We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed three nights during Dec. 2013. After staying in several 5* hotels in various parts of the UK we would place the Riverside at the top of the list. We stayed at the Bear in Woodstock, the Lygon Arms in Broadway both luxurious hotels and noted for who stayed there. The Riverside, although not as luxurious earned top notches in every category. The staff were all friendly and went out their way to make our stay positive. The room was very comfortable and the first room of the week that was not too hot for sleeping. We asked where we could do our laundry and they offered to do it for us at no charge! How unusual is that? They were hosting a Christmas party last night and the manager roped off a section of the car park so we would have a place to park. Small things like these are typical of the staff at the Riverside. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Very conveniently placed for anyone coming to the Mildenhall/Lakenheath area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We chose the hotel through Livingsocial and whilst we had read the reviews before, which were pretty much all good, you are never really sure until you arrive. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the staff throughout were friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is smart and well presented and the room (number 21) was spacious and had a Great view over the gardens and was quiet and comfortable. We slept well and the facilities were well kept and clean.
Dinner was a pleasant surprise, we had three courses and each was well presented and not small, I had the lamb which was delicious and my wife the bream which was also excellent. We would have gladly eaten there on the second night of our stay but part of our reason for visiting the area was to see some of the local National trust places, Ickworth is well worth a visit, as is Anglesey Abbey. We also took in Ely, a lovely place with the Cathedral perched at the top of the hill and then on to Bury St Edmunds to see the Christmas market which was a real treat set amongst the old town streets, so our day was pretty full. Breakfast were also tasty and there was a good choice, certainly enough to fuel you for the day!
Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank I O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We got this break through living social. Really enjoyed this hotel. Staff couldn't be friendlier, rooms clean, service great. This venue doesn't deserve minor pedantic issues, because it's brilliant. So impressed. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Saltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My mother and I stayed at the hotel on Friday 15th to Sunday 17th, and I would like to say thank you for a lovely time. We felt every welcome and comfortable throughout our time there. the hotel rooms were large and the bathroom was very clean.

The restaurant was very well presented and the staffs were very polite and helpful. The food was lovely too

The reason for the trip to Riverside was for my mothers 50th Birthday, on our last night I asked the restaurant staff to put a candle on the pudding, they went above and beyond and also came up and sang happy birthday to her too.

I will definitely be recommending riverside to my family and friends,

Thank you very much for your hospitality,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the hotel and we enjoyed it greatly. Our room was lovely, very clean and with a comfortable bed. The ensuite was spacious with an excellent shower and a plentiful supply of towels and toiletries. Breakfast were wonderful, with a wide choice of cereals, cheese and meats, yogurts etc plus a range of cooked breakfasts which were obviously freshly cooked to a high standard on order. We chose to eat in a couple of evenings during out stay and could not praise the meals highly enough. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient, the bar staff were helpful and the chef was obvious talented!
We had a wonderful 3 days at the hotel and have already booked to return for the New Year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raehay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently spent a night here and attended a wedding, organized within the hotel. Our feelings were mixed. We enjoyed our high ceilinged room very much and had a very good night's sleep; we did wonder, however, how we'd have felt if we had not been involved with the wedding, which rather took over the hotel. Food was ordinary, based on a wedding breakfast, but that probably isn't a fair basis for judgement. Breakfast of the more normal kind was a disappointment: having told us it was available from 7am we found no-one ready and it was clear we would be lucky to be finished by 7.30am, so we had to skip it. Probably not somewhere I will use on my more everyday visits to the region; I think there are better alternatives nearby - and certainly better organized alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for a night in August 2013, it was our friends 40th wedding anniversary celebration. We arrived just after 3pm and ordered afternoon tea, what a lovely treat. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. This is defiantly a very well run hotel. The room we stayed in was very clean and fresh. Such a lovely spot for a hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
1 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
114 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
765 reviews
11 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range: £77 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing