We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boxing day blowout!”
Review of The Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The building is surrounded on two sides by its own farm and the walls are plastered with "from field to fork" awards. I did not sample any of the local residents but had two amazing fish courses supplied by Pinneys of Orford on the quay at Orford about 5miles away. Lovely. Too full for dessert the four diners ordered lemon posset and four spoons which were happily provided. The Adnams ale was well kept and open fire and giant wooden seats created a great atmosphere. In short a lovely lunch!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesemeister66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

The food here was excellent having had their own field to fork roast pork and all the trimmings. However, wrong venue for us being pensioners and not having had children of our own , found it too noisy with too many young children. The dining room is very small and the tables very close together. Also found the chairs very small and uncomfortable. Sorry Crown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Met for a pre shoot breakfast & post shoot lunch, absolutely perfect! Great Breakfast with Bacon & Sausages from Landlords own pigs, free range eggs Delicious, all hot and perfect for 9 Guests.
We returned after a fabulous day and enjoyed local cod & chips, I had the Pigeon on Wild Mushrooms - Mega.
Thank you , we will return and book a room to sample your super wine list.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piemansuffolkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had supper at the Crown last Saturday and had a really lovely meal. Wild foraged mushrooms on toast followed by wild mallard. I can't imagine that any of the ingredients traveled more than 5 miles to our plates - true locally sourced food served in a fab local pub. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the Inn over night recently. What an amazing place this is. The room had character and the beds were very comfortable. Dinner at the pub that evening was fantastic. Priding itself on the use home grown and local produce (including their own home reared pork) the food was incredibly special. We hit on the "lobster forthnight" so it was even more exciting than we had originally thought. It was a really lovely treat to end our long walk of 150 miles from Norfolk to Suffolk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Had Sunday lunch here, and rather than a roast we had the lobster salad served with new potatoes and some delicious home made bread It was very tasty and fresh we loved it and would certainly recommend eating and drinking here. We would like to return and try the sausages as the children on the next table had them and they looked superb! The landlady was very friendly and keeps a nice pint of Adnams Good luck

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Visited on a summer Tuesday evening and initial impressions may have raised our expectations beyond the scope of this place as it appeared to promise much. Lovely setting and good looking old pub. We had a Dog so stayed in the garden to listen to the Country Music provided by 5 elderly gentlemen who should really have known better. Food ordered was Smoked Fish Platter (good but lacking garnish) which was served with under cooked new potatoes, a Carraway and Onion Pate (strange tasting and bizarre but to br fair we ordered it) and Pork Chop ( which was promised with veg from the specials board but only came with chips) . The latter consisted of a small 5 ounce Chop and over cooked frozen chips and was £11.95-so poor value. We also shared a Pork Terrine starter, which was excellent. It would have been nice to haver been given salt and pepper but this was not provided or in sight in the garden. Admans beer was well kept but a little pricey and several locals seemed to be having a good time at the bar. Service from both bar and waitress was friendly but I could not recommend and we are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Bridge Road, Snape IP17 1SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Snape, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing