We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Small, but perfectly formed.

It was an absolute joy to discover this little gem on a fleeting visit to Mildenhall. There's a... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2022
InlandBeachcomber
,
United Kingdom
Lots of variety

This little museum is packed with reassures from local memorabilia to a display about Short... read more

Reviewed 21 June 2019
177deeb
,
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 36 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
25
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
9
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 36 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

There has always been a lot to see in this little gem of a local museum but the recent refurb has given it a fabulous new lease of life. The exhibits are well marked and interesting - there are supplementary drawers in most exhibits which offer even more information. The Lakenheath man/horse burial was very interesting (short and informative video) as was the story of the Mildenhall Treasure (replica only, sadly) but it was the story of everyday life and local history that makes this an excellent example of a local museum.

Thank Backpackinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a recently extended and revamped attraction. It contains a wide range of local artefacts . Two of the main exhibits are the reproduction pieces of the famous Roman Mildenhall Treasure. The originals are in the British Museum in London. A more recent discovery, that of a Saxon warrior and his horse, is now here for all to see. Excellent activities for children have been incorporated into the new design. This volunteer run museum is something not to be missed when visiting this East Anglian market town.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This newly expanded and renovated provincial museum is an absolute wonder. Their artifacts range from Bronze Age, through Victorian into the 20th century. The town has always had close links with the nearby airbase and the famous UK to Australia air race started from Mildenhall. This museum punches well above its weight having recently secured the remains of a Bronze Age warrior and his horse found several years ago in a dig at nearby RAF Lakenheath. This unusual find was fully studied and documented and Mildenhall Museum is now the resting place for this fantastic find. Well worth a visit (or several).

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Dan_MarthaMildenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews