We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Last resort”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed overnight at this hotel with my sister as our family had booked the hall fir a family function. and we thought it would be ideal. What a bad choice we made. As far as the accommodation gies it was awful. The rooms were so outdated and need a lot of attention as far as decorations are concerned. Wallpaper and paintwork look like they have not been renewed for years. The bathroom was so bad we went to a nearby friend for a shower. Then there was the beds ! I sat on the bed when we arrived and could feel the springs, so we pulled the covers back to find a really old mattress. Both beds were the same so in the end we took the duvet off one bed to lay on the other bed to give some comfort ! The plus side was a very good breakfast. If you can find an alternative place to stay I would advise doing so. Worse place I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    14
    13
    28
See reviews for
16
24
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this online and it said nothing about being above a bar until the last paragraph. Loud music and drunk people into early hours of the morning. Shame as the room was clean and comfortable. Unless your up for joining in the fun on the weekend try somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sube8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mildenhall hotels

Southery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

After visiting two restaurants in the area the bell was the last resort before giving up and going home.
Glad we did too.
Cheap, plentiful and tasty food. Great job. Staff very friendly too. Highly recommended. Prices very reasonable. Lovely surroundings.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breckland2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

stopped here for a quick pub lunch recently as was doing business in milldenhall. very oldie worldie. good pub and lovely lunch. good parking at rear of hotel. nice bar staff and good selection on the menu

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business last year on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here on another occasion and recommended it. The pub within the hotel was excellent. Good big screen TV and excellent bar food with friendly bar staff. However, the same cannot be the said for the accommodation. Was I time travelling - I thought I was back in 1973!
On the plus side, the room was clean and tidy. The remainder was very, very sub standard. The décor was a la 1970's and the bathroom in the room I was given was outdated even for 1970's chic. The shower was shockingly bad and the wardrobe and bedroom furniture must have been pass-downs. I don't know for sure but I think this hotel does accommodate those who travel with pets. You could tell from the aroma! I will not stay in this hotel ever again and recommend that others that may consider staying, check for alternative accommodation in the area. As a pub, a great place to be but as a hotel, definitely not.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Bell Hotel in Mildenhall overnight Saturday /Sunday 7/9/13-8/9/13 as we were competing in the English Field Archery Championships in nearby Elveden Forest. The accommodation was just about adequate for our needs for one night. The room was clean and the bedlinen and towels were up to standard. However there were quite a few issues that would deter us from ever booking in there again. The room was in need of decoration (it was obvious that it had not been done for a long time). The en suite bathroom had a very small bath which an adult would have had difficulty in using and it had no anti slip area in the bottom. The bath had no grab rail and there was none fitted to the wall. Lethal! The toilet had a loose and stained seat and was next to a full length window which allowed a good view from outside. There was no blind to screen the window ,only nets and a curtain hanging off its hooks in places. The person at the reception desk who greeted us on arrival was dressed in a t-shirt and jeans. He was not particularly helpful or welcoming. We had booked bed and breakfast but were unable to have breakfast as we had to be at our sporting venue by 9.00am and they would not serve us any breakfast until 8.30am.This was not made clear when we booked. We asked for a discount with regard to the breakfast but were refused. The restaurant/diningroom was tiny and just part of the bar area and the menu was poor so we went to a local steakhouse in the town. Not to be recommended unless they can radically improve what's on offer.

Room Tip: There doesn't appear to be one. our room was over the pub yard and it was noisy late at night wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I could pee on myself quicker than the amount of water that came out of the shower.A complete joke the bathroom needs a total re vamp.I need a good shower after a long days work,it was totally in adequate.Room14

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobytykeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
103 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
281 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Property: The Bell Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Mildenhall IP28 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Mildenhall, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing