We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable stay”

The White Horse Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leiston
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stopped into this hotel, in hope to get a family room for the night. We were in luck. Staff were really friendly as were the locals. The room was a great size with bunk beds for the kids. It was clean and had everything you needed for one night. The tv was poor though limited channels and tiny . I would strongly suggest a family room has a bigger tv as you are in the room quite early and up early!! I also really hope the locks on the doors are improved. We couldn't lock it from the inside , so slep with it open!
Breakfast was lovely and although sold as continental the chef was more than happy to do bacon and eggs.
A quirky pub that has all you need for an overnights stay.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NN_Agency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

"Very friendly people running this place. Could be very good with some basic repairs and a bit of redecoration. Good deal for the price (in the area). The breakfast was very good indeed and the coffee worth going out of your way for. We also had a quick drink in the bar and it was a pleasant place - friendly locals." We only stayed one night, not sure whether or not I would stay for longer as it is a bit basic for a holiday base.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olwenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nothing complicated about this place. Very comfortable room, friendly staff, and a great breakfast. We stayed the better part of a week and spent time in the room as well as the bar. The bar was lively and was nothing short of fun when the Thorpeness Rugby Club showed up after their club's 20 year reunion

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Matt & Neil for our weekend stay. Everything was perfect and soo friendly and welcoming. We will be back! Unfortunate the restaurant was closed - but this was deducted from our bill, but there is plenty of restaurants and cafe in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This Hotel provides basic but clean rooms a good lively bar and a restaurant with good well prepared meals at a reasonable cost. Yes it could do with an upgrade to the rooms décor but the staffs friendliness and helpfulness make up for this shortfall in my opinion. The restaurant is excellent, the Sunday roast superb and a bargain for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamt493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Tuesday night is steak night and we thought we'd give it a go. The restaurant was completely devoid of staff and after waiting we had to go and find someone who apologised for not seeing us enter. Apparently, she didn't see the others that were waiting come in either. A couple of very nice pints of Adnams Ghostship arrived quickly, soon followed by our steaks. The steak was overcooked, the chips undercooked and a pathetic bit of lettuce and two slices of cucumber was, apparently, the salad. We sent it back and although it was slightly better on being returned, the service was abrupt. There are so many good eating and drinking places around this area that you wonder why anyone would come here. We certainly won't be coming again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bluecresent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Reviews I read lowered my expectations, but on arrival I was pleasantly surprised, courteous staff in a characterful pub, yes the decor is tired, and the shower poor but I am content to have just booked a second week. Great steak dinner and well stocked bar means all is good for us

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianmauricebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leiston
4.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
745 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
785 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
848 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,072 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel

Address: White Horse Hotel Station Road, Leiston IP16 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leiston
Price Range: £57 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Leiston, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing