We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel overlooking the beach”
Review of The Fludyers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fludyers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Henley-on-Thames
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely boutique hotel overlooking the beach”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have known The Fludyer Arms for over 60 years and until recently it has had the appearance of a tired hostelry which, despite its great location across from the beach was unattractive. The new owners had a vision and their architects and interior designers have worked wonders to transform it from ugly duckling to elegant swan. We occupied a mews room across the drive from the main hotel which has been adapted as a disabled suite. Although neither of us are disabled it was the only room available and we were not disappointed and the wet room was amazing. The rooms are well furnished with comfortable beds decent pillows and duvets. Flat screen TV and free WiFi together with kettle tea making facilities make for a delightful stay. Breakfast is served in the bar and cooked to order. Juices, fruit salad smoked salmon and full English are offered and £100 per room including breakfast is incredible value for money. In summer the outside covered terrace overlooking the beach would be delightful and as it is on the east coast a nice touch is the patio heaters. A brisk walk along the promenade into town is a must. The staff could not be faulted, we got back a bit late in the evening, the barman had just cleaned the coffee machine ready to close but willingly served us coffee without any fuss. The same can be said for all the other staff and it was a pleasure to be served by them.

Room Tip: The suites across the drive are very convenient for the adjacent small car park otherwise those in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montague T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    44
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
54
106
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Friends of ours have just uprated their caravan in Felixstowe and treated us to two nights (22nd & 23rd November) in room 8 at the Fludyer. The best hotel we have stayed in, in the UK - friendly staff, fantasic room, excellant bar and great breakfast. Did not eat in the evenings as our friends had other plans for us however did enjoy excellant snack at lunchtime and will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 8 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel/restaurant has a lovely peaceful spot on the seafront away from the pier.
It has been decorated in a modern style with a quirky twist. I was able to get a free upgrade and a discount t on the room price by calling direct and booking on the same day we were going to stay. Our room was lovely with little touches such as blankets by the chairs so you can open the balcony doors and snuggle up whilst watching the sea. There was water, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. The bed and bedding were super comfy.
The bathroom had a big walk in shower.
Dinner in the restaurant was first rate. The staff are all extremely attentive but without getting in the way. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. I am Coeliac and had advised them I needed gluten free. I had spoken to the chef who advised he would adapt anything off the menu but I could also order off menu if there was nothing I fancied! To start I had creamed cod with a poached egg and a delicious sauce. It was a bit like a fishcake with no breaded outer layer. Quite a large protion for a starter. My mains was Pan fried sea trout, black trumpet & girolle mushrooms, roasted salsify, confit garlic, fingerling potatoes. It was extremely rich and had such wonderful flavours. I couldn’t fault a thing. The wine list is good and I thought the prices were reasonable.
At breakfast, I felt slightly let down. I had already advised I was gluten free so was not too happy that they had to send someone out to buy bread for me and I couldn’t have sausages or beans with my breakfast. However, it was all good but a bit on the small side.
I would recommend a stay here or a meal here without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its_angie_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for one night as a birthday treat. I would now like to spend all my birthdays at this hotel. The room was excellent & the large bathroom was the best ever. The restaurant was lovely and the menu was outstanding. Excellent walks along the sea front. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting family in town. What a relief that Felixstowe at last has a good hotel. Fludyers was an oasis in town with excellent accommodation - nice and simply decorated with good quality furniture and lots of attentive details. We stayed in room ten with lovely sea views and a little balcony. Hearing the sea at night is very relaxing. Breakfast was excellent with well cooked and presented food. Overall, a great little hotel and one to which we will return whenever we visit Felixstowe.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kirstyj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed one night to celebrate an anniversary, can only comment on the premium room ( No 5), which we paid extra to stay in. Found the room to be very good, nice deco, very comfortable and a nice view of the beach out the front. Evening meal and breakfast was excellent, would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: worth paying the extra to get a premium room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taibhreamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We watched the Fludyer being refurbished being regular visitors for a walk along the front at Old Felixstowe (a much underrated seaside town with beautifully kept gardens along a 3 mile promenade front, with magnificent properties and a great feel).

We have now visited The Fludyer a couple of times and simply find the ambiance and service second to none. The relaxed style pays an exacting attention to detail in decor and lighting that even send pins of light from the handrail down the glass paneled railing on the decking at the front. Sit there whilst dusk falls, across panoramic sea views, and see how fantastically thought through the lighting is. The food is of a standard you would expect and the menu varied with numerous things that made it difficult to choose what you wanted. We cannot understand a review that states the waiters are far from silver service. They were well turned out, polite, professional and friendly. We will be returning to stay in one of the balconied rooms at the front to sample the Sunday evening jazz. We look forward to the clean and stylised room with a view!

Room Tip: go for the balcony front line rooms its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.6 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
16.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
16.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
11.4 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#6 of 18 in Ipswich
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fludyers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fludyers Hotel

Property: The Fludyers Hotel
Address: Undercliff Road East, Felixstowe IP11 7LU, England (Formerly The Fludyer Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fludyers Hotel is a vibrant , restaurant and hotel located in a beautifully restored Edwardian building on the Suffolk coastline, just yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fludyers Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing