We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Couty Hotel in decline”
Review of The Orwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orwell Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Grand Couty Hotel in decline”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel has all the hallmarks of having been a grand hotel in its day but is now sadly in decline.

The service was quite poor and the rooms large but lacking in facilities that a business traveller needs i.e. a chair with a back at the desk rather than a small circular stool. The single glazed windows allowed a lot of noise in from outside which is not really what you need for a good rest.

My colleague also had trouble getting the WiFi to work. The bathroom was probably wonderful in the early 1970's.

Perhaps this is the best you can expect in the Felixstowe area?

Room Tip: Not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrwellHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Orwell Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank your for your review. I'm sorry your colleague did have a problem with our wifi; we did have a fault which has now been fixed. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms but his will take some time to complete. we hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    159
    77
    30
    23
See reviews for
80
178
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed here a number of times. The hotel is the best in Felixstowe. A lot of the guests who stay here mid week are working in the area.
The hotel is very clean but is old fashioned.
This time I stayed I found the breakfast service just too slow. It was taking an hour to get the food and many people in the restaurant were complaining. This happened every morning for the duration of my stay. I found it easier to have breakfast elsewhere. I realise that food does take time to cook but when you need to go to work, an hour is too long.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrwellHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Orwell Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We believe that all feedback is good. That way we can fix any problems as soon as they arise.
We are very sorry that breakfast was far too slow during your stay. This problem has been addressed with both the kitchen and front of house staff.
We will look forward to welcoming you in the future when you will enjoy a far better breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I lived in the town for 27 years so know the hotel well but had never stayed there. However, as we had to attend a funeral in the town we booked a very reasonably priced deal there.The bedroom could have been bigger and was in need of updating but breakfast was excellent, service was friendly and efficient and the meals we had, including breakfast, were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrwellHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Orwell Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our stay with us. We do have a refurbishment programme which is slowly updating the bedrooms but this will take some time to complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I visited the hotel on Christmas day as my parents invited me and my sister for a Christmas lunch.
The staff was very welcoming and polite, on arrival we received a glass of champagne and we were guided to our table.
The 5 course menu was rich, after the starter and the following dish I couldn't manage to finish my main course. Christmas pudding was delicious, cheese platter looked amazing but being honest I felt really full.
We all had a great time, pianist was playing all afternoon long giving a nice atmosphere to our family lunch.
Waiters and waitresses were all awesome, they were checking back on us if we need anything else.
Definitely will come back to The Orwell and looking forward to the next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsera26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrwellHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Orwell Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had eaten there previously and the food was excellent so we decided to try the three day Xmas Package. We were unaware that a refurbishment programme was underway but it clearly hadn't reached our room. The bedroom wallpaper was peeling off, the window paint was chipped and the kettle did not work. The partial net curtains were grubby and had holes. The bathroom had massive hot water pipes and no ventilation. The shelf above the washbasin had thick dust on it. There was hardly any water coming out of the washbasin cold tap and on Boxing Day morning the hot water tap over the bath jammed itself on and the maintenance man had to be called. The organisation was poor and the worst thing was that when we went to the restaurant for Xmas Day lunch our name and room number was not on the table plan. The staff were lovely and eventually sat us at a table for one. The food was excellent but good catering cannot compensate for sub standard accommodation and shoddy housekeeping. A poor value break. Eat there but don't stay there.

Room Tip: If you book accommodation make sure it is in one of the newer or refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrwellHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Orwell Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your Christmas break with us. We've received such good feedback from so many customers over Christmas but that does excuse the room and service you received.
Your points have been raised with all departments concerns to avoid disappointed guests in the future. Our bedroom refurbishment programme has started but this will take sometime to complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My friend went to the Orwell Hotel for dinner, and what an amazing experience it was.
The food was superb and we were looked after by a gentleman I believe is called Mr Peachy. It makes such a change to be waited on by such a charming polite young man!
We will definately recommend the Orwell to all of our friends :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilchard66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My last review of the Orwell was quite damning, I am now glad to say the management has changed, much to every ones satisfaction.Upon my last visit for lunch with friends was a very pleasant experience to say the least I.E. the food was excellent, presentation good,service was
very good as always

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrwellHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Orwell Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you found that things have improved since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
10.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.9 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
8.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orwell Hotel

Property: The Orwell Hotel
Address: Hamilton Road, Felixstowe IP11 7DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orwell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For short breaks or longer holidays, the Orwell Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, excellent cuisine, fine wine, great service and a friendly atmosphere all provided by our highly trained staff. Felixstowe, a family seaside resort, with a Victorian atmosphere. Bathing huts, seafront gardens and red shingle beach with pier. Close to Felixstowe's town centre is the Orwell Hotel, a Victorian house dating back to 1898. The spacious public areas are traditionally decorated and have a wealth of charm and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing