We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I last stopped here 20 years ago, it was a charming well kept but olde world hotel. but how things have changed. The once quaint bar and lounge have been replaced by horrible pvc chairs and a cheap looking carpet. I stopped in Room 4, it was 2 degrees outside but the room had no heating. The radiator leaked water. The bathroom was an utter disgrace, cracked and loose floor tiles. silicon round the bath was about 30mm thick. An additional bottom row of tiles had been stuck on existing tiles. Furniture in room was there during my previous stay in 1993. The room was that unpleasant I skipped the breakfast. It took them 2o minutes to print my receipt off in the morning. Please don't make my mistake... STAY CLEAR....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

We just popped in for dinner only and was pleasantly surprised! Meals were only 5-8£ a person and wltasted fantastic! Timely and pleasant service. I will be coming back quite often!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceanlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I recently stayed at the bell hotel, booking mistakenly before googling. I arrived..walking into a dirty bar area,littered with dirty glasses and crisps packets to be informed by a sulky and surly barmaid, more interested in her mobile phone and reflection, where the hotel reception was. I went to the 'reception' a tiny desk hidden in the restaraunt area and checked in with the cold and rude receptionist who didn't appear to have any interest in customer service. My room was cold, bedding was inadequate and the room was dirty and dusty. I ventured downstairs to the bar to be ignored by the earlier barmaid, who seemed this time to prefer serving me to throwing herself all over the local dross who were monopolising the bar. I was horrified at the barmaids bad attitude and said so to the receptionist who portrayed herself as some sort of managerial figure to be rudely and viciously accused of calling her daughter a slapper..it suddenly became clear how this girl got the job. Breakfast was average. Cold and greasy but I was keen to escape..

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sleeplover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Even in a budget hotel I expect to be warm. With the radiator on (for the few hours the heating was working) my room was never any anything other than bitterly cold. They have then thinnest bedding I have ever seen and no additional blankets in the room. After the first night I resorted to getting dressed to go to bed and wearing a beanie hat at all times to try and stay warm.
The decor is dated and the whole place rather shabby.
Don't stay there - you can get much better accommodation for your money

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Myself and my partner attended a party at this hotel, therefore we did bot do any research on the hotel and just booked up! Big mistake...the town itself has nothing to offer, the bar in the hotel is drab, the rooms are extremely dated. When we opened the wardrobe we found an empty coke can, the window seal had dirty tissues on it, the walls were paper thin you could hear everyones TV's/conversations etc.
Apparently the heating goes off in the afternoon so anyone in the room choosing not to go out will freeze!
The breakfast was not up to much, poor selection and the rice krispies were out of date! We were charged £50, I think they would have a real cheek charging 50p for a nights stay here!
All my points were made very clear to the manager and he did give us a full refund, however, a complete was of time goign there!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluechild5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend break, although the room was a little tired in decoration, this did not detract from a very pleasant stay the staff were very helpful rooms was comfy and reasonably clean.
We decided to eat in the restaurant the first night of our stay and what a good choice that was the food was excellent served on hot plates and served within 15 mins of order far more food than one person can eat it was also a very good price.
Breakfast was equally as good, plenty of choice and nicely presented.
We were so impressed with the food we decided to eat in the restaurant again the following night, food was great again.
In the evening there was entertainment and a good time was had by all.
We would not hesitate going there again.
All round excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mildenhall hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
317 reviews
1 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
484 reviews
1 mi away
Lord Mayor's Cottage
Lord Mayor's Cottage
#1 of 1 in Barton Mills
57 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Walnuts Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 25 High Street, Mildenhall IP28 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range: £52 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Mildenhall, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing