We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but extremely pricey. Hubby liked the beer!”
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Dunwich
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Herts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty but extremely pricey. Hubby liked the beer!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited after a long cycle ride looking for a very light refreshment and a drink. The pub was welcoming and the staff behind the bar were friendly. It was busy as the sun was shining but there were plenty of places to sit both inside and outside. My husband chose the cheese fondue which he said was very nice if a little on the small side, I chose the scotch egg which came with homemade piccalilli and a chicory and hazelnut salad. At least, it was supposed to. The scotch egg was delicious and there was a very small serving of piccalilli which was very tasty. There was one piece of chicory, a couple of bits of a rocket type salad and not a hazelnut in sight. It looked very bare for £6.50. It was a bit like fish without the chips! Such a shame as it really was very nice, just needed something a little more to accompany it. When the girl came to clear up and asked us how we had enjoyed our meal, I asked about the missing hazelnuts and she couldn't have looked less interested. I don't know if it was an oversight but there was no apology and no explanation. Call me Mrs Grump if you like, but if it had contained what it said on the menu, it might just have been perfect!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, General Manager at Ship Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good afternoon

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your lunch time experience and for mentioning the many positive aspects of your time with us. Your review leaves me feeling a little confused as we have never served our homemade scotch egg with a chicory and hazelnut salad? it has always come with dressed leaves and our own piccalilli. Our twice baked cheese soufflé has the chicory and hazelnut salad although we often add chicory to our dressed leaves as we think its a great accompaniment to the other salads we like to use.

Our Scotch egg is homemade and cooked fresh to order using the best free range Blythburgh pork mince, black budding and a soft free range egg, the piccalilli we serve alongside it is also homemade using local produce when we can depending on the season. Its popular as a starter or light lunch and at £6.25 we don't think it extremely pricey but we will let others come to their own conclusion.

All we want is to make great traditional pub food as well as we can and make our customers as happy as we can every time they come here. If we fail we say sorry, so please accept our apologies if you didn't feel that your experience was perfect and we truly hope you give us another try if your in the area.

Many thanks

Matt Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    127
    59
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights The inn has a great history with a friendly bar and large dining room. The food and service were excellent The room was comfortable although the double bed and duvet could have been a bit bigger Great place to stay regardless of the weather!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcester uk
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“lovely country pub”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Walked here from Southwold on bank holiday Sunday. was only going to have a few pints of cider. but the food looked excellent . it was very busy but servive was prompt & staff polite. we opted for the cheese platter & scotch egg to share. it was slightly pricey but it tasted good & seemed quality ingredients so we didnt mind. we sat out in the garden in the sun. had a lovely hour there & will return when back down the east coast :-)

Helpful?
Thank jamesharris8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quaint English Tradition”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Went to Suffolk for a weeks holiday and stopped off at The Ship Inn in Dunwich for lunch one day and an evening mea the next. The restaurant/pub is very quaint tucked away off the beaten track close to the beach with a lot of little crooks and crannies inside, this pub is so sweet! Food was delicious and the staff were lovely. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Is0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A welcome pit stop on our walk from Southwold”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Always a friendly welcome, with a good selection of beers. The beer garden out the back is perfect for four-legged friends to stretch their legs and if the weather is bad the doggies are welcome inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank smotty1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing