We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lighthouse - CLOSED

Blue Lighthouse
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had meals here on two nights of our week in Southwold....and wouldn't hesitate returning.
Both had starters and main course which were tasty and plentiful. Family friendly and staff were delightfully cheerful.....something all too often missing in restaurants.
A view of the lighthouse from the outdoor area which admittedly seemed to be in the car park.....can't comment on that as we sat indoors. Reasonably priced though not cheap (nothing is...if you want cheap don't go to Southwold)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AudB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    59
    12
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not dog friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We ordered some food and it arrived very quickly, however 5 mins into our meal the waitress informed us they were closing in 5 minutes. We didn't enjoy rushing our food! Our two dogs were hot and thirsty but they didn't offer any water despite the waitress watching me trying to feed two German shepherds from a very small glass! We felt they were just waiting for us to leave so we did! Food was okay

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and helpful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I think this restaurant is under-rated! We went there during our holiday and I asked for one of the starters as a main course - nothing was too much trouble for the staff and it duly arrived. The food was as good as the service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value.. good cooking.. good show..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

After a day out in Southwold last Saturday the two of us decided to try the Blue Lighthouse, and although we turned up without a booking, it was early and the lady who looked to be running front-of-house said she would fit us in on a table, which I thought was good of her, and that made a good initial impression.

After ordering some drinks we sat down and after a short while our food arrived. I opted for a goat's cheese salad and my fellow diner had a smoked chicken salad. Both were very good. The smoked chicken did have a wonderfully antique 'cindery log-fire' smokiness to it which was a lot better than some smoked chicken I've tried. For the main I tried the Sea-Bass with garam masala lentils and crushed seasoned new potatoes (also very good). We shared a desert of apple tart and vanilla pod ice-cream which finished things off nicely. Compared to the overpriced and leadenly pretentious places we had suffered the two days before in Norfolk, we were pleasantly surprised at the price and quality on offer at the Lighthouse, which beat them hands down on overall value and content.

The lighthouse is a relaxed, unpolished, unpretentious and lively little bistro on a Saturday night, and the staff were friendly and approachable, whilst getting the job done. They had to turn away a few people that hadn't booked as we neared the end of our meal, so I was somewhat nonplussed when upon leaving I thanked the lady for a satisfying meal and said I'd write a review on here. 'Oh.. please do' ( she said) we're struggling at the moment so it all helps..' If this is true then the place deserves much more custom. At any rate, I'm one more very satisfied customer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkKrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very poor quality expensive food served in a car park”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lunch was a ham and mustard in a smallish section of french bread and smoked haddock fish cakes. Quality was poor and portions small - appalling value for money.

The seating in the car park (not really a dining area and a member of staff reversed past us to get out) comprised mainly of metal tables and chairs which were well past their best. Generally it was unkempt and there was a used orange juice bottle under our table. When we asked for condiments we were told that they were behind a pile of boxes on a table in a corner (I was rather expecting the waitress to get them for me).

Overall this is not a restaurant, rather a sort of cafe. Avoid at all costs, its truly awful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Lighthouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing