We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Splendid”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A delightful country hotel/pub with a fantastic atmosphere ideally situated in sleepy Dunwich. This is the second time I have stayed here and would thoroughly recommend if one is looking for excellent food ,well presented in simple style restaurant. Ideally situated close to spend time at Minsmere RSPB reserve. The bedroom I choose is in the courtyard, simply furnished with white cotton bed linen with The White Company toiletries.
Bring your Dogs and enjoy the beautiful Suffolk Coast and countryside.

Room Tip: I enjoy the courtyard rooms. Simple and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASSIONINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    234
    101
    37
    14
See reviews for
125
401
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

a very nice place to stay. we had a lovely marsh-facing room; lowing herds and birdsong filled the room at times while we nestled under the crisp white linen. Food was very good (so good in fact we shared three starters) but strangely the bar was totally empty by 9.30, leaving the place somewhat lacking in atmosphere. Staff invariably helpful. Nice breakfast but very weak coffee. Try the (3 mile) walk to walberswick but beware the route via the beach on shingle can tax the legs!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangalorelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights, last week, using it as a base for visiting the RSPB reserve at Minsmere. No 'reception' when we arrived, but the bar seems to double up with that role. The barman fetched our key, gave us a brief tour and took us to our room. Clean, comfortable and equipped with hairdryer, kettle etc but no fridge or safe. My guess is that those aren't really necessary in rural Suffolk. Good, fast wifi connection.
We had our evening meals in the bar & very good they were. And the English breakfast kept us going all day, with just the lightest of snacks midday.
All the staff were pleasant and friendly without being always 'inyourface'. The location was brilliant for visiting Minsmere. We also had a couple of evening walks around Dunwich.
Our only problem was that after dinner on the second evening we went back to our room and watched England being beaten by Uruguay in the World Cup. And we can't blame The Ship for that!
All in all, I can understand why the BBC used The Ship when they were filming Springwatch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Beach Cafe at Dunwich being full to the brim, our party of 22 were forced to descend on The Ship. SO glad we were! The dark bar looked temptingly cosy, but the free tables had dogs under them so presuming they were taken, we moved on to a lovely warm conservatory. Inside there were about half a dozen tables looking out over further tables in a little garden beyond. Good loos here with a big lawn behind. I thought the menu was extremely imaginative and reasonable. It was a great pity that we were going to have a large meal later in the day so were restricted to small helpings. The bread was particularly delicious. The waitress service was charming. Only moan is that The Ship is not near home so I can't eat there every day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Dunwich on a sunny summer's evening is amazing, not least as the wildlife is often more visible and the day-tourists are making their way home. Having an evening meal in the gardens of The Ship is always great, but how much better when you don't have to drive home afterwards, and instead crash out in a good room, overlooking the Walberswick marshes? The room was comfortable and fine, with a great shower, and decent towels. Breakfast is amazing, with a wide range of options and flexibility. Staff were friendly and approachable. Cost is not low, but perhaps inevitable given the location (and demand): we had to book a month ahead for a Friday night.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a view of the marshes. Note the building is pretty old and stairs quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here on Wednesday evening. My wife ordered haddock and chips and I ordered Blythburgh ham and chips. Both meals arrived and were thoroughly enjoyed. I had the sticky toffee pudding. This was lovely. Not heavy, and the custard was lovely. We left full and contented.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grubgobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place I suppose? Just ok really, place had a strange smell that I could not put my finger on, a mix between musty and stale beer? Typical seaside pub/hotel with a typical seaside menu, like I said just ok!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichealH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Property: The Ship at Dunwich
Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ship at Dunwich 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing