We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
East Harling, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at the riverside hotel for a surprise birthday meal. There were about 40 of us and we all had a 3 course meal which was delicious and well presented. Also throughout the night the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. A great night had by all, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RickNeal_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    62
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
95
89
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just had a two night stay at this hotel and just have to tell you how lovely it is. The room was clean, well furnished, with first class sanitary wear in the en-suite. It looked out over the pretty garden which was just coming into bloom with the river at the bottom. The food was delicious with the sauces being the best we have eaten for a long time. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the Manager went out of his way to be helpful. Will we go again? Most definitely!

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dersingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

just been for afternoon tea today.
I didn't book and apon arrival there was a wedding in progress.
however the staff were absolutely fantastic and made it a very special occasion to be there.
the cream tea really should be entitled high tea as the amount and quality of food was outstanding.
looking forward to going back again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Two night stay on Living Social voucher including b and b and dinner on one night, bottle of wine on second night. Basic but clean and comfortable bedroom with excellent bathroom. Food excellent on first night so booked for second night which was St. Valentines Day. Tremendous effort by staff to welcome diners with welcome drink and then into a beautifully decorated dining room. Roses for the ladies and a really excellent meal (three choices for each course). Genuine interest by management to make it a superb evening. Service by willing and friendly staff.
Only criticism - bedrooms need more drawers. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Check size of bed(s) and how near air conditioning unit is. Family room has two separate rooms one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rame girl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Riverside Hotel was everything we could possibly have wanted in a hotel for our short break. Outstanding friendliness and personal attention. We felt like honoured guests and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was so attentive and watching out for ways to make our stay even more comfortable. The menu was varied and superbly cooked, the presentation couldn't be faulted and as a vegetarian, I could trust their food preparation. The attentiveness of the restaurant staff made us feel special and that increased our relaxation levels. The room was very good, and the facilities were of a high standard. We were especially impressed with the team approach to the efficiency of the hotel, led by the Manager and Manageress. Thank you so much everyone for 4 days of spoiling.

Room Tip: Views can be over garden, road or river. Be clear whether you want bath or shower or both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevKateMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had our wedding reception here on the 15th December 2013, well what can we say everything was perfect, the Riverside itself and all of the staff where inspiring everything we wanted from our special day the Riverside certainly provided.
Pretty much from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel we knew it was going to be a fantastic reception, the layout of the tables and the decorations around the Riverside were perfect and they had colour matched our day to make it extra special. We would personally like to thank Ged the hotel manager and all of the staff at the riverside for there care and attention on our special day. The food was superb we had lots of comments from all of our guests on how lovely the food was prepared and served rapidly. We stayed the night and so did all of our closest family. Rooms and beds were excellent and everyone had a good night sleep probably with the help from a few glasses of Wine :-)
My Mum & Dad have already booked there 60th wedding anniversary here as they loved it so much.
Thanks guys

Mr & Mrs Smith

Room Tip: We had the wedding suite so as you can imagine we would say it was the best room :-) Most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have always enjoyed the Riverside Hotel and it is truly a lovely setting.

The restaurant menu however is less than inspiring, wonderful pub grub but I would have expected something a little more special.

I started with the langoustine and crab cocktail which was nice, however a little to dry for my liking and could have done with a fraction more sauce.

I had the Pork on mustard mash and cider sauce, this was really not up to what was expected and the Pork was flavorless, and the crackling cold and lacking real flavor.

Disappointing and expected better from the Riverside Hotel, menu needs a definite review.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
471 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
285 reviews
20.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing