We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & stunning retreat - fabulous in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Earsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Earsham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful & stunning retreat - fabulous in every way!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is THE best place I have ever stayed - I have travelled a lot and I don't say that lightly. I was looking to 'get away from it all' for a couple of days and our stay here was more than I could ever have expected. We stayed in Larch, the room is stunningly decorated and with such detail and quality. There is a balcony looking out over the garden and into a beautiful meadow. Ducks and chickens wander about ... it was just what I needed, so peaceful. Cherrie is absolutely adorable, greeting us with a wonderful smile and tea and (amazing!) cake. The breakfast was out of this world - all ingredients local and of such high quality - and what a choice! We didn't want to leave. There is no doubt - we will be back!

Room Tip: Larch is cosy and has a wonderful balcony overlooking meadow and fabulous bath in the room. Willow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex, united kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This place is truly amazing, everything is over and above what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. In fact, I would rather stay here than anywhere else in the country and before leaving, we booked another stay for next year. We would have booked again for out 'mini moon' this year, but unfortunately, the date we were looking for was unavailable.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Larch', which has it's own balcony looking onto the garden. However, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

A wedding in Earsham drew us to the area. Due to a cancellation we were lucky to get a room at the Plantation Farmhouse. We stayed in Larch, stunning. The hosts are amazing, nothing too much trouble. We cannot fault this b&b and if there's availability we'll certainly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNottingham_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakenheath, suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Where do I start, the very best of the best. This place is simply wonderful, the effort from both Cherrie and Paul to create a calm and relaxing stay and to go to unending lengths to make the stay unforgettable. The stay exceeds expectations from the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, to the fabulous breakfast served by Cherrie. Locally sourced food and drinks and wonderful afternoon tea and cake on arrival.

This was our second visit here and it was like seeing old friends, they both make you feel at home in their home. It's not often you meet two people who are genuine and care so much about your needs over theirs but this duo do.

A hidden gem it certainly is and we can't wait to return, well done|

Room Tip: Willow room is our little heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at this stunning B&B and could not have asked for a more relaxing break, what a great introduction to East Anglia! Cherrie was a wonderful host and more than accommoating, offering lots of advice on things to do and insisting on phoning ahead to the local restaurants to see what they could offer a pregnant vegetarian who doesn't eat goats cheese! We arrived to the most delcious afternoon tea, and were blown away the next morning by the extensive breakfast options - we did not eat again until teatime! The rooms are beautifully decorated and we enjoyed strolling around the property watching the ducklings and chickens. We will definitely be returning, hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the balcony - perfect for a sunny day! It was very cosy and beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Plantation Farmhouse may just be the best B&B in Britain. We stayed for two nights very recently, to try to take my mind off my 50th birthday. From the moment she answered the door, Cherrie spared no effort to make us feel very welcome indeed. She showed us our room, then took us down to the beautiful guest sitting room for fresh coffee and home-baked carrot cake. Throughout our stay, she continued to be friendly, attentive and welcoming, and to be the perfect hostess in every way.
We stayed in Larch, the smaller of the two rooms and definitely the cosiest. Willow, which we saw briefly, is magnificent, with an anteroom, a large bathroom and a beautiful bedroom with a dramatic high ceiling. But Larch is quirky and fun, very warm and intimate, with a low Tudor ceiling and stunning views across the gardens and fields. It also has a new wooden terrace, with a table and chairs and two wooden sun loungers, for which reindeer hides are provided rather than cushions. Sadly, it was too cold to lounge, although we stayed out as long as we could, with the assistance of a Laura Ashley blanket, for the sheer joy of it. When we return, as we surely will, we will book Larch again.
On Saturday morning we started the day with breakfast, and such a breakfast (or, more accurately, breakfasts). We began with cereals, yogurts and fresh fruit. Then came toast and croissants, accompanied by Cherrie's most excellent homemade jams. Finally, we were served a cooked breakfast - sausages, bacon, tomatoes, eggs and the option of kippers or Alaskan smoked salmon. After breakfast, we sat in front of the log fire and read the papers. The perfect Sunday morning (although it was actually Saturday) and we didn't eat again until dinner!
On Sunday, we did it all again. It seemed incredible that we had first sat at that table just 24 hours previously - we were so relaxed and comfortable that we felt we had been there for at least a week. Cherrie surprised us with a glass of Prosecco, in honour of my birthday (plus a chorus of Happy Birthday!) - the perfect start to the day.
Provenance is very important at Plantation Farmhouse. The food is mostly local and organic (and the blackberries were foraged from the local hedgerows). The sausages and bacon comes from nearby Blythburgh, and is free range and outdoor reared. The bacon is hand-smoked locally. The kipper was also local, smoked over Suffolk oak, and quite the best I've ever tasted. The furnishings are chosen with equal care, many being salvaged and found items, carefully restored to provide a unique, quirky, harmonious and very comfortable environment.
There's nothing to fault, and the urge to eulogise is irresistible. This is as close to perfection as it gets. I recommend this place without hesitation. Go there, and then go back a second time! I know we will.

Room Tip: Larch is small, intimate and very romantic. Willow is larger and has a large separate bathroom. Larc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellAndSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After all of the spectacular reviews that I had read on here for Plantation Farmhouse, I had set my expectations exceptionally high - I was not disappointed. My only reservation is having to add my own glowing review of my stay as this hidden gem is sure to be unearthed soon and booking again could become nigh on impossible! It is, however, the least that Cherrie and Paul deserve.

Nestled in England's glorious countryside, The Plantation Farmhouse provided a wonderful retreat for a romantic weekend away. Before we had even stepped foot in the building, Cherrie had already been a wonderful source of knowledge for things to do, places to eat and even helped to book taxis and make other arrangements for me.

Upon entering the property, a friendly welcome was followed by a home-blended tea and home-made carrot cake in front of a roaring fire. As the winds howled outside and the rains came pouring down, we enjoyed everything that this lovingly restored Tudor farmhouse had to offer.

After the steep ascent up the original Tudor staircase, we were taken to our room, Willow. This is the larger of the two rooms in every aspect and is recommended for those over 5ft8 I would say. The bedroom is found off an ante-room/reading room (with lovely views) and the ceiling heights are something to behold. The attention to detail is stunning and what awaits is a masterclass in shabby chic. The bed itself is extremely comfortable and nothing has been overlooked - from the little treats with the tea to the in-built speakers in every room. The bathroom is magnificent. There is a roll-top Victorian freestanding bath for those who like to wallow and a massive walk-in shower for those who prefer it. Every luxury is provided and the attention to detail in the fixtures and fittings is jaw dropping.

Larch, the other room, has much lower ceiling heights and the bath is in the bedroom (behind the bedstead). It has a really cosy feel to it though and would be perfect for nights when the elements are lashing the building and you want to just snuggle up. There is also a wonderful balcony attached to Larch (with a little table and a couple of sun loungers) which, unsurprisingly, has been designed to take full advantage of the glorious sunsets that this part of the world has to offer.

After a fantastic night's sleep, be prepared for a feast! Cherrie is a first-rate chef and her cooked breakfasts are a delight for the tastebuds. A lot of effort has been expended on sourcing locally grown produce and the eggs (from the hens on the property) are to die for. For those who prefer a more continental breakfast, you will not be disappointed. Cherrie makes her own jams and preserves and there is plenty of fresh fruit, tasty bread, cereals and freshly squeezed fruit juices as well as freshly ground coffee and a range of teas.

If you're feeling like you should work off some of your breakfast, there are even a couple of bikes that guests can use to meander through the nearby country lanes. Failing that, you can always walk the few steps to the pond to watch the ducks and moorhens effortlessly glide through the water.

The worst thing about this place is having to leave. That, and the knowledge that any other b & b that you stay at from now on will be a huge disappointment in comparison.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: Earsham NR35 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Earsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Earsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the border of two of England's most tranquil and unspoilt counties, and lying between the historic city of Norwich and the charming coastal town of Southwold, Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast combines the luxury and style of a boutique hotel with the intimacy character and charm of a farmhouse bed and breakfast.The two bedrooms have been designed using a stunning combination of antique and contemporary furniture, and designer and vintage fabrics. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed And Breakfast Earsham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing