We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
Review of The Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were returning to Norfolk after filming in Rendlesham Forest about the ufo landing years ago and it was lunchtime. Snape Maltings was very busy so we carried on a bit further and visited the Crown. A nice welcome from the 2 ladies working at the bar. Drinks were swiftly served. We ordered food which for me was the fish and chips with crushed minted peas and home made tatare sauce. It was delicious. My wife had the sausages with mash and gravy. She rated it highly. Two desserts followed and tea and coffee. We liked the pub and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZUKIMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I had a meal here before attending a concert at the Snape Proms. The atmosphere in the bar was great and the staff were friendly and efficient. The food was delicious, and good value, and we would recommend this pub as a first class choice for food, especially if attending a concert later in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, GB
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Crown, the first being 5 years ago. Although the old world charm hadn't vanished, there has, in the meantime, been a deterioration in the standard of maintenance. The bathroom had a 'tacky' feel to it even allowing for it's quaintness. For example, the hand shower fell off the wall when touched. The soap was dispensed from an old lemonade bottle which was 'novel'. The whole feel of the bathroom was slightly unsettling! We, fortunately, had lots of hot water unlike our friends who had the room next door.
The only meal we had was breakfast, which was of a high standard and well cooked and presented. There was an absence of yogurt and perhaps fresh fruit but otherwise it was fine.
Since our first stay the access to the bedrooms has changed dramatically and is a big improvement. A little more money spent on the bathrooms would definitely not go amiss.
Finally just to say the noise from the bar that went on till 01:30 in the morning was less than conducive for sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank High-Plains-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We took a trip to the east coast to visit Briton country. Couldn't park anywhere on the coast and gave up but on our way out we found The Crown. Great food at mid-range prices, nice atmosphere and pleasant staff. The facilities were clean and presentable if a bit tired. We stayed in so no comment re garden but all in all a happy chance that we stopped there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Brendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in order to be close to Snape Maltings concert hall. It is an easy walk to the Maltings. Our room was very quaint with beams and sloping floor and an almost modern bathroom. Comfortable bed and good supply of tea-making necessities. The main attraction here, though, is the food. They say they aim to produce much of the food from their own animals and produce, and I must say the sausages and bacon were the best!! The dinner menu was surprisingly elegant, and the service prompt and friendly. The only minor discomfort was that our room was above the rather convivial bar, but hey, it's a pub. Excellent value all round.

Room Tip: A room that is not above the bar would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyfedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed one night recently in this friendly and unique pub which dates back to the 14th century. It was cosy and comfortable and the dinner was delicious. The ancient floors are really amusing....they go uphill and downhill and there are lots of other characterful original features.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch thanks to the attentive staff and the quality of the food. We arrived late for lunchtime, with no previous booking, but this presented no problems for the young ladies in the bar/restaurant. Local suppliers make a considerable difference to a dining pub, and the Crown is to be congratulated on having such a good, local supplier list. Although we went past the end of lunch-time service the staff were polite and obliging until we finally took our leave.

We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snape
4.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: Bridge Road, Snape IP17 1SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Snape, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing