We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay”
Review of The Fludyers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fludyers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Recently stayed for two nights here and everything was excellent. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The food was very good. The room was well appointed with a balcony and great sea views. Will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay and lovely evening meal here. Know the town well as was brought up there, browse in shops and bracing walks along the seafront. Had one of the rooms at front with balcony, lovely sea views and sounds. Well done to those who had the vision to invest here and give the town such a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Discovered this gem of a restaurant today and what a discovery! Went in for lunch after a walk along the seafront, staff extremely friendly and welcoming. I had crispy pork for starter, was absolutely delicious, the roast beef lunch was incredible, the beef lovely and thick, cooked to perfection and a yorkshire pudding crowning the glory. The roast pots were as good as home cooked ones, normally you never get a Sunday lunch as good as home cooked, Fludyer Arms have accomplished this. Shoulder of lamb with lentils was perfection. Sadly we couldn't fit in a pudding but looking at them they all looked amazing. Service was excellent, great to have Sunday papers in abundance and now just to decide when to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a lovely three course meal, I can highly recommend the sea bass. The food selection is very good and should be suitable for all dietary needs. the staff were friendly and the venue was clean and well kept.The food was very flavoursome and the views of the sea were lovely. A fantastic evening enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hetty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have been having short holidays in Felixstowe for many years this year instead of staying at our usual hotel we chose Fludyers as we have known the old Fludyers for many years. The hotel is the best in Felixstowe the rooms are wonderful with fantastic sea views and furnished balconies. The public area has been restored very well. The staff go that extra mile to make sure you are treated as you would expect in a hotel of this quality. The hotel has the best outside terrace that you could wish for with top quality furnishings. We would recommend Fludyers as the hotel in Felixstowe and we hope to return.

Patrick Bedordshire

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have fantastic sea views and are furnished with quality furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have watched the progress with anticipation. We love the other venues in the group, & the Fludyers has not failed to deliver. Family visiting from Glasgow stayed in the hotel, which they loved. We all net up & ate in the restaurant which was very enjoyable. There is a wonderful atmosphere, the food was delicious & the staff were attentive. We will be back.

Room Tip: 1st floor has balconies. Top floor. Quieter, good views. All sumptuous & luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lola52Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A seafront hotel slightly away from the tackier part of Felixstowe, The Fludyers is three things rolled onto one establishment - it's a hotel, a bar and a restaurant; we tried all three and were impressed.
The hotel reception is at one end of the bar, it's where the hotel bell is, so not a dedicated area which could possibly cause problems at busy times...
Room 10 - Really nicely decorated, large with a comfortable bed and a sea view. A small balcony with chairs means you can take the sea air too. There are tea and coffee making facilities, a huge TV which may have been other things too of you press the right buttons, a wardrobe with a light that came on when the doors opened (I've been telling people for years that the fridge thing would catch on), air-con, free wi-fi, a desk, small table and quite comfy chairs. The bathroom was a joy with a large monsoon and directional shower. It was an excellent hotel room.
Bar / pub - Serves Adnams and Wherry, with an outside area (very popular on summer days) and does bar snacks and food.
Restaurant - Serves good, tasty food at about the two AA rossette standard (just to give you an idea). We found the food very reasonably priced. An interesting choice of wines.
Service was friendly and professional throughout.
Their pricing is at the correct level for what is on offer.
We would happily return.

Room Tip: Check out their website, it's very informative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.6 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
10.7 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
16.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,054 reviews
16.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fludyers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fludyers Hotel

Address: Undercliff Road East, Felixstowe IP11 7LU, England (Formerly The Fludyer Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fludyers Hotel is a vibrant , restaurant and hotel located in a beautifully restored Edwardian building on the Suffolk coastline, just yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fludyers Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing