We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Landguard Fort

Landguard Fort
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Felixstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this place recently and we absolutely loved it. My boys aged 2 and 6 where in there element exploring all the maze like tunnels and rooms. My husband and I found it very interesting. Overall a fantastic and interesting place to visit :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    117
    15
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth visiting”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Me and my nephew travelled from Chelmsford to Great Yarmouth in my motorhome for a few days, stopping off at various towns to view the sites and attractions etc along the way. Yesterday we came across this fort, and for a very reasonable fee (just over a fiver for both of us) we spent just under 2 hours walking round inside looking at all the different rooms and tunnels etc. You each get what I'd describe as a large 80's mobile phone to listen to which tells you all about each room and tunnel etc as you enter them. Well worth a visit. There is also a museum beside the fort for a £2.00 per adult entry fee.
To the right of the fort and museum there is a viewing spot / carpark, where you can watch up close, the boats and large ships come and go to / from the docks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great attraction”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enjoyed our visit to the fort, very well preserved and great attraction, especially on event days. Also try the museum next to it, very interesting exhibits.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“military history”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

what a big improvement from the last time I went. all the fort is open now and you have handsets that give you a guided tour around the fort very interesting facts from when it was first built right up to the present day well worth a visit and not to expensive to get in. when you have visited the fort we went to the dock café for food nice food at good prices

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A very interesting few hours for kids and adults alike.Was very impressed with the fort.Would highly recommend a vist.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landguard Fort also viewed

 

Been to Landguard Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing