We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Dunwich
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Food fantastic, my dad from France loved his steak. My chicken was moist and thank you for swapping salad for veg and really impressed with the samphire.
My chocolate torte with rasberry sorbet was lush.
Have been previously for sunday lunch which was just as great. In fact the best Sunday lunch I've eaten out for a long time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ninavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    125
    57
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mast-erful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fab lunch at The Ship and delighted to see how well they cater for vegetarians. All three courses, cheese and ale fondue, beetroot and goats cheese tart, sticky toffee pudding and summer berries pavlova were excellent.
It's a quaint old pub, a little bit tired inside but beautiful gardens and location.
If you have a dog this is the place to go, felt a bit left out without one!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
191 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Shocked”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I will say no more except £30 for frozen cod and chips, ok ham egg and chips but £3.30 for a pint of lemonade, cheaper better quality places around!!! Save your money

Helpful?
2 Thank chefbynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped off at this pub for dinner with friends en route to Oulton Broads. A friend knew the area and recommended the pub; I'm glad she did. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the menu was not too extensive and the food delicious. There were 3 choices of fish for the fish & chips dinner, I had the haddock and it's probably the best fish & chips I've had in a very long time. A great little place and one that's definitely worth going off the beaten track for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayakgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good friendly service but poor value in small portions.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

On 11th June I lunched at The Ship Inn with my wife and a friend. I ordered white bait, the same dish that I'd enjoyed the previous day at The Peacock Inn, Chelsworth. Unfortunately, although the prices and taste were about the same in both places, the portions at The Ship were almost half the portions at The Peacock and the token bit of salad was miniscule. In addition, the dish was accompanied by one slice of bread and no butter, compared with two good-sized slices and plenty of butter at the Peacock. Next time I'll wait and have lunch at a non-touristy pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallacootaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing