We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel *****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel *****”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

All staff were very friendly, the rooms where very clean and pleasant, the food was good and the grounds were beautiful. Overall a very nice hotel would stay again in the future. The hotel is full of character with nice features unlike a lot of big chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisingram1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    64
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
98
90
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The best feature of this hotel is its attractive setting with pretty gardens which extend to the river.
I stayed one night in a room on the top floor which, when the lift wasn't working, was a difficult climb up very steep stairs with luggage. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious with attractive decor and modern bathroom.
However the restaurant did not meet my expectations. At dinner I waited for over an hour after ordering for an appalling dish of 'stir fry vegetables' which consisted of a huge pile of noodles and a few peppers swimming in a ghastly red sauce! The choice at breakfast was minimal - most B & B establishments provide better.
Although my room was comfortable for one night, I would certainly choose to eat at other establishments if I stayed here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowersRus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I came with a group of ladies for afternoon tea, we were seated quite promptly but harassed from the get go about how many were wanting the set tea menu, I mean come on let us sit first!!
I had the set tea and we will get to that in a minute, my friends after looking at the bottom of the menu where it stated to ask staff for alternatives if you have a food allergy were shocked to find that after asking staff there were no alternatives for those that have dairy allergies! Come on it's 2014 have some soy milk for crying out loud!
On to the 'tea', well it looked pretty when it came out but that's where it ended! Tea bags in the tea pot a huge no for any tea snob especially in what is supposed to be a 5 star hotel :( the sandwiches were dry and salmon very stringy that it couldn't be bitten in half, the cakes on the tower were horrific, you could stone someone with them that were that dry! The scones well may as well pop to tesco for better!
If that wasn't bad enough others in our party waited 2 plus hours to get their order and all the staff had to say was a weak apology and how it's not normally like this!! Shocking I tell you from the poor service from staff that could use a week at a comedy club just to get them to smile to the piss poor standard of food that did arrive and then the terrible wait the others had to endure. This is not a place I will ever recommend or visit again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank CLP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived at the Riverside Hotel as part of a pre-booked group for 'afternoon tea/lunch'. We were seated quickly and the lunch menus were handed out and orders taken. The ladies of our group that were having the 'afternoon Tea' received their food within ten or so minutes. While we were waiting another large group arrived and their orders were also brought out in a timely manner. Sadly those of us that had ordered from the lunch menu had been waiting over an hour when I asked a waitress why our food was taking so long she told me 'oh...weren't you told? Due to us having another large group here your orders will take a while, but they're next'. Considering the other 'large group' arrived AFTER ours this didn't seem right to me, but trying to be patient we continued to wait. After one hour and 45 minutes unfortunately we had to call it a day and cancel our order and leave due to prior arrangements. I got a short 'oh sorry' when I explained that our food STILL hadn't arrived and we needed to leave. I feel we should have been told that light snacks from the lunch menu would take upwards of 1hr 45minutes to arrive at our table but sadly nothing was said at the time of ordering. I doubt we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed two nights, Thursday and Friday, and enjoyed a lovely room on the second floor with great views of the village. Staff were all helpful and while we ate elsewhere both night, breakfast was a delight with, as you might expect, a few choices with an American twist including eggs benedict, which were very good.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor with a good view and perfectly suitable for a couple. There was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmcslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Riverside Hotel for 2 nights and can highly recommend it. The hotel looks recently decorated to an extremely high standard. Furnishings are of very high quality. We had a good sized bedroom at the front of the hotel overlooking the pretty church and cottages opposite. The excellent bathroom was modern with a very large shower. We had afternoon tea overlooking the beautifully maintained garden which goes down to the river. Afternoon tea was half the price of all the places we have previously eaten at and we can highly recommend it, the setting with the comfy lounge and beautiful garden cannot be beaten. Breakfast in the dining room overlooking the garden was delicious. We did not know what to expect when we booked this hotel but we really look forward to returning. It us a good central base for touring Cambridge and that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here last night (a Thursday), We ordered lemon and honey chicken and lamb shank, beautiful. food took a bit longer than expected to arrive but the chef sent his apologies via the waitress. For dessert we both had the raspberry cheesecake with strawberry ice cream from the specials menu, delicious!
Having moved to the area a year ago, we usually stick to one pub nearby but thought we would try somewhere different and so glad we did.
All the staff were friendly and attentive. Well done, very happy customers!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sun*hunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
476 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
704 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing