We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel like the plague” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Dirty rooms filthy bathrooms the most uncomfortable beds
Very noisy from bar below and night club revellers outside
Restaurant closed at 9 pm after we finished work hotel did allow us to bring take away in Staff all seemed to have a couldn't care less attitude please do not part with your hard earned cash to stay at this establishment we dare not use bath or shower rooms smelt of smoke ceiling damp and falling down and my friends room was worse my advice is buy a cheap tent and enjoy luxury!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelinaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    14
    12
    28
See reviews for
15
22
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The downstairs bar and the staff were OK - nothing special - despite they're 'focus' on great customer service... On arrival in our FAMILY room, we found it to be dated in need of a very good clean. Mould in the bathroom, grubby carpet etc. We even found a screw on the bathroom floor, just waiting for our 18 month old boy to pick it up! Thankfully we weren't spending much time there and went off for the day, to return about 9pm. On our arrival we were greeted by thumping music from a cheesy, sub standard DJ. As the drinks flowed, this music turned into Karaoke - which was truly awful - especially the rendition of Barbie Girl and what sounded like a Whitney Houston track. It was so bad I can't be 100%. This din went on till 1am - in what sounded like a room under our family room.

It's probably the worse £90 I have ever spent and the worse hotel I've stayed in. Needless to say, that's the first and LAST time we'll be visiting The Bell Hotel. I would have rather stayed in a Travelodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooksy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mildenhall hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked the Bell Hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby and at short notice, it was the only hotel with rooms available. Now we know why. The hotel is old and musty and in need of a makeover. Moreover, it was dirty.

Our family room was a good size but smelt mouldy and the carpet was dirty. The sheets and towels appeared new but we had no confidence in the hotel so we decided to sleep fully clothed. There was a small flat screen TV and tea making facilities.

The bathroom was dank and very old fashioned. I removed the bathmat from the towel rail and found the tiles were splattered with dried blood. I hastily decided against a shower.

On the way to the room, which wasn't clearly signposted, we climbed the stairs towards the attic. The stairs were filthy with cobwebs in the corners and plaster on the walls was crumbling.

The ladies WC in the bar area was clean and modern but the management need to also think about the facilities for hotel guests. They would do well to log on and read the comments left and make the necessary improvements. I definately wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone which is a pity because it's in a lovely location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Nice folk, bit sticky tables in dining area and very tierd rooms

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oruzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were attending a concert at nearby Newmarket Racecourse and could only find this hotel with vacancies. Having read all the very negative views we thought it must be better than a Travelodge. We were right, the room was in need of a makeover, but there is no excuse for dirty makrks on the door or dirty carpet ( see photographs)
The sheets were clean as was the bathroom, but we could not sleep due to noisy drunks outside the window to 2am.
Next morning the breakfast was the best bit, excellent.
We paid £65 to stay the night for two b&b.
The Bell must decide if its a hotel or a pub and concentrate on spending money on the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms, but do not stay at the weekend, noisy customers drinking late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at The Bell Hotel for one night. The rooms were ok though a little dated the bedding was clean and beds were very comfy. The bathroom needed a makeover but the shower was hot and clean. We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived and that was very good staff excellent and very cheerful. Breakfast in the morning was lovely all cooked fresh. I think the thing is people try hard to make there business work but in this economic climate there is very little money to do so.I would stay here again if I was passing by.

Room Tip: We were on the back so there was not much noise but our friends were on the front and they heard a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Loud music from the bar below preventing rest after work & long journey.

The shower is alive with mildew.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothitjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
0.1 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.9 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Property: The Bell Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Mildenhall IP28 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Mildenhall, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing