We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but shabby”

The White Horse Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leiston
Reviewed 30 April 2012

En-suite bedroom was a reasonable size and clean. Shower was clean in general but tiling and grouting a bit tired. Little things wrong: - plug not attached, shaving light not working. Stair carpet worn out. Breakfast was adequate (no menu) verbal enquiry as what choices were. Although I was not bothered, I could see that traffic noise could be a problem for light sleepers. Small carpark meant I had to park across the road in doctors carpark, they were not happy about that although told by hotel it was OK.
In general just about OK but sure there must be somewhere better locally.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

this was a serviceable hotel for a cheap stay near aldeborough and the suffolk heritage coast. The room was fine, clean, nice bathroom, but it is noisy! Unfortunately not the hotels fault, basically it is on a crossroads, right on the road, and apart from the constant traffic pulling up at the traffic lights, the people passing and going into and out of the pub and banging doors in the hotel made it very noisy indeed. But i have had the same problem in hotels all around the world, people just dont consider others ever, anywhere , in my experience so just always pack very good earplugs.
Leiston is a bit of a one horse town, and so , this is it! You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: perhaps a room facing away from the roads!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Well what can i say.It was awfull it is a pub full of local young yobs till 2 in the morning .The music is so loud.The room was damp.There was no shower just a wet room.The shower didnt work properly .Carpet was full of stains .The telly didnt work.I wanted to check out it was that bad but my partner wouldnt as he paid £140 for 2 nights b&b.I would of rather slept in the car. If you go out for the day you wont have a parking space in the evening when you come back. Another guest we spoke to didn't even have a wardrobe in his room. The food in the dining room was very good though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I left it far to late to book accomodation for a wedding we were attending nearby, and it left us with two options: book The White Horse, or book a hotel in Ipswich 20 miles away. I had read some poor reviews about The White Horse, but we opted for convenience rather than expensive taxis.

The hotel looks fairly industrial if you approach it along the road it faces up, and is right on a traffic light junction. There was also a very lively bar downstairs which didn't close until 1am. For us, neither of things mattered, because we were so shattered by the time we got back from the wedding both of us slept fine, but I don't think I would have been able to settle in for an early night!

The room we had was on the top floor and was clean, but shower did not seem to have any kind of thermostatic control, and was either freezing cold or scorching hot - not pleasant at all!

If I was to attend a local wedding again, I would definately look to stay somewhere else, but if this was the only place left, I would pay just for the convenience of the location. At least I would know what to expect. Plus the staff were really friendly. However, if you are wanting a romantic break, an early night, or a nice shower, I would suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToGoSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Very neutral - populated by off-shift nuclear power station workers.
Not a beautiful Suffolk village and photos show a lawn outside front of hotel - it doesn't exist.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank edwardmilneruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
17
Reviewed 12 June 2006

The hotel is in a prime location for Leiston itself and the main road to all local villages. It is well staffed and the staff are eager to be of service and are super. The food was wonderful and the portions were generous. The rooms themselves were clean and adequate.( no telephone/clock radio)
A word of caution; If you are searching for a quiet location however, this is a busy public house with a young clientel. Should your room be located above the bar, it can be quite noisy on band night and the cigarette smoke is very intrusive. Be sure to enquire about a room located on the other side of the hotel, should this be undesirable to you.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leiston
4.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
737 reviews
11.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
832 reviews
21.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
364 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel

Address: White Horse Hotel Station Road, Leiston IP16 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leiston
Price Range: £58 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Leiston, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing