 1st night and didn't go back the second night ! my wife had a very very poor fish pie consisting of salmon and 2 of the smallest shrimps known to man with no white fish at all and was very sloppy and as for the veg they were limp and flavourless !.i had slow roast belly of pork which was ok but have had better ! the staff were very good as they did actually say we didn't have to pay for the fish pie which was very fair, I wont be eating again but would definitely stay there as really liked the area and the pub itself

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We ate at the Ship with our son and two dogs and this was our third time of going - it was excellent again. The food was hot and tasted scrumptious, especially the sausages and pork belly, the ales were lovely and our son appreciated the wifi. Puddings were also delicious and the staff very efficient and friendly. Im not sure how anyone can criticise this pub - it is one of the best we've been to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a lovely time here and the staff were great, really good service. We stayed in Blackfriars at the top and it was a big room but not really suited to a tall person. We had a room next door for my son. The main room was £125 which I thought was well overpriced to what we would pay but it worked out ok as only paid £25 for my son's twin room with a bean bag that he loved to sit on. Our room had a nice comfy bed, with a nice view over the garden and tea and coffee making facilities and more sockets than I've ever seen in a room but none by the mirror so you could see while drying your hair! The room needed the odd painting or something as very plain. Big bath in the bathroom and The White Co. toiletries provided. The wi-fi didn't seem to work well if at all, so my son couldn't do his revision.
The beer was good and the food was excellent and resonably priced and a nice choice of wine and the breakfast was nice with proper bread for toast. The conservatory was a nice sun trap and there's a massive garden. We got sat for dinner in the back with all the dogs presumably because we had a child but would have preferred a dog free dinner! Dogs howling begging their owners for food is a bit off putting and the owners pretending they never feed them from the table! Didn't mind them in the bar. It's a short walk to the beach and the museum is a few doors down. The hotel provide lots of maps and recommend a walk to their sister pub which would be nice to do for lunch. All in all I would recommend as a lovely location and great walks all around and places to go etc.

Room Tip: Blackfriars has a big double room but lots of sloping ceilings so you have to duck a lot, big bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We woke up yesterday on the first day of our Easter break and decided to go away for the night with our 12 year our old daughter and 15 week old puppy and found this place by searching dog friendly accommodation in Suffolk and I am glad we did.
Having only ever been in 4 and 5 star hotels when we are away, and most certainly never anywhere that allows dogs to stay over we, were slightly nervous with pup in tow.
However were transported into dog heaven, friendly accommodaing staff, dog biscuits and bowls of water everywhere! In addition loads of like minded people with their own pets and stories.
The food and service were very good and the accommoadtion clean but quirky and it suited us for our new family lifestyle.......
Would I have been as pleased with my stay had we not had pup in tow....not sure....not because anything was wrong persae but probably because we would not have fitted in quite so well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in "Guildhall" which is meant to be in the 'Marsh View Best' category, the room and bed were tiny (my partners feet nearly stuck out the bottom) the marsh view was more of a garage view with marsh to the far side. The plug socket was held together with tape, we had an empty wine bottle in our bedside table and the shower had mould and didn't smell nice at all. The food was average the staff weren't attentive at all. I really wanted to love this place as the history behind it is amazing, however i struggle to find a reason to come back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here mid March… Left feeling that the whole experience was extremely over priced. We booked a best room and ended up with a family room which was tiny. There were no ‘little luxuries’ and the room was extremely basic. Neither of us slept at all due to a mattress which just collapsed when you lay on it and a metal bed that made chiming noises every time you moved.
In The Ship’s defence, the food was excellent and the bar had a wonderful atmosphere in the evening. Breakfast was good also.
The price is way over the top though for the standard of the accommodation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
819 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
680 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,507 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range: £97 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship at Dunwich 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing