We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute booking”
Review of The Fludyers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fludyers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a last minute stay here for 3 nights whilst i visited friends in felixstowe, the hotel is very clean comfortable bed in room 1 i didnt have a sea view but felixstowe isnt the bahamas so not really missing out. the cleaning staff here are brilliant , the only bad thing was i think my room was over the kitchen so quite noisy at 5 am im an early riser so it wasnt a problem but if you like a lie in this room wouldent be for you . the bar staff were ok but they tended to serve the males first . it is a nice hotel but i think it lacks a womens touch behind the bar its all glass and polish but lack a bit of heart

Room Tip: you cant get a phone service in your room if you are with 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sezzy1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for weekend , unfortunately hadn't seen email that we were changing rooms!
But we were not disappointed ... Had the duplex mews room...
Comfy bed, wow bathroom
Only slight niggles where v hot ,
No air con, had windows open and could hear fan/ air con on main building of hotel
Also at breakfast no glasses for juice had to ask twice ...
And for bowls for fruit!
But breakfast made up for this.
We ate in restaurant with friends and v impressed with food and service. We all commented how polite and confident even the young staff were :-)
Manager was v hands on and helpful.
We will return

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentMoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked at very short notice for a 2 day break with the children and were very impressed. There was a mix up with the suite we had booked but the hotel resolved this quickly and smoothed things over by sending up some fizz to our room which was a nice touch.

The Fludyers has been very cleverly refurbished and really stands out in Felixstowe. It is in a great spot, directly opposite the beach at the more peaceful end of the town.

We ate in the hotel both mornings, one lunchtime and both evenings and were very well looked after. The menu is imaginative and, more importantly, the food offering is of a high standard, we couldn't fault it. The bar is buzzy and has a nice feel to it with a good wine list and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We will be back for a return visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank p30rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A real disappointment. The Email from the Hotel reservations team said we were being allocated a luxury twin bedded room with balcony, bath and shower being.Room 7 On arrival given Room 12 double bed, no balcony or bath. Changed rooms to Mews (room 14) 2 single beds as previously requested. Wet room .... was not told this was disabled access room. Poor bathroom fittings. Overcharged on the room we were eventually moved to also. Disappointed, did not meet high expectations. Good meal/wine in restaurant. The Hotel accommodation we were allocated was not a patch on Room 7, which we were intended to be in from the start.

Room Tip: Request Room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent room, bathroom, very comfortable bed and two quiet nights sleep. Extra milk for tea/coffee was no trouble. (Always wonder who decided the ratio of coffee in sachets with mild in little tubs.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We went to Fludyers for a three day break last week this is our second visit and we are returning for another three days in September.

The Hotel and our room which was number six was just as excellent as our last visit. The staff as usual were very attentive as before. This hotel excels itself in every way including the restaurant.

We have recommended the hotel to others and when they have been they have been very impressed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for rooms 4 5 6 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed two couples in Early March.

Unfortunately we didn't eat here this time, instead opting to stroll along the seafront for a few minutes to the Alex. However when we came back later the large balcony/terrace outside, with patio heaters, was lovely to sit out on into the evening and enjoy a relaxing bottle of wine.

The rooms are a very good size and absolutely spotless, with lovely walk in showers, velux or port hole windows out to sea and in our case a lovely little balcony.

Downstairs the main bar and restaurant are a really nice trendy mix of period and modern. This place is so different from the old Fludyers Arms pub, which had seen better days.

The only complaint I could possibly level at the Fludyer, was the scrambled eggs, which were like a deconstructed squash ball, but otherwise this place is really great.

I highly recommend a visit. This place is definitely the benchmark to which other Felixstowe hotels have to aim.

Room Tip: Go for ones with the balconies at the front and the sea views....lovely to hear the waves crashing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.6 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
10.7 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
16.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,053 reviews
16.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fludyers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fludyers Hotel

Address: Undercliff Road East, Felixstowe IP11 7LU, England (Formerly The Fludyer Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fludyers Hotel is a vibrant , restaurant and hotel located in a beautifully restored Edwardian building on the Suffolk coastline, just yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fludyers Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing