We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub in tranquil setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great pub in tranquil setting”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst birding at Minsmere RSPB reserve just down the road. Lovely peaceful hamlet very close to the sea and glorious Dunwich Heath, superb for dog owners, walkers and birders. Very friendly greeting as were all conversations with staff. Lovely spacious bedroom with white decor and linen. Our friend had a smaller double room but also spoke highly of it, especially the cleanliness. Extremely comfy beds.
The food was excellent with a wide range of choices available at a range of prices from pub grub to confit of duck. We ate fish and chips, duck, wonderful sea bass with local asparagus and wild garlic, belly pork, ham egg and chips and fish pie all of which were thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfasts provided a wide range of choice and arrived quickly, the local bacon and sausages were excellent. The wine list was pricey but included some interesting possibilities, and the Adnams beers highly praised by everyone.
We were fortunate with the weather which improved each day providing opportunities to walk on the beach and visit Southwold in warm sunshine.
The birds were stunning we saw 78 species in 2 days including incredible views of bitterns flying, marsh harriers, hobby and our first ever sightings of 3 Dartford warblers on the heath!
We hope to return soon if we can ever get in again following BBC Springwatch starting soon.

Room Tip: Indoor rooms were described by other guests who had visited before as being superior, but they had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    237
    105
    39
    14
See reviews for
129
416
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tooting
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been coming to The Ship for many years and love the traditional front bar, large peaceful garden, selection of local ales and good food. Over the years it has been smartened up but thankfully not spoilt.
On this visit I was with family and we sampled the delicious homemade fish pie for dinner. In the past we have taken a lunchtime break from country walks for the generous ploughman's.
The staff are friendly and professional and the ales always in good condition.
A highly recommended pub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great pub in a beautiful area but the room in the outbuildings was rather gloomy with a very high window from which people sitting in the garden could see straight in! At £97.50 b + b it wasn't cheap either
Food was nice, I had mussels and the adnams beer was superb. Lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay in the pub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had some friends staying, over from France and Cornwall and decided to go out for the day. It was quite a long journey and the day was really grey, misty and cold. After having taken our Husky for a walk on the beach we paid a visit to the Ship Inn. a most friendly welcome was received and seated in front of a log fire we all enjoyed a fantastic meal. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and obliging. Our visitors would like to come back again even if only to visit the Ship Inn. Well worth the trip just for the food and will definitely choose a better day next time when we pay a visit. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marganntin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed here for 2 nights the rooms are good and so was the breakfast ! how ever ate in the restaurant on the 1st night and didn't go back the second night ! my wife had a very very poor fish pie consisting of salmon and 2 of the smallest shrimps known to man with no white fish at all and was very sloppy and as for the veg they were limp and flavourless !.i had slow roast belly of pork which was ok but have had better ! the staff were very good as they did actually say we didn't have to pay for the fish pie which was very fair, I wont be eating again but would definitely stay there as really liked the area and the pub itself

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We ate at the Ship with our son and two dogs and this was our third time of going - it was excellent again. The food was hot and tasted scrumptious, especially the sausages and pork belly, the ales were lovely and our son appreciated the wifi. Puddings were also delicious and the staff very efficient and friendly. Im not sure how anyone can criticise this pub - it is one of the best we've been to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a lovely time here and the staff were great, really good service. We stayed in Blackfriars at the top and it was a big room but not really suited to a tall person. We had a room next door for my son. The main room was £125 which I thought was well overpriced to what we would pay but it worked out ok as only paid £25 for my son's twin room with a bean bag that he loved to sit on. Our room had a nice comfy bed, with a nice view over the garden and tea and coffee making facilities and more sockets than I've ever seen in a room but none by the mirror so you could see while drying your hair! The room needed the odd painting or something as very plain. Big bath in the bathroom and The White Co. toiletries provided. The wi-fi didn't seem to work well if at all, so my son couldn't do his revision.
The beer was good and the food was excellent and resonably priced and a nice choice of wine and the breakfast was nice with proper bread for toast. The conservatory was a nice sun trap and there's a massive garden. We got sat for dinner in the back with all the dogs presumably because we had a child but would have preferred a dog free dinner! Dogs howling begging their owners for food is a bit off putting and the owners pretending they never feed them from the table! Didn't mind them in the bar. It's a short walk to the beach and the museum is a few doors down. The hotel provide lots of maps and recommend a walk to their sister pub which would be nice to do for lunch. All in all I would recommend as a lovely location and great walks all around and places to go etc.

Room Tip: Blackfriars has a big double room but lots of sloping ceilings so you have to duck a lot, big bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
773 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,003 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
651 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,451 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Property: The Ship at Dunwich
Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ship at Dunwich 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing