We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff House Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Having just returned from this site we would like to comment on the restaurant.we too were there Thursday evening and had to wait an hour and twenty minutes for any food at all.But the staff could not be more apologetic.I think the amount of customers and unusual lack of staff just compounded the problem,But having said that,we ate other times over the restaurant with no problems and cannot fault the food or service.The chips are the best we have ever been served in 25 years of going there annually.The linguine was delicious and full of flavour.The goats cheese starter was fresh and well presented.The Cliff House burger was served nice and hot and full of ingredients.Best of all is their superb value carvery each Sunday.only £8.95 per person.All freshly cooked roast meats,delicious roast and rosemary potatoes,homemade yorkshire puddings.Plenty of vegetable choices and all the trimmings.As well as having good catering staff,they must also source good ingredients.
It is a shame to write off an excellent campsite,just because of a couple of nights of restaurant issues.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cambridgegal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review. You will see form my previous responses that I agree with your points and feel free to introduce yourselves to me in the future and I will treat you to a beer! We look froward to welcoming you here to Cliff House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent easter weekend at the site. The site itself was clean, as were the toilet and shower blocks. The restaurant / bar area is clean and airy and the bar was well stocked. Unfortunately, the food and customer service really was appalling. We booked at table on Thurs eve for 7.15pm and when we arrived, were told the chef was too stressed to accept any orders in the kitchen. We waited at the bar for nearly an hour before (after writing out our own chitty) being shown to the table. We had ordered starters and just before they were served, were told one of our main course salads could not be made as they had run out of lettuce??!! We had to ask 3 times for water to be served and the chicken dishes we ordered were bland and boring. We complained and apologies reigned but we were told they were short staffed and the waiting staff knew it was bad)!!). We are a party of 6 and 3 of us wanted a quick meal on Sunday evening. We went to the bar to order and were told we were pushing it a bit as the kitchen closed at 8pm (time was 7.50pm!). We ordered Pizza and chips - were told they had no pizza. Ordered Sausage and chips and Scampi and chips - were told they had no scampi - so we left. We tried to speak with the General Manager and were told he was on a night off (in the bar with his family) so we respected his privacy and the bar managed said he would listen to what our problems were. He was young, unprofessional, complained it wasnt his staff's fault as people had let him down and generally shifted the issues. We would NOT use this campsite again. Would be interested to see whether the GM reads this !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Good Day all readers! As you read back through all my responses you will see me as giving very fair responses to praise and critic equally in some cases offering free weekends and meals to those i felt had a very good case to complain. Sometimes however my patience can run a little thin and those that know me will be saying... yep I know what is coming next.
The customers in question did have cause to complain on Thursday my team were expecting to feed 45 covers on that evening and instead fed 80, our restaurant goes from zero to hero in one weekend with Easter being one of our big tests for the forthcoming season, our kitchens cannot produce 80 meals in an hour and there should been a better control on tables. On the Friday the Bar restaurant was completely different with systems being revamped so the rest of the weekend went fantastically, we did over 1200 meals over the weekend (normally we do around 200). The customers were apologised to but for some people a simple apology isn't enough and we find irritable 'know it alls' who 'have watched too much masterchef' rude and are unwelcome here to our bar, On the Sunday evening there were notices and instructions informing all that we after our lovely carvery service that fed 200 happy customers we were offering a basket meal service until 8pm. The customers that wrote this came in at 7.50pm and were unhappy that we had run our of mini pizzas! OMG! They complained to our young manager and were even rude enough to 'get in his face' he informed me of this and being in the bar I said to him if this happens again I would remove the person from our bar, we do not and will not accept acts of intimidation or unreasonable behaviour on a weekend that went brilliantly apart from this person.
Then look at the whole situation this customer has come to our park with fantastically clean toilets refurbished and a new block with a 5 star EATB rating on a lovely part of the heritage coast with loads to do locally, with access to the beach and woodlands walks but have the audacity to completely slate our park over one small part of their weekend. Please don't bother to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

just returned from easter family break ,to be honest website does not do it justice,we stayed in 2 lodges that were joined together which was great for a big family break.the lodges were very bright and clean and could not find any fault at all,we were right next to the steps down to beach which the grandchildren loved,we booked into the restaurant on the Friday evening just in case ,but although it was busy I think we would have been ok,lovely play area outside which was nice while waiting for meals.food was lovely and cooked well,on the sunday night after a day out we were able to get a takeaway from restaurant so we could chill out,back to lodge loved the personal touches ie basket of tea,coffee,milk,washing up liquid even loo rolls,didnt want to come home as very comfortable and relaxing break,dont need to change anything on site as its nice to go somewhere where you don't get disco music booming out until early hours ,lovely park will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your great review, it is much appreciated and our team really do feel proud to read this. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a caravan here, lovely site. Have got to say the restaurant was fantastic, food was top quality. Very reasonable prices. All the site needs is a swimming pool. Will be returning in the summer . Lovely play area for children, nice atmosphere in bar .

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Claireglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your review it is really appreciated. I reply to each review personally and we really do try our best to provide a great holiday experience, although it is is impossible to get it right 100% of the time 99.9% is pretty good! We look forward to seeing you here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Kids really enjoyed the beach, the woods and the freedom. It is a safe park, not too big, we could let the kids go free. Very clean and the shower block has underfloor heating! Fabulous! I would recommend this place for families and friends. The pitches are all generous sizes and the layout of the camp is easy to learn. We had a great time and will go back in the Summer.

Room Tip: We had our tent and pitches 195-200 were all lovely, just next to a small green area and 50 meters f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annamaria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your fab review it means a lot to myself and our team to see good comments here on tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from our first ever caravanning weekend, and this site was perfect. Toilets and showers were very clean. Staff were welcoming. The shop was basic but had everything you needed and the bar/restaurant served good reasonably priced food. Right on the beach, which was a mix of pebbles and sand, and was deserted so we had it all to ourselves. A short drive away was southwold where we spent a lovely day. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Park we are always interested to see the comments made by our customers and reviews like your one really makes me proud of our excellent team who keep Cliff House in a fab condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our first time at Cliff House and we will certainly return. Lovely spacious site with clean and warm showers, a good restaurant and small shop. Very friendly staff and service in the restaurant was fast considering they were catering for a wedding party at the same time. Lots of pleasant walks in the area and interesting history to explore. A short walk through the woods and past the ruined monastery brings one out into Dunwich village which has a small museum and The Ship pub. Thoroughly recommend Cliff House as a base for exploring the beautiful stretch of Suffolk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jono B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve15here, Director of Sales at Cliff House Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Many thanks for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cliff House Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Holiday Park

Address: Cliff House Minsmere Road, Dunwich IP17 3DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dunwich
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff House Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 30 acre Award Winning 5 Star Rated Holiday Park situated on the Suffolk Heritage Coastline at Dunwich. We are between the Traditional seaside towns of Southwold and Aldeburgh.Cliff House Holiday Park has Camping plots, Touring plots, Self catering and we own and sell holiday static caravans and wooden lodges (We always have a good selection for sale). We have a fabulous bar and restaurant named The 12 Lost Churches (check out the tripadvisor ratings). We have our own beach access and are surrounded by 1000's of acres of National Trust Land great for walking/ birdwatching etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff House Holiday Park Dunwich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing