We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value pub with rooms”
Review of The Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good value pub with rooms”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in order to be close to Snape Maltings concert hall. It is an easy walk to the Maltings. Our room was very quaint with beams and sloping floor and an almost modern bathroom. Comfortable bed and good supply of tea-making necessities. The main attraction here, though, is the food. They say they aim to produce much of the food from their own animals and produce, and I must say the sausages and bacon were the best!! The dinner menu was surprisingly elegant, and the service prompt and friendly. The only minor discomfort was that our room was above the rather convivial bar, but hey, it's a pub. Excellent value all round.

Room Tip: A room that is not above the bar would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usuallyfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed one night recently in this friendly and unique pub which dates back to the 14th century. It was cosy and comfortable and the dinner was delicious. The ancient floors are really amusing....they go uphill and downhill and there are lots of other characterful original features.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch thanks to the attentive staff and the quality of the food. We arrived late for lunchtime, with no previous booking, but this presented no problems for the young ladies in the bar/restaurant. Local suppliers make a considerable difference to a dining pub, and the Crown is to be congratulated on having such a good, local supplier list. Although we went past the end of lunch-time service the staff were polite and obliging until we finally took our leave.

We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leiston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just had the most delicious lunch on an icy Monday sitting by the fire. Duo of Lamb with pulses and celeriac mousse followed by Griottine cherry cheesecake and chocolate sorbet.
Beautifully presented, just the right size portions and with very good service.
Superb value too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a Saturday lunchtime meal here with family. Despite ordering a mixture of mains and starters as mains all arrived together and looked fantastic and fresh. They even made a child sized fish and chips for our 3 year old that smelt amazing! Beer was well kept and staff very pleasant. Prices were good value considering its just across the river from Snaps Maltings

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, england
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Looking last minute for a table for NYE this place was recommended to us by a local, and thankfully they could squeeze us in!

Am so glad they did as we had a lovely evening. The food is rustic, home style good food made from home bred meat and home or locally sourced produce. The roast pork and crackling was top notch.

The owners were attentive all evening even though the pub and restaurant were busy. We saw the new year in with a belly full of good food and warm from hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurrock, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We pulled over for a quick drink and respite from the rain and ended up having a lovely lunch here! Great local menu and a good choice of smaller dishes too
The barman advised us on a walking trail which was perfect to walkoff our lunch. We went through the fields, along the woods and lake then to Snape Maltings for a quick nose in the shops
When we returned back to the Crown they were just closing but very kindly served us a warming Mulled Cider! Delicious!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehols4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snape
4.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
791 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,013 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: Bridge Road, Snape IP17 1SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Snape, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing