We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Felixstowe B&B and Inns
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed here for one night during a motoring holiday around East Anglia. Although travelling alone, I was given a huge family room with a choice of three double or single beds, which was immaculately clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The hotel is in a quiet street in a genteel part of town, but close to restaurants and the seafront. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and willingly served at an earlier time than specified in the hotel notes, as I had requested on arrival. The room-rate was extremely reasonable. I would unreservedly recommend Castle Lodge; I have no complaints whatsoever about the friendly and efficient service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bucksbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlelodge503747, Owner at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
June 21st

Many thanks for the feedback. This is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
15
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here with our 2 children and had a family room. It was very spacious, immaculately clean (and cleaners came in both days to make the beds and clean up) and comfortable. It was the perfect location - only a 5 minute walk to either the beach or the town. Parking wasn't a problem as there was on road parking as well as the car park.

Breakfast was lovely - excellent choice of cereals, fruit and cooked breakfast including a vegetarian cooked breakfast and gluten free options.

Margaret our host was lovely. Very helpful and accommodating.

Very good value for money and would recommend it highly to anyone staying in the area and would definitely return when next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I've stayed at Castle Lodge quite a few times now, either with my family or by myself. Have found the rooms to be clean, tidy and generally well kept. Usually only ever had breakfast, which has always touched the spot...full English, always goes down well, fruit juices, coffee and cereals available too. Margaret has always made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuranoBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Family room was spotless would stay there again and was nice and peaceful to. It was good value for money not stayed in a Bed and Breakfast for years always a hotel but this is just as good.

There was plenty of room for the 4 of us and the kids loved having 2 single beds as normally have to share a bed. Only a short walk to the beach and the pub at the end of the road was very nice to. Anyone entering a tennis tournament the club is only 5 mins walk away and we look forward to staying there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Aussies travelling found this hotel at last minute. We needed a place that had a separate shower for reduced mobility & no steps. We got the only ground floor bedroom with a separate shower but had to make do with twin beds. Clean & comfortable. We were able to have a beautiful home cooked baked dinner that night & a very satisfying breakfast next morning. The owners were very friendly & helpful. Guests are invited to mix & meet other guests after dinner in the lounge which we hadn't experienced at bigger places, even met other Aussies.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canberra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Clean, friendly, small hotel / guest house.
Good breakfast, reasonably price, comfortable bed and in a quiet residential road. Walking distance of beach, town and wide choice of places to eat.
Recommended to friends who visit the area.

Room Tip: The sea can be seen from some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

It had very nice views and lovely breakfast. Alex aged 12
We loved the rooms, comfy beds and nice drinks. The garden was pretty and we also liked the cat and watched it chasing the pigeons. There was also a lovely lounge and we liked playing on the piano. Erin aged 8 nearly 9.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel with our grandchildren. We were warmly welcomed by Margaret. The room was spacious and everywhere was very clean. Breakfast was excellent.
We will definitely return. Barbara & John

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.4 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Felixstowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
15.0 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Property: Castle Lodge Hotel
Address: Chevalier Road, Felixstowe IP11 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing