We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff , and yummy breakfast. Lovely sea view from our room. Excellent price for the weekend and would recommend it to everyone. I needed extra pillows and it was no problem for the lady on reception. Room cleaned daily with fresh towels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    30
    21
    36
See reviews for
22
36
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, very good food but terrible room. Twin room on top floor with sea view was in desperate need of updating. Smell of sewage on stairway approach to room. Radiators not working, although an electric fan heater was provided. Single glazed sash windows shook with the wind howling through them all night long. TV did not work. No kettle in the room initially , was provided after two requests.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Spent a very pleasant weekend in Felixstowe out of season staying at The Marlborough Hotel which is situated right opposite beach with sea views. After a warm greeting we found our room to be clean and warm which was our main requirements and although it would appear outdated there was a charm to it that modern fittings dont give. The Restaurant menu was traditional English fare and good value for money. Breakfast was exceptional quality and variety with friendly service and would put many 4star Hotels to shame. To summarise if you want excellent value with old fashoion service in a good location then overlook some of the minor issues and enjoy your stay as we did.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanmartin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Christmas in Felixstowe. This was a chance to get away and spend time on our own over Christmas. Arranged by Leisurebreaks from Bridgend we were collected by Cresta Coaches from Magor services for the five hour trip West to East across England. It was a torrential downpour from Magor to Felixstowe, and despite an extended stay at Chippenham's Leigh Delaware Services to wait for two more travellers we made good time on the rest of the journey.

Our arrival at Felixstowe and subsequent movement to our rooms was well managed by the hotel staff with clear instruction and excellent support. This was seen throughout our stay and no problem was too much effort for them. The five-day, four-night stay included an excursion to Ipswich, with its Christmas market, intense rain and copious coffee.

Situated right on the seafront at Felixstowe, the front of the 47 bedroom hotel overlooks seaside gardens, and sandy beach and the North Sea. Felixstowe seafront is very flat so offers no limitations to how far you can walk. Being Christmas most places were closed and the small town centre is within an easy ten minutes walk. Those so inclined were able to attend church another ten minute walk away. For the more intrepid the docks are on the far side of the two and the ferry across the River Deben to Bawdsey can probably be reached striding out. Between the Marlborough and the ferry is a golf course with the Ferry Boat Inn at the East Felixstowe marina from where the ferry sails. Upon enquiry I was told that the Ferry Boat in has a pretty good menu that others will readily recommend, although other called it good but pricey.


No one could say we did not eat well. There was plenty of food available at each meal and I cannot remember a single complaint. One of our number was gluten intolerant but this was never a problem for the excellent staff. Christ6mas was one long meal, with enough time between meals to walk off the excess.

Our time away was the perfect Christmas break we needed to unwind and I would recommend others to try and Tinsel and Turkey weekend of their own.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view. We did not have one but the view from the front of the hotel is brillian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went to this hotel with Leisuretime coaches Cardiff. Warm welcome from the staff on arrival tea or coffee given on check in. Staff very helpfull food was of good quality three choices per day on menu. front rooms are best for view over the sea. This hotel wants a makeover but was warm and clean. Given the price paid for the trip no grumbles. Some nights there is entertainment also two pubs a short walk away. A short walk say 20mins to the main shopping street in Felixstowe.If you fancy a day out in Ipswich take a walk around the corner to the Lidil store bustop. Ipswich bus 77 departs 10 to the hour fare rtn £5.60

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I chanced in here one evening when on a whim I wanted to stay somewhere next to the sea, and decided I would investigate Felixstowe. This ticked the box for being next to the sea an for one night I wasnt going to be picky. I wanted a light meal and although ham salad wasnt on the bar menu, they happily produced one for me with a generous helping of the most delicious home cooked ham on it at the amazing price of £3.95 - bargain!!!

The hotel is very much like a traditional seaside hotel of 30 or so yrs ago, and as such had a relaxed old fashioned charm about it, however, the decor was very tired. Whilst it would be a shame to completely refurb and loose its charm to todays bland modernity, it does need some attention. My room was fine, although when the window was open you could hear the extractor system from what I guess was the kitchen area, so on a hot night you might not want to open the window because of the noise. The wifi connection was useless, which would have been a problem if I were there on business. Bearing in mind the need of a spruce up and the bad wifi, I felt the price was slightly on the high side, which is why I rate the hotel as average, but the service and friendliness was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzieQuartly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We travelled to Felixtowe with Leisuretime (Cardiff) and stayed at the Marlborough Hotel. There was a warm welcome, The food was good throughout our stay and the staff polite and efficient.
A couple of days into our visit there was a problem with the door to our room, we were given another, bigger room, with an excellent sea view.

Based on the cost of our Coach trip, this was very good value for money. The Hotel has seen better days, but as previously mentioned the Management/staff were good. There was plenty of room inside and outside the hotel. A fair size bar area, entertainment available some evenings.

Close to the sea and Promenade with a good selection of "things to see, places to go" available in the Marlbrough foyer. There is also a good selection of places to eat and drink on the front together with a good Leisure Centre.

Finally impressed enough to think about returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: request a sea view - corner suite is bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.9 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Felixstowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
10.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
17.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Property: Marlborough Hotel
Address: Sea Road, Felixstowe IP11 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing