We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and great food”
Review of The Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Crown is easy to find with plenty of parking. On arrival, we had a warm welcome. We had the double room, which was comfortable and, although above the bar, not particularly noisy. The bathroom is small and probably not suitable for the very tall, but was fine for us for a couple of nights. Fresh milk was provided for the lovely tea and coffee provided in the room. Breakfasts and dinners were superb and in every case exceeded expectations. We would certainly consider returning and I have already mentioned it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugwashahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have been coming here for years. That says it all really. The welcome is great as is the food and ambience. Ideally suited for concerts at Snape Maltings (a few hundred yards away) and exploring the River Alde area we cannot praise it highly enough. If you are in the area do go and stay and/or have a meal. It is much less stuffier than some of the eateries in Aldeburgh and the food is as good. Treat yourself/selves - phone up, book and go!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We just came back from 2 nights at the Crown, Snape. What a lovely pub. Excellent food. Possibly the most delicious haddock welsh rarebit I've ever tasted. All the meat is reared on the premises and tasted amazing. The staff were very helpful and kind and offered an excellent service. It was the type of service that is so rare to find these days. I will be re visiting in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Travelling home after a long day out with family and our two children, we found the Crown Inn pretty much by accident by taking the wrong turning at Saxmundam. What glorius mistake that was to make however as we have found a lovely little Inn just seven minutes from home which I plan on returning to as often as possible.

It's a beautiful location, right on the edge of the village of Snape, surrounded by countryside and good views. While the Inn itself, is very pretty inside, with that farmhouse to Inn feel you get in the older pubs, with a small bar area, and a fractured room, with the odd table off on its own in a corner with a half wall splitting it away from the rest of the dining room.

The food is amazing, lots of local and fresh produce, they rear their own pigs for some absolutely beautiful sausages that both our young lads loved. Do proper Onion rings, not those out of a bag monstrousities and have a nice overall menu with plenty of choice.
I myself had a ribeye steak in pepper sauce, my wife a heaving ploughmans served on a wooden board, and my mother in law had a Black pudding stuffed Chicken breast. Everyone enjoyed their food, not one complaint, and although they didn't have a childs menu, they where happy to make childs portions based off a adult main for one of our boys and for the other they let us pick three things combined not even on the menu.
So extremely child friendly in there.

I can't recommend this Inn enough, and they even let you buy some of the home mad sausages they make at the attached holdings for the Inn to take home. So I have a tasty treat waiting in the freezer for some night next week.

Overall a lovely location, amazing food and good couple of hours in a friendly and warm atmosphere. If you find youself hungry and near Snape in Suffolk, I seriously couldn't suggest you visit anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaedrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

a wonderful pub with rosette worthy food and stunning surroundings - refurbished rooms are superb.

Room Tip: book your table for food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zatouroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Warm welcome from Teresa on arrival. Room was full of character with beams and sloping uneven floor. Restaurant has a traditional wooden settle around the fireplace, which gives a really cosy feel. Using their own home reared meat, the breast of lamb on our first night was succulent and delicious. Breakfast did not disappoint- the local sausages and bacon in particular were excellent. Conveniently situated for Snape Maltings, Southwold and Aldeburgh, the inn is also close to great countryside and coast. The friendly service extends through to the waiting staff and the waitress showed my wife the baby goat born the previous night on the morning of our departure. We had an equally lovely second breakfast served by the sous chef, who was very engaging and tried his hardest to meet our every need. The friendliness of the staff is great testament to Gary and Teresa's approach to running this inn. We enjoyed a very relaxing break staying here with fantastic local food. Thank you. I would strongly recommend a stay at the Crown.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northants_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Invited for supper with a group of friends , great local pint, superb food , great value, wonderful couple living rural dream with own home produced meat & veg, but delivering it on a plate!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piemansuffolkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snape
7.4 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
819 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
679 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,044 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Bridge Road, Snape IP17 1SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Snape, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing