We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Norfolk Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Felixstowe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recommended”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nowadays most guest houses offer a good level of comfort, service and breakfasts, but it is the extras that separate the excellent from the good. Here Rob and Dee excelled. Friendly, welcoming and interested in their guests. A flask of orange juice left in my room as I don’t drink tea or coffee. Loan of maps. Offer to dry my clothes when I got back from a day’s walking – they even knew it was going to rain! It did and I was glad of a dry coat for the evening.

The room was a good size and comfortable – there was even a view of the sea which had me getting up early both mornings to take sunrise photos. The en-suite was small but big enough not to be a problem. Breakfast was good. Location is quiet, yards from the sea and walking distance from town centre. And Felixstowe is well worth a visit – I had expected just docks not four miles of beach.

This was the fifth overnight stop in my walk down the Suffolk coast. If returning to Felixstowe I certainly won’t look any further than the Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words which are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure having you stay and hearing the stories you told of the many walks you have completed.

We look forward with anticipation to your forthcoming book on Suffolk coastal walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
55
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you want a good place to stay in Felixstowe then go no further than the Norfolk Guest House. Dee and Rob go out of their way to be great hosts. The room are spotless and very comfy. The breakfast is very good too. I stay here whenever I need to stay in Felixstowe. I highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
It is lovely to have you staying with us and thank you for giving us your super review.

We appreciate your taking the time to write this as we know you are kept so very busy it means so much.

Dee loves swapping forces anecdotes with you, it makes her day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We took my parents for a weeks holiday at the Norfolk Guest House, we stopped one night. We found Rob and Dee very welcoming, the rooms were so clean and fresh, also the bed was so comfy, plenty of hangers. Breakfast was a bonus plenty of choice. I would definitely recommend the Norfolk Guest House :).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whippy073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your parents are lovely and a pleasure for us to look after, always having a laugh and a smile every day.

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review which is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Norfolk Guest House. Rob and Dee were most welcoming - their hospitality was outstanding. Our room was lovely, ensuite, very comfortable with lovely accessories. The breakfasts were piping hot and very tasty. We would not hesitate to stay with them again..

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you both again and thank you for your super review which we really do appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were looking for a b&b in Felixstowe and decided to stay here because of the glowing reviews. We were not in the least bit disappointed every review was true and more. Rob and Dee made us feel at home straight away. The room was lovely, exceptionally clean and well appointed with ensuite ,television and wifi, with additional personal touches, Dee's famous animal towels, sweets, chocolates, toilettries, such a treat. The breakfast; made using local produce was tasty and delicious. It is a quiet oasis in a busy area, just yards from the sea. Dee and Rob were fantastically caring and professional hosts.We would certainly highly recommend this diamond of a b&b to everyone.We will definitely book again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marjfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. To have your beautiful hand crafted 'thank you' card arrive with the envelope especially created by Charlotte, your grand daughter, was the icing on the cake, cheering us up after our sad news.

We look forward to your next visit here and thank you once again for your kind words..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

from the moment we entered The Norfolk Guest House both Rob and Dee made us both
so very welcome,breakfast excellent with plenty of choice, served piping hot,our room was fantastic and bed so very comfortable,and everywhere so very very clean will definetly return

Room Tip: perfect hosts and perfect place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your super review and kind words.

It was lovely to see you both again and great to see Tony on the mend. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Thanks to other reviewers' comments I decided to move out of the "business" hotels in the Ipswich area and stay here instead. That was nearly a year ago. Since then, every time I've stayed, nearly every week, it has been consistently excellent. Rob and Dee are perfect hosts; the cooked breakfast is, in my opinion, unmissable; and the rooms have everything I need and are comfortable.
For other business travellers looking at staying here: there's no desk but ask for a laptop table & problem solved. Free WiFi and an easy, pleasant walk to the eateries of Felixstowe make for the final touches of a high quality home from home experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfolk, Owner at The Norfolk Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
All we can say is thank you for your super review and reciprocate by saying how lovely it is having you stay with us each week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.9 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,013 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Goodlife Guesthouse
The Goodlife Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Dovercourt
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norfolk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norfolk Guest House

Property: The Norfolk Guest House
Address: 1 Holland Road, Felixstowe IP11 2BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Felixstowe
Hotel Class:4 star — The Norfolk Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A homely, warm welcome for all guests at our Visit Britain 4* Silver Award winning quality accommodation. Just 25 metres from the seafront and a short stroll along the promenade to Felixstowe town centre. There's free secure Wi-Fi internet access. All rooms are either en-suite or have a private bathroom, each is comfortably furnished, has fluffy white towels and has Freeview TV, a hospitality tray etc. A guests lounge is available for your use throughout the day. No smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Norfolk Guest House Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing